GAS FITTINGS FOR STOVE IN ADELAIDE

Submitted: Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 13:50
ThreadID: 54365 Views:7998 Replies:11 FollowUps:13
I am trying to find where i can source and possibly get fitted the fittings shown below. They are Gameco fittings and Mike Sargent has them on his Tvan(pictured).
We are in Adelaide.
Thanks Lyndon
Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 14:14

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 14:14
You could try "Maxbuilt Trading Co."
I dont know their address but you could try the phone book.

Chers
AnswerID: 286345

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 14:22

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 14:22
Thanks for that but have already tried them, they were not a lot of help and didn't sell any fitting with dust caps.
Cheers Lyndon

FollowupID: 551442

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 14:36

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 14:36
I have a suspicion they may be compressed air fittings.

ken
AnswerID: 286349

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 14:40

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 14:40
And if they are they would be totaly illegal in the application ,,
FollowupID: 551446

Follow Up By: gottabjoaken - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 14:42

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 14:42
why so, Axel?

Compressed air fittings would be heaps higher spec than low pressure gas. Or even cylinder pressure gas.

Ken
FollowupID: 551449

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 15:02

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 15:02
Higher spec perhaps ,but 1 carries a flammable gas and the other does not ,, ever wonder why gas fitting use a cack handed thread ?? safety perhaps ,, why can any man and his dog fit air supply but for gas you must be licensed ?
FollowupID: 551452

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 18:36

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 18:36
but quick connect fittings are available and legal for lpg
i dont know if the above are for gas or air
FollowupID: 551521

Follow Up By: gottabjoaken - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 18:42

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 18:42
yes, and Maxbilt did fit some for me for my barbeque.

post regulator, I had a bayonet to connect to the fitting on the van and a quick connet to put the hose on the bbq, so I wouldn't have to either keep unscrewing, or have the long (heavy) hose permanently attached.

I had another qc fitting put onto the short hose and regulator so I can also use a standalone gas bottle.

But the qc fittings are not quite the same as those shown, and they do not have a dust cover.

Ken
FollowupID: 551526

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 23:13

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 23:13
The couplings shown look very much likethese ..
they may or may not be approved for flammable gas??

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 551608

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 11:31

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 11:31
they do, dont they ed...and with same dust covers

but the TEMA fittings at Gameco dont look the same

but they do state dust covers are available

FollowupID: 551668

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 11:32

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 11:32
which i might add are "LP Gas Specialist fittings"
FollowupID: 551669

Reply By: res.q.guy - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 14:39

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 14:39
Hi Lyndon
You could try an Hydraulic Hose outlet like "Pirtek" .
Here in Victoria they usually have a good range of fittings, and can usually get what you need if they don't have it.
Neil
AnswerID: 286351

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 14:46

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 14:46
Boc Gas did many years ago sell fittings
AnswerID: 286352

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 15:17

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 15:17
Hell and tarnation - I thought Maxbuilt knew everything there was to know about gas thingies. As for what is legal and not - gas is one thing I won't be experimenting with - I saw a 9kg cylinder "go up" in the Broken Hill caravan park a few years back - very scary indeed.
AnswerID: 286366

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 15:23

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 15:23
PerhapsGameco may be able to assist you??

Confucius say.....

AnswerID: 286367

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 15:46

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 15:46
Tried that, they just suggested that i try a plumbing shop but sort of figure they wont want to be bothered working out what i need and crimping hoses etc?

FollowupID: 551464

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 18:12

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 18:12
Lyndon,
Gameco don't have those fittings in their catalogue. They look like air couplings to me. I agree with above, don't play with gas.
FollowupID: 551514

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 23:01

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 23:01
OK, lookee what I found
here

this mob is in Brisvegas, not SA, but if ya do no good elsewhere, it might be worth your while givin' 'em a call here

Confucius say.....

FollowupID: 551605

Reply By: Member - Howard P (WA) - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 17:49

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 17:49
Hi Lyndon,
Bunnings have quick connect gas fittings, similar to the ones in your photo's. I have also seen rubber chair leg protectors used as dust caps ? seems to work O.K
Howard
AnswerID: 286394

Reply By: Member - Matt & Julie (VIC) - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 21:13

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 21:13
Hi Lyndon
I got mine from supa gas but no dust covers I made my own

Hope this is a helps

Matt & Julie

AnswerID: 286439

Reply By: Louie the fly - Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 22:22

Friday, Feb 08, 2008 at 22:22
You could try Industrial Fittings Sales at Wingfield. They almost appear to be a hydraulic fitting. If so, probably double shutoff type. There is an LPG bayonet fitting that us hillbillies without natural gas use. Might be a better option as they are designed for propane. Available from Balhannah Mitre 10 and other hillbillie hardware stores.

Or Cambridge's at Littlehampton.

AnswerID: 286461

Follow Up By: Member - Shane L - QLD - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 12:04

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 12:04
Hi Louie,
The fittings in the pictures you posted are also used on Natural gas, they are the standard fittings fitted on new homes that are now (most of them anyway) having BBQ provision plumbed in during the building process, I had the same fitting/s when I built my last house. (Natural/Town Gas) Convienent for the BBQ, fitting the bayonet was a really tight fit and a bit hard to push up and twist if you have bigish hands (skinned knuckles on the brickwork)

Shane
FollowupID: 551672

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 15:29

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 15:29
Try Heatlie BBQ's
I used to order a fair few BBQ's etc from them when I was in the Army and they were able to supply hoses etc like the ones in your pics.
They are based in SA as well.

AnswerID: 286549

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 22:25

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 22:25
Lyndon

Matt and Julie (above) have sugested supa gas. There is a new store in Elizabeth here in Adelaide.

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 286807