PHILLIPS SOLAR PANEL

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:58
ThreadID: 54511 Views:6000 Replies:3 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
I am new to solar camping technology and have inherited the following Solar Panel with the purchase of a second hand camper trailer (no documentation provided). I am wondering how powerful this would be - have just purchased a WAECO CF50 fridge and hoping to charge duel battery system. What the likely charge from this unit on a sunny day?
Phillips
2.5 AMPS Peak Power current
16.8 Volt Peak Power Voltage
PVM 4500
TYPE 2 Module
Class A or B

Have also inherited a Solar Converter to 12V (GCR M, 2000, BP Solar) again no documentation.

Any hints on best way to run this system - if worthwhile at all?

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 20:35

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 20:35
With a 2.5 amp peak power output, my guess is a 40 watt panel.

Bill

I'm diagonally parked in a parallel Universe!

My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 287131

Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 21:01

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 21:01
Bradley,
the Philips 2.5 Amp solar Panel would be too small to *fully maintain* the running of a Waeco CF50 fridge.
The Philips panel will require assistance from the vehicle engine to maintain battery performance.

A larger 80 watt (4.8 Amp) panel would be a better choice for longer stays.

It's definitely 'worthwhile' to you, to "learn" more about solar power.
Connect what you have up to a 'battery' and connect the fridge and let it run at home with the fridge 1/2 full of water bottles etc.

The type of battery is VITAL when you have a smaller sized solar panel to power it. If you don't have a battery now either make the decision to get a solar system or stay and play with your inherited toys.
If you want to spend some money then get an AGM Deep Cycle battery, because it WILL charge much faster than any other type of battery.

Mainey . . .