Looking for 12V fluoro tube replacement..

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 11:37
ThreadID: 54038 Views:5262 Replies:11 FollowUps:17
To all those out there that have contacts.. I'm trying to source a replacement 12V fluoro tube. It's about 190mm (overall) in length, has a GX23 base and it's a twin tube.
Anyone give me a lead as to who may carry such an item???

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 12:01

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 12:01
Oh...and it's rated at 13w...
AnswerID: 284488

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 12:28

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 12:28
Google is your friend ;-))

AnswerID: 284490

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 12:33

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 12:33
Mate- I've Googled, and Yahoo'd and AltaVista'd and all that...
However, if your Google if different to mine- I'd be grateful for a (local) lead !!!!
FollowupID: 549268

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 12:35

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 12:35
Click on the link..... :-)
FollowupID: 549269

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 12:40

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 12:40
Yup- that's great if you need a 240v Ultra Violet light !!!
FollowupID: 549272

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 12:56

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 12:56
Oops, fair enough. Should have read a bit more.....

These guys (in Adelaide, though) do at least list the GX23 holder..
FollowupID: 549275

Reply By: Rocky_QLD - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 12:38

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 12:38
Hi Signman

Try any of your local electrical wholesalers, Haymans, Lawrence and Hanson. Rexel etc.

Rocky
AnswerID: 284492

Reply By: madcow - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 13:18

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 13:18
Brand of Light?
AnswerID: 284499

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 13:40

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 13:40
have you tried the 12 volt shop? 12volt.com.au

lampreplacement.com.au may have been where we got twin tube replacements from cheaper than the 12 v shop.

AnswerID: 284506

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 13:56

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 13:56
Have you checked the yellow pages? There are outlets who specialise in all types of globes and flouros - that's all they do, just lamps.
Gerry
AnswerID: 284507

Reply By: Inflataduck - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 13:59

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 13:59
have heaps that are about 190 in light but are 210mm tip to tip/prong to prong
if this suits have 10 for free we do not use them
Vince (6 wheeler at husky)
AnswerID: 284511

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 14:16

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 14:16
Hi Vince
I'll be sailing on St Geo basin this weekend (long passage race Sat & around the bouys on Sun). Staying at Husky Van Prk Sat nite..
I could bring this tube along to match up???
FollowupID: 549287

Follow Up By: Inflataduck - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 14:29

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 14:29
That's OK , will be about this weekend (Doing Cresswell cup in the Bay next week end) i will put them in the truck & i will try to member msg my mobile Number
FollowupID: 549290

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 14:55

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 14:55
Vince
email to
op(dot)support(at)tsn(dot)cc
I'll give you a call
FollowupID: 549297

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 14:33

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 14:33
heres the magic part- theres no such thing as a 12 v fluro all fluros are the same so just go to any lighting place etc
AnswerID: 284524

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 14:50

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 14:50
Davoe
Maaaate- I think you've just answered my dilema. A few places have exactly what I'm after- but claim they're for 240v application !!
So you reckon it should be OK ...
For a dummy like me- please explain ??
FollowupID: 549293

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 15:04

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 15:04
Depends on how ya look at the statement "12v fluro".

Strictly speaking there is no such thing as a TRUE 12v fluro HOWEVER there are fluros that will and do run from 12V.

To a lot of people the hows and why for's are of no importance coz all they want is a fluro that will run off 12v.

To my knowledge there are basically 2 types around...one that has a cheapy INVERTER built into the fixture that the 240v tube fits in and the Nelson Type that has the inverter built into it's lamp base. The Nelson lamps are available from most lighting shops, Bunnings and good hardware stores and reatail about $27 approx.. These lamps just plug into a standard ES or BC socket and no other electronics are required at all. Just fit a low voltage plug to the other end. THEY MUST NOT BE PLUGGED INTO 240Volts....

I have 4 of the NELSON brand 12v fluro's that I run off my camper trailer battery..... The fact that they also say 11w or similar is only a guide as to what POWER (not current) that they will use. In actual fact a 11w folded envelope 12v Nelson tube actually puts out what would be equivelent to a 60w incandescent bulb.

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 549300

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 15:06

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 15:06
Sorry guys, the tubes are the same, the electronics in the base are different.
Might be simpler to chase up a more standard 12v flouro and fit a corresponding socket base to your lamp housing. Jaycar have 12v flouros and bases to suit.
Gerry
FollowupID: 549301

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 15:35

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 15:35
dunno the science behind it but i found it out in Albany looking same as you for 12v fluros and ended up at the lighting shop where i got the news.
the 240v fluro tubes you have looked at will be fine
FollowupID: 549304

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 16:05

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 16:05
That's what I said Joc45.... There are NO 240v fluro's but there are Fluro's (if you use the general terminology that is) that will run off 240v... inverter (electronics...)@$+***@#...

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 549312

Follow Up By: Hughd - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 19:03

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 19:03
I got a replacement tube for my 12V 13W fluoro at Jaycar - no issues
FollowupID: 549336

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 19:29

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 19:29
OK guys, Fluoros 101:
A fluorescent lamp consists of a sealed tube containing a low pressure gas, usually containing traces of mercury. When a high voltage is applied, the gas ionises and conducts current. The ionisation of the gas causes light to be emitted; different gases give different coloured light; eg, neon gives a red light, argon gives a bluish light. In the case of fluorescent lights, the light is ultra-violet. The inside of the tube is coated with a fluorescent coating, which absorbs the ultraviolet light and re-emits visible white light.
All gas-discharge tubes require a high voltage to start ionisation, whereupon the voltage will drop to a lower value upon ionisation; ie once the gas has been ionised, a lower source voltage can be used to maintain the current. A typical fluorescent light requires about 500v to strike the gas, and then stabilises at about 100v across the ends of the tube. The traditional old fluoro tubes used a starter and ballast to induce the initial high startup voltage, and once struck, the ballast was used to maintain the lower voltage on the tube and limit the current. Without a ballast inductor, the current through the tube would be excessive and destroy it.
In the 1960's it was discovered that operating a fluoro at a high frequency gave better light output than operating the tube at the standard 50Hz mains frequency.
CFLs use electronics in the base of the tube to both generate the high voltage and also generate the high frequency required.
The 240v CFLs rectify the mains, then use a transistor chopper and inductors to increase the voltage and create the high frequency. Internal ballast inductors are incorporated to limit the discharge current through the tube.
The 12v fluoros use an inverter operating at about 20-40KHz, incorporating switching transistors and a transformer to step up the voltage to several hundred volts. The ouptut is nominaly about 200v, with spikes to several hundred volts, which allows the tube to strike. The design of the inverter allows current limiting, and most, though not all, don't bother with a current-limiting ballast inductor.
So the 12v and the 240v circuits are quite different.

As an aside, Oatley electronics supply a kit to run several 240v CFLs off 12v. This is basically a 12v to 350v DC-DC converter, which supplies 350v DC to a rail which can then run several CFLs. 350v is needed, because the peak value of 240v AC is about 340v and the CFLs wouldn't operate properly off 240v DC.

cheers,
Gerry
FollowupID: 549344

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 20:00

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 20:00
All good info but it doesnt tell him that while the power systems may work differently they use the same tubes.
i chased around several shops looking for 12v tubes and was directed to the lighting shop. knowing they only dealt in 240v light fittings i didnt hold much hope.
When I showed them the size they just got one and i asked if it was 12v to which i was told there is only one type of fluro tube and yep it worked no worries
inded the 4 ft fluro tube box i have makes no mention of voltage on it anywhere and is sold to different countrys (i dont think all of them use 240v) Judging by the 6 or so languages the specifications are written in
FollowupID: 549349

Follow Up By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 21:24

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 21:24
That's Correct they are
FollowupID: 549370

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 22:01

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 22:01
Ah, Davoe,
I see now where we're talking cross-purposes!

Ordinary straight fluoro tubes have no electronics in them - just a plain tube. External devices allow them run off either 240v or 12v. This tubes includes 40watt, 20watt and the tiny 8 and 13w tubes, all straight and long. Tubes running off 240v have a ballast inductor and starter built into the case which holds the tube. Tubes running off 12v have a small inverter built into the case. But you're right, the tube is universal.

The CFLs have electronics built into the base, and can only be run off the voltage specified on the device; 240v, 12v, 24v or whatever.

The particular tube Signman is looking for is a CFL and runs only off 12v.
Hope that clears it up!
Gerry
FollowupID: 549388

Reply By: Steve Ellis - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 19:47

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 19:47
Try Bunnings & K Mart. Saw some there at Glendale today but dont know if they will suit you.
AnswerID: 284568

Reply By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 21:11

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 21:11
Hi Signman,
What you said in Victoria about this site is sooooo true, this is getting bigger than Quo Vadis.
Colin
AnswerID: 284597

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 21:59

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 21:59
Narva Part Number 87346

$9.00 at Repco

AnswerID: 284618