Should Vehicles be inspected yearly??

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 12:51
ThreadID: 54298 Views:2568 Replies:18 FollowUps:23
After reading thread 54281, It begs the question.

In the N.T. we have to take our cars over MVR every year, except the first 3 years of a brand new car, As for Taxi's, Buses, PH, and tour Vehiclesthey have an inspection every 6 months.

What do you think??

Cheers Steve.

Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 12:57

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 12:57
Dont be rediculous . If they did that in queensland , there would be hardly any cars left .
AnswerID: 285953

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 15:06

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 15:06
Not quite true. Try and get an interstate vehicle registered in QLD...whew!
The mobile testing squad turn up at the most inconvenient times, I heard a story (I hope it's not true!) of a guy getting defected becuse he was out of washer fluid !
FollowupID: 550955

Follow Up By: troopyman - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 15:27

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 15:27
Well i must be lucky then . Never been stopped by department of transport in 27 years of driving (not sure how long this dept has been around) . Not a single point lost from my licence in over 15 years . Question . Why does nearly every 4x4 i see that has a massive lift seem to be driven around the streets like a monster truck , speeding and just wreckless driving , i own the road attitude . I hope they all get pulled over by the Dept of Transport . Just my gripe for today .
FollowupID: 550966

Follow Up By: Member - Mark L (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 15:30

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 15:30
Same attitude here in West, they go around a corner or turn as if they are driving a road train.

Alot cowboys drive 4 WD these days.
FollowupID: 550967

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 23:32

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 23:32
Mark L

A lot of cowboys drive 4 WD these days and for years past..

FollowupID: 551093

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Feb 07, 2008 at 01:43

Thursday, Feb 07, 2008 at 01:43
Troopyman, I see "wreckless" driving as a GOOD thing! "reckless" driving on the other hand, not so good! :-)
FollowupID: 551124

Reply By: Psi - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 13:05

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 13:05
Funny how every couple of years someone comes up with this idea. Probably have a runaway thread.

Various governments have tried to introduce this into SA but no one has implemented it. Too hard.

In the NT they had Private Inspection Stations but I believe that has now been abandoned.

Not sure what the % of cars which are unroadworthy? In the NT the 'locals' drive anything that moves?

No, its not a good idea for the every day car owner but for those who make a living from vehicles it is a good idea. Trouble is that Authorities such as the MVR get over zealous at times and apply stupid rules and regs.

AnswerID: 285954

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 13:15

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 13:15
If they did that we would end up with 2/3rd's of the countrys car population. But you make a point.. Great idea for boosting new car sales..
AnswerID: 285955

Follow Up By: feral - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 13:39

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 13:39
...and keeping mechanics employed.

To me its just another sting to fleece more money in fees & charges for the Government and its lobby groups.
FollowupID: 550944

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 18:44

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 18:44
...and keeping dangerous heaps of shyte off the road.
FollowupID: 551017

Follow Up By: feral - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 19:19

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 19:19
You are correct Louie.......

I reckon every second car is a heap of crap and should be put off the road. While were here, why don't we ban drivers as well...I hear they're killing themselves.
FollowupID: 551022

Reply By: donks1 - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 13:50

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 13:50
hi there

NSW is every year after 3 years except for public passenger cars (taxis , busses , limos. )
all 4WD's now are every year from new
ther is talk of making general use cars every year from 2 years
reason is that so many new car owners do little more than put fuel in them. you would be surpriseed how many cars we see 1-2 years old with bald tyres

it is a good idea as far as i am concerned

donks

AnswerID: 285957

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 14:04

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 14:04
What proportion of accidents are caused by defective vehicles ?
AnswerID: 285958

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 18:17

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 18:17
Gday Footloose,

About the amount caused by speeding.

FollowupID: 551011

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 23:35

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 23:35
Footy the question maybe what caused the defective vehicle to have an accident???
FollowupID: 551094

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Feb 07, 2008 at 00:04

Thursday, Feb 07, 2008 at 00:04
>>>>Footy the question maybe what caused the defective vehicle to have an accident???

Maybe driver error? maybe the defective part/s? Maybe both?

Is it worth taking the risk??

The sooner they get tough on ridiculous lifts & grossly oversize tyres & wheels ..... the better!
FollowupID: 551108

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Feb 07, 2008 at 00:29

Thursday, Feb 07, 2008 at 00:29
sorry Footloose

didn't mean to bring on the worns... :-)
FollowupID: 551113

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Feb 07, 2008 at 00:33

Thursday, Feb 07, 2008 at 00:33
No worries mate :)) Think I often fit into that category myself :((
FollowupID: 551114

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 14:17

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 14:17
A couple of years ago when QLD was considering this move the RACQ conducted a study that found that there were more accidents per capita involving unroadworthy cars in NSW than QLD. They refused to support its introduction.

The other point was that the cost to NSW drivers was something like M$57 pa to get that result.

AnswerID: 285959

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 14:24

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 14:24
PS Just read said post and noticed it was in NSW where in fact they do have these inspections. I think we can rest this case. A more relevant qst might be how could he have registered this bomb last time around?
FollowupID: 550949

Follow Up By: feral - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 14:26

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 14:26
...which includes blown tail lights as unroadworthy!!!!

This is one of the reasons why Victoria has not introduced it. Most vehicle driven are roadworthy and if government put more police resources on the road we just might reduce proper unroadworthy cars and possibly lower the road toll.

But that costs money, doesn't it.
FollowupID: 550950

Reply By: Member - Kiwi B - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 14:26

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 14:26
Brace yerselves,

Was told B4 Xmas that it's on it's way. Informant is on the steering committee which left me a bit worried as I had just had some work done in his workshop. Not sure if this was national or just WA.

Kiwis have annual WOF up to 6 year old then 6 monthly. This is tied to registration, so, no Warrant Of Fitness, no registration.
AnswerID: 285961

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 14:31

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 14:31
No.

#1 Roadworthiness has never been demonstrated as being a significant factor in accident stats
#2 Its open to abuse by the motor traders, who can obtain a lot of repair work by holding back the pink slip
#3 Its open to abuse by the vehicle owners - slip on your mate's tyres for the inspection, cover up the rust spot with a sticker, etc etc
#4 A waste of money and time
AnswerID: 285962

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 15:06

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 15:06
It might also impact heavily on the 4WD community!
FollowupID: 550956

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 23:38

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 23:38
No Phil, it like safety, yes it is a business of it's own now but hopefully it is for the betterment of all workers..

the same as road users

FollowupID: 551096

Reply By: brushmarx - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 16:04

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 16:04
If it lead to less accidents, serious injuries and less deaths, I'd be for them ONLY iF it was a major component check only.
When a Safety Certificate gets knocked back because the corner of a body panel has minor rust (not structural), ripped seat, missing internal door trim, worn carpets etc, it can only be a cosmetic feel good waste of time by our incompetent politicians.
I have driven through most States over the last couple of years, and I have not seen any noticeable difference in worn tyres, cars slewing sideways under heavy braking, faulty lights etc. between the States.If the cost of carrying out repairs is too much for the desperado's with crapboxes, they will just drive unregistered heaps around, which can have disastrous results in insurance claims.
I'd be happier if the authorities spent more effort in catching drivers with the rugrats jumping all over the car, and all the ignorant bastards who flick the ciggie butts out the window.
I'll get there someday, or die wanting to.

AnswerID: 285977

Reply By: Peter k (NT) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 16:10

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 16:10
In the N.T. it is at 3 years and then every 2nd year until 10 years and then it is Yearly. For some reason there seems to be lots of cars that pass the inspection that don't seem to be road worthy.

Peter.
AnswerID: 285980

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 16:30

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 16:30
Currently in NSW first 3 years on new vehicle no inspection required (cars only) then every year. Just done rego on wifes car and bloke was telling me that they are going to increase it to 5 years from new before inspection will be required. MMMM even more bald tyres and lights out running around on the roads great !! Amazes me the amount of vehicles running bald tyres, do they not realize that they can be knocked back in the event they make an insurance claim and Im talking fairly new vehicles so you would think that they are insured. I think also that 3 party property damage should be compulsary. And to all the people out there that think Im talking green slip I'm not, I mean against hitting some thing or some one. Amazes me how many people think there green slip will cover them for property damage and will argue black and blue that they are covered. If you cant afford to insure at least 3rd party then you shouldnt be on the road. I know its hard and especially for young kids these days with insurance but boy will be a lot more when they run up the ar se of a merc or bmw and paying i off for a few years or run into some ones house. My old man wouldnt let me get my first car untill I had enough to insure it 3rd party. Makes me wonder with all these wrx's/evo's/200sx's all turbo running around with p plates on ?? Was 3 and 1/2 k for me to insure one with maximum no claim seven years ago. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 285985

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 18:31

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 18:31
Gday Steve,
Im sure most people would agree it should be compulsory in all states.
I mean its only done for the safety of all and why wouldnt people want their cars inspected? after all the would all be road worthy.
AnswerID: 286005

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 23:42

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 23:42
Yes,

Hairy, I must agree with you, today more than ever safety is a must, in every thing we do (duty of care) so this is only another part of it..

FollowupID: 551100

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 18:40

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 18:40
I would like to see all vehicles have a compulsory shock absorber test every 2 years. There are plenty of cars and all other types of vehicles that never have them changed in the vehicles lifetime.
In an emergency cornering or braking, keeping the wheels on the ground is somewhat important.. Michael

AnswerID: 286008

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 19:16

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 19:16
Totaly agree with you there Michael, I have seen many a rear or front wheel jumping up and down like crazy. Surely this must be felt especially if its the front shock/s. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 551021

Reply By: giffo - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 19:02

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 19:02
Maybe the drivers are not roadworthy !

Giffo
AnswerID: 286011

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 19:43

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 19:43
Question is where are all the vehicle inspectors going to come from. There aren't enough mechanics to go around now and the RTA's are just as bad. Heard of an old couple here in Perth who took their car to the Welshpool RTA vehicle inspection place to get their new gas tank certified for their car and they were in the queue for 7hrs and they got there at 7.00am and they were 4th in line. Only one inspector on duty.

AnswerID: 286024

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 21:45

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 21:45
Duncan
Been there.......done that ...at Welshpool but got through in 3 hours , I know it real bad just before I left WA , Ummm RTA..???
or Department for Planning and Infrastructure, the only Govt' dept' I know of that uses the name RTA is the mob from NSW.
Roads and Traffic Authority

FollowupID: 551062

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 21:54

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 21:54
You're right Doug it is DPI but used RTA as a generic term as our Eastern States counterparts would not have any idea what I was on about if I'd said DPI. We used to have an RTA mind many years ago.

FollowupID: 551066

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 22:00

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 22:00
Duncan
Hmmm ....OK i'll let you off....this time..lol
Hey how's the old GPS going, I just sold the Nuvi 660 and have a Nuvi 760 on the way, going to sell the Quest too because the 760 will do what the both did ie tracks , If it don't sell I will keep it for a back-up,

FollowupID: 551068

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 23:03

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 23:03
Still going strong. Glare is a pain in the backside cos I can't read the screen at times. Wish you still lived around the corner to give me some lessons. Hate reading instructions. I'll eventually upgrade to something new but at the moment it does what I need.

FollowupID: 551087

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 21:37

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 21:37
My answer is NO, as you travelled down the Bruce Hwy recently you would have noticed the over abundant supply of truck checking bays , just so those lousey stinkin' scallies can hound the Truckies for revenue, I think it would be better to get the lazy smelly mongrels of thier @#%** ar$$es and do more randon checks on cars when they're not rippin' off the truckies, besides I think it is just another way of reaping in the revenue by having yearly checks ...
My opinion, Ex Truckie

Hi to you and the little one ,

AnswerID: 286054

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 22:09

Wednesday, Feb 06, 2008 at 22:09
It is a good thing and should be Australia wide.

If in an accident it takes any blame away from you as not being roadworthy.

We have two vehicles and for a lousy $30.00ea a year to check everything, what is wrong with that?

If done as they should be, it means at any time you should be able to jump in your vehicle and go around Australia without a worry.

Thing to some people may look and feel good, but are an accident waiting to happen.

Also if say you have elderly parents that drive, you know also that they are as safe as the next person as far as the condition of the vehicle.

If you have nothing to hide? why worry.

Taxis / Tour Buses / Tour Vehicles and Hire cars should be inspected every 6mths because of the mileage and different drivers.

It would be in there best interest to do so.

Also in NSW the RTA do random checks on vehicles and also the garages that do the roadworthy certificates.
AnswerID: 286061

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Feb 07, 2008 at 00:56

Thursday, Feb 07, 2008 at 00:56
In Vic they dont check from what I know...my Aunty had a car for 12 yrs and if she awas in nws the car woulda been off road after 7 yrs....bloing smoke, rust to maz,and leaking oils like nothn else!
prob a good thing to get done but i hate having it done even though its only 30 buskc
AnswerID: 286081