Protective board on caravan water tanks?

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 09:46
ThreadID: 54564 Views:8287 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
G'Day all,

I'm replacing a water tank in an older van, I'm wondering what the importance is of placing wooden board in front and beneath the tank for stone protection?

I can see the reasoning, but I'm kinda thinking the tank is a big lump of plastic, which is going to deflect stones itself.

I dont have the original so would need to go buy board and cut etc.

Dont want to go to expense and trouble if its hardly worth it.

Do new vans have wood protecting the tanks?

Rgds

Ron

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 09:50

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 09:50
Good off road camper trailers have water tank protection, if you are going to be doing a lot of gravel roads etc, it would pay to protect your tank.
It would be better to get some steel folded, rather than timber.
AnswerID: 287410

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 09:59

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 09:59
Make up a 'template' out of cardboard. A sheet metal shop will charge you a few bucks to knock it up out of 0.5mm or 0.8mm gal sheet...
When you install it- pack some foam rubber between the guard & the tank to stop even small stone getting in between & puncturing the tank...
AnswerID: 287413

Reply By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 10:00

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 10:00
Have a look at any van desiged to go off road, even gravel roads, they all have stone protection plates. They are sheet metal not wood as it wouldn't last too long.

I have both my tanks protected with galvanised sheet metal after gettig a hole in one caused by a rock that you seem to think just bounce off.

Let me assure you the don't just bounce off. A little bit of insurace or arrive at the end of a drive with no water.

It cost a few bucks to take your measuremets into a sheetmetal place and get them to make one up.
AnswerID: 287414

Reply By: Ron173 - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 10:36

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 10:36
OK

Thanks for replies,

seems its worth it and sheet metal is the go.

As I havent started to fit yet, can take tank into wshop and have tailor made.

Thanks again
AnswerID: 287420

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 10:39

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 10:39
Also protect your pipes and drain taps on the tank as I know of many instances where a tap or pipe has been hit by a rock and no water on arrival at destination.

FollowupID: 552657

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 13:46

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 13:46
I don't know why you need to take the tank in? You seem to be making the exercise harder tha it has to be,

The tank should be on the van and all you do is take the measurements so the protection plate just screws into the under side of the floor.

Here is a picture. Scroll dow the messages and you will see what I mean

Water Tank bash plate

FollowupID: 552678

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 15:44

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 15:44
I follow what you mean.

I wasnt making it difficult, I havent fitted the new tank yet its in my ute, so easy to ask for a plate to fold around it.

I have still to start job and not removed old split tank yet.

Rgds

Ron
FollowupID: 552697

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:24

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 16:24
Ron,

If you are driving outback dirt roads, I would suggest some sort of protection. I will try to add a couple of pics of my water tank guard after we got back from the Birdville Track.

Hope this helps motivate you to get some sort of protection for your tank.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 287470

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 08:19

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 08:19
Thanks Trevor,

I dont do much dirt roads at moment, this van only does local runs, but your pics are quite convincing!

If I was to go on a big trip I'd prob upgrade the van to an off roader.

Ron
FollowupID: 552834

Reply By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 18:19

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 18:19
Ron,

Not sure where you are located, but if you're in Melbourne I'm happy to help you out. All you need is a sheet of 2mm alloy which I can get you at the right price.

Bring it and your tank into my factory and I'll cut it to size for you for bugger all.

AnswerID: 287654

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Monday, Feb 18, 2008 at 07:23

Monday, Feb 18, 2008 at 07:23
Thanks a lot for offer Jim, I'm in NSW though.

No worries I'll fix up something locally,

Rgds

Ron
FollowupID: 553344