What's with technology ?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 21:02
ThreadID: 54015 Views:4046 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
Did a 4wd training course in Brissie on the weekend (which, by the way was really good.) I got onto the subject of communications for myself for when I eventually get to do my trips. The company that I did the training with have all the communications they need for their tours – UHF Radio, HF radio, Sat phone, Epirb and of course a mobile phone .
They had no choice like the rest of us but to buy a new next g phone even though their cdma worked perfectly, had to change sat phone providers because global star was a true waste of money and are now with Iridium but wait for this… Now the epirb that is currently carried on their extended trips will also have to be replaced next year because the signals will not be the same and they warned against buying cheap epirbs online over the next 12 months.
So I thought I would let everyone know about this future change, just incase any one is looking for an epirb.

Briar

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 21:23

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 21:23
We have been aware of the EPIRB frequency change for some years now.

Thanks for your imput anyway.
AnswerID: 284386

Follow Up By: Briar Tuck - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 08:04

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 08:04
But I wasn't aware of it and hadn't heard of it because I was new to the forum and I am sure there some in the same boat.
FollowupID: 549217

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 21:41

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 21:41
A mate of mine bought one from Ray's 4 months ago...... Full price and was told it had a battery life of 10 years but he would have to change the battery in 5 years.......
He was constantly assured the battery would last 8 to 10 years.
Not once was he told it would be obsoulete in 18mths after the purchase. When he told me he was adament to the point of almost a big blue that it would still work in 8 years.......
It is true it would still work in 8 years but nobody would be listening.
He wasn't happy when he found out but on his trip to the flinders he still had peace of mind that his family would be ok if something drastic happened
AnswerID: 284392

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 22:36

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 22:36
All commercial airline aircraft will still have their secondary Comms Receivers set to monitor 121.5.
FollowupID: 549167

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 10:16

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 10:16
Mike, if your 121.5 beacon is not under a flight path and outside of the reception 'cone' you WILL NOT BE HEARD !
FollowupID: 549250

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 21:41

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 21:41
Briar,

The old technology of HF has survived all the modern stuff.

As far as the EPIRD is concerned, I wounder where you could dispose of the old unit safely and what is going to happen to them?

AnswerID: 284393

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 23:00

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 23:00

This site has info on disposal of 'unwanted beacons'
FollowupID: 549175

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 21:45

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 21:45
Hi Briar,
Personally I think we're heading towards a Technology Overload.

Vehicles these days seem to be controlled by electronics, not by the driver.

Communications...although probably a lot better than the guys had when landing on the moon, now allow remote travellers the ability to contact search & rescue groups when they stub their toe on a stone.

A Saturday morning browse through ARB/OL/TJM and the odd camping store, you start to realise your going to need a 15 ton ex army 6x6 to carry everything your told is a 'neccessity'.

I feel, like many on this forum, that going back to basics gives one a sense of freedom and in many ways enhances the adventure factor with travel.

Suppose it really puts control back into your hands, where it should be.

Sorry if this reply drifted from your original post but to jump off this techno roundabout was like a breath of fresh air.

Cheers....Lionel.
AnswerID: 284395

Follow Up By: guzzi - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 22:28

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 22:28
A Saturday morning browse through ARB/OL/TJM and the odd camping store, you start to realise your going to need a 15 ton ex army 6x6 to carry everything your told is a 'neccessity'.

Yep marketing is such a wonderful thing.
Work out the remaining payload on your average nisota after the barwork, fridges, roof rack, extended range fuel tanks, winches, compressors, air tanks, lockers etc etc oh and the wife...........
No much.

FollowupID: 549163

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 22:41

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 22:41
Yep, and even if we have no immediate plans for remote travel, we start buying all the gear and then complain about fuel consumption.... and in a bragging manner complain about the weight of our vehicle....
FollowupID: 549170

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 09:18

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 09:18
Yerr Lionel...I agree with ya wholeheartedly

Too many 'What If' questions being asked these days.
General populace counting their worry beads when contemplating trips into the Never Never.....LOL

FollowupID: 549240

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 22:24

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 22:24
Briar

I think you will find that most readers on this site have been aware of that for quite some time. Thanks for the post.

Kim
AnswerID: 284411

Follow Up By: Kim M (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 22:54

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 22:54
Gday Bro,
Maybe he's just saying that for the sake of us with
Alzeimers?...(and literacy issuses)
Remember me?...Your Brother???

What was that about EPIRB's??

FollowupID: 549173

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 00:13

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 00:13
Hairy

Bloody two bob!.

Where's your trip report? I'm going to be dead in two days from a gummy knee for christ sake.....

Send me a MM an tell me about it ya goose.

Kim

FollowupID: 549187

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 22:57

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 22:57
Briar,

Thanks for posting that info. I'm sure there are some folk who have missed this info when posted before and others who are only now just contemplating the communications/safety side of their travels who may not have had need of this technology before.

Just like other fields in technology (cameras, dvds, gps, ipod, etc), it is very easy to not be up with the latest development. To be up with it you need to spend all your spare time on the internet which is fine for all the retired folk out there LOL
AnswerID: 284419

Reply By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 00:41

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 00:41
the new 406 epirbs are a lot safer, and save a lot of searching, and hence danger to searchers, fuel, time etc.
It transmits your position and other data rather than just a radio beam to be homed in on.
That way searchers know whos beacon it is and can check it is genuine BEFORE wasting and endangering.
Im guessing most of you know this already but...

Also, it is all very well saying "back to basics" etc but until there is a scheme where you can sign a piece of paper "do not come looking for me" beforehand, it is STUPID and IRRESPONSIBLE to buck the rules in place for precisely the above. Nobodies vehicle or plans are fool proof.
AnswerID: 284441