Missan X Trail Auto

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 20:49
ThreadID: 54159 Views:2579 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
SWMBO X Trail has started to become very abrupt in changing up from 1st to 2nd no matter what RPM you are doing.
Is it possible that the transmission fluid is in need of a change and if so which one should I use??
It wasn't doing it from memory when we lived in cockroach land so would the increase in ambient temp cause the problem.

It is an 04 Ti model in marvellous Queensland Maroon colour :))

Reply By: TD100 - Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 21:03

Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 21:03
Hey Kev,

i wouldnt think the trans fluid would be that buggered in an 04 model vehicle.most trans services have 80k intervals(80k,160k,240k etc)and even 150k intervals.i think the auto in SWMBO adventra is 150k.my cruiser is 80k.how many Ks has the "Z"trail done?unless it has a problem which is possible cos its a Missan LOL.you can try a service on it and see what happens.as for fluid type it should be on the sump plug,dipstick or in service manual,could be DXIII or DXIV.cheers Paul
AnswerID: 285203

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 21:12

Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 21:12
Only there five minutes and canetoads are your new second best friends....your loyalty to the cockaroaches is underwhelming...:-(((
Maybe it just wants to come home....:-)))
FollowupID: 550026

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 07:39

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 07:39
Fred,

I will never be a cockroach fan, Once a Queenslander always a Queenslander :))

FollowupID: 550064

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 12:58

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 12:58
"Once a Queenslander always a Queenslander"

Thank God for that. Stay up there in the shallow end of the gene pool.

FollowupID: 550138

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 13:05

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 13:05
That's enough out of you Gramps LOL

FollowupID: 550141

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 13:13

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 13:13
Hahahahaha glad it's all going well up there

FollowupID: 550146

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 13:16

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 13:16
The only problem I have now is owning a Missan ha ha ha

FollowupID: 550148

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 20:59

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 20:59
Just buy her a 200 Series, don't short change Sam
FollowupID: 550298

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 21:11

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 21:11
I was thinking of a 120 for Sam and not a 200, if I get a 200 Al will have to design a gig for the chop ;))

FollowupID: 550304

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 21:43

Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 21:43
Methinks its running too hot in Sunny Queensland, Sonny..lol

Probably needs the filter changed in the gearbox.

Our 2003 base model runs sweetly

AnswerID: 285218

Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 22:17

Saturday, Feb 02, 2008 at 22:17
So it appears the cockroach land is going to be less hassle with vechiles than the turbilant north ...lol, Just change the oil and clean the filter, if that dont work chuck the job in and return to the land of cockroaches!!, hahaha.

AnswerID: 285223

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 07:38

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 07:38
If that doesn't work I'll sell the Missan and Buy another TOYOTA, then it's a win-win situation

FollowupID: 550063

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy (springsure- Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 09:43

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 09:43
Hi Kev,
The Corolla started to get a bit grumpy once we got up here as well.
I disconnected the battery, then turned the ignition on to remove any power left in the system. Then I got a piece of wire to bridge the + and - terminals. This resets the computer and then re-connected the battery and presto sweet as.

A mechanic mate of mine told me to do this when ever a modern computerised vehicle starts playing up. It works well on common rail diesels when the fuel isn't of a great quality (woollies)
and the computer will then allow the vehicle to run as well on crappy fuel as good stuff.

Give it a try costs nothing and it sometimes works also when you think your injectors need doing (electronic injectors).

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 285260

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 12:50

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 12:50
Gday Kev,
I'd also be surprised if the fluid is the problem. But if you replace it, just go down to Nisssan and buy some. Its well priced and they will give you the right stuff - auto transmission fluids have got too complicated on the new vehicles - theres a million sorts to choose from these days.

Does it do it in both in and out of overdrive??
AnswerID: 285318

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 13:07

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 13:07
Haven't tried it out of OD yet, I'll take it for a spin this arvo and find out.

FollowupID: 550142