"General Grabber AT2" Tyres - Feedback please.

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 19:50
ThreadID: 54090 Views:13211 Replies:3 FollowUps:10
That 'ol Tyre chestnut again. Just looking for feedback from anyone using the Grabber AT2 tyres from the "General Tyre Co"on their 4by. Particularly interested in how they've handled desert work and stony conditions a la Kimberly and Pilbara type roads. Claim to be fairly chip resistant. Also how they've handled heavy load conditions (Ie; a well loaded Patrol wagon on an extensive dirt road trip). Only one previous post located in a forum search. Please, no Cooper-BFG/waeco-engel/toyota-Nissan/Jack Russell - Pug type posts.

Thanks Mick.

Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 21:28

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 21:28
G'day Mick

I had Generals on the Fender and they weren't too bad, as far as long lasting goes. were quite good for general sand/dirt work, but I noticed they tended to chip quite badly in stony conditions and they weren't too flash in sticky spots.

All in all OK, but I doubt I would go there again.

AnswerID: 284831

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 22:11

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 22:11
Thanks Rosco. What did you try after these?

Cheers. Mick.

FollowupID: 549595

Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 08:37

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 08:37
Tried Goodyear Wrangler MTR and very happy so far. Would certainly go there again. Done 50K so far with probably 20K left. Trip out west, the high country and the cape/gulf.

I haven't had any experience with BFG or Coopers, but have come across enough negatives on the latter to be a tad cautious.

FollowupID: 549660

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 22:21

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 22:21
Mick, ask Lucky. Lucy is wearing Cooper STTs now.
AnswerID: 284854

Reply By: Alan H - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 11:37

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 11:37
I had the Grabber TR on my 03 Td5 Defender and did 66000 including the GRR, Kalumbaru Road and other dirt, stoney roads with very little wear or damage. They were still at about 85% tread when I sold it.
I've put Grabber AT2s on my present Defender and if they're anything like the others I'll be happy with that.
A friend has the AT2s on his Defender with 88000 on and again very little wear or chips etc.
Alan.
AnswerID: 284920

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 14:34

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 14:34
Does "85% tread" mean they were 85% worn or 15% worn?
Also am I reading what you said correctly - your friend's tyres have done 66000 kms and show little wear??
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 549709

Follow Up By: Alan H - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 14:40

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 14:40
Hi Moose. 85% tread left on the original TRs and my mate has done 88000 with little visible wear on his AT2s.
I reckon they're a good tyre whatever anyone else says.
Hope it helps.
Alan.
FollowupID: 549712

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 14:49

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 14:49
Wow - that's got to be the best wear I've ever read of anywhere. If my maths is correct you're talking 400K plus! Are you having a lend? If not will have to look for them when my current tyres cark it.
FollowupID: 549713

Follow Up By: Alan H - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 14:52

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 14:52
They may well wear quicker as they get further into the tread.
A.
FollowupID: 549715

Follow Up By: Alan H - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 14:58

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 14:58
By visible wear on his tyres maybe I should have been a bit more explicit and stated cuts and chips, lumps of tread missing etc. and I wish tyres would last that long!
Alan.
FollowupID: 549719

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 15:05

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 15:05
Yeah - but yours had done 66K with 85% to go - that adds up to heaps if the wear is constant. But even if they do wear quicker later it is still likely to be a huge number.
Alan - what level of remaining life do you reckon your mate's tyres have.
Also how do they handle in the wet? Given the long life they must be a hard compound yet you say little wear and tear. I would have expected hard tyres to chip. What sort of driving does he do?
Sorry for all the questions but I've never gotten to 80K with any tyres (many brands tried) so am interested in these.
Thanks from the Moose
FollowupID: 549725

Follow Up By: Alan H - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 15:16

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 15:16
Most of his driving is sand and I wouldn't like to guess how much longer they'll last, but at least another couple of years at that rate.

I can't check the tread depth 'cos he's over East at the moment.

Your experience with tyres is much the same as mine as I can remember having BFGs on a Disco and only getting about 45K before they needed replacing.
I wasn't impressed but others including my son rate them highly.
I've checked the AT2s I've got now and they don't seem to be wearing quite as well but will have to wait and see.
Alan.
FollowupID: 549728

Follow Up By: miker - Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 16:45

Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 16:45
Some late feedback. I too sold my last lot of Grabbers with 70k under them & still a good 50% tread left. Found them a good all-rounder and did a few big trips with nought an issue eg. CSR & Gulf road.

Miker.
FollowupID: 549962