Submitted: Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:27
Member - Littleborgy (SA)
Hi guys & girls,
I have a GQ 4.2 diesel and every now & then when i turn the engine off after driving, it will "pre ignite". Has anyone else experienced this? If so, do you have a solution as it's very annoying.
Any help would be appreciated.
Cheers, Brad
Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:42
Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:42
Brad, have the timimg checked.
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:55
Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:55
John. I'll get it checked this week sometime
Cheers, Brad
Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:19
Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:19
Not sure how the Nissans work but on the toyota there is a fuel shutoff solenoid that shuts the fuel off when ignitioned turned off.
Sounds like you may have a bit of unburnt fuel in there that wants to ignite. Does it keep on going or does it just turn over a kick once or twice.?
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 19:16
Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 19:16
Hi David, Thanks for your reply.
When i turn the motor off, it just turns over a kick one or twice. I've got a mate who's a diesel mechanic so i'll take it down to him when time permits.
Cheers, Brad
Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:28
Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:28
Yep,
mine (2000 GU 4.2 td) has done it since new. Nissan stuffed around with it several times under warranty, but didn't make it any better. I gave up with them.
Only does it occasionally, giving a hefty shudder for a few seconds after switching off.
My guess is that the fuel shutoff solenoid is not shutting properly, as there should be absolutely no fuel being delivered after electrical power is removed from the solenoid.
Gerry
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 19:24
Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 19:24
Hi Gerry,
As i said to David above, i've got a mate who's a diesel mechanic, so i'll get him to have a look at it when time permits. Sounds like it could be the fuel shutoff solenoid... A few people seem to think that could be the problem. I'll ask my mate when i see him.
Thanks, Brad
Reply By: obee - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:35
Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:35
I heard a story described in detail on the radio one day. It was about a run away diesel on a largish boat when diesel engines were fairly primitive. Without going into the theory of why it happened, the fact is the sump oil was bypassing the rings and ignited on compression. With no way to control this new oil flow the motor raced and would have blown itself up or seized when it burnt too much of the sump oil.
In the story the engine did not have an air cleaner for various reasons and in the panic the teller of the tale said he pulled his daks down and put the cheek of his unmentionable bottom against the intake. 28 pounds of atmospheric pressure is a fair bit but it wont kill you. His got a bruise but the motor stopped for want of oxygen and he saved the day.
I guess the moral of the story is: Leave the air cleaner off and your bleep bare.
owen
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 03:02
Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 03:02
its a common prob with 2 stroke GMs. Sucking oil thru faulty blower seals. Their overspeed shutdown is a flap over the air intake.
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 19:34
Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 19:34
Thanks Owen, i don't think the problem is that bad that i'll need to put my bum on the air intake (the mother in law's would be better for that, at least i know it'll be big enough LMAO), but i'll be getting it checked this week sometime anyway.
Cheers, Brad
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 00:31
Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 00:31
gday Brad
You are going to be in the poo big time if Bianca reads this ....lol
Cheers .......Dad
P.S do agree with ya though
Reply By: Ray - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 20:30
Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 20:30
I remember two instances with diesel engines, before electrical solenoids were used and you could push a diesel to start it ( now I'm giving my age away). The first was with an Enfield twin cylinder boxer engine that decided to run in reverse. Obviously
the governor did not work (this was on a welding plant) and she started reving faster and faster. We turned off the fuel and ran. Fortunately she ran out fo fuel before it destroyed it's self.
The second engine was a Blackstone engine. This engine threw its over speed governor, not the AVR. We also turned off the fuel and ran but before it stopped all the big end and main bearings were stuffed.
So diesel engines must be watched very carefully as the slightest drop of fuel to pass will keep the engine running especially if it is hot.
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 19:43
Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 19:43
Thanks for that Ray, as i said above, i'll get it checked by my diesel mechanic mate this week sometime.
Cheers, Brad
Reply By: datsuncredible - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 20:49
Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 20:49
Not sure what the cause is, but my GQ has done this since I've had it. 2 things I often do to stop it pre-igniting is either lift the clutch slightly while in gear until you feel it starting to grab and switch the engine off, basically a mild stall. The other is bring the engine revs up slghtly ( by 200 or 300 rpm )for a few seconds and switch it off. Don't know why but it seems to work.
My 2 cents..
Russ
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 19:47
Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 19:47
Thanks Russ, i'll keep them in mind.
Cheers, Brad
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 20:50
Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 20:50
I was told by my mate, a diesel guy, that it is a little amount of fuel getting past the pump when the engine is turned off, apparently common on the 4.2.. Michael
| Patrol 4.2TDi 2003
Somewhere you want to explore ? There is no time like the present.Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 19:51
Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 19:51
Thanks Michael, that could be the problem as a few people have suggested it... I'll get my diesel mechanic mate to have a look at it this week & i'll ask him about the pump thing.
Cheers, Brad
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 21:22
Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 21:22
Let me know how you get on as
mine does it now and then.
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 19:53
Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 19:53
No worries Brew, i'm getting my mate to have a look at it this week sometime, so i'll let u know.
Cheers, Brad
Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 21:58
Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 21:58
Buy a 3.0
Follow Up By: guzzi - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 23:08
Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 23:08
Yeah,
At least when you hear the bang you 'll know its stopped.........
Sorry couldnt resist
No 3 ltr engines were hurt in the deliverance of this message.
Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 20:05
Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 20:05
Luke... I'll buy a 3.0 litre the day you buy one for that HK you've got in your shed LMAO.
Guzzi... Luke knows i wouldn't own a 3.0L if you give it to me... However... Nothing is free these days, so... LOL
Cheers, Brad