Prado suspension lift >40mm

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 21:35
ThreadID: 5467 Views:6845 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
Hi I am considering an ARB suspension lift for my diesel prado rv year 2002. I wanted more than 40mm which was what is claimed by the arb people. Is it unrealistic to look for say 60mm without having to do major alterations? Any thoughts appreciated Cheers Hardy

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 23:11

Sunday, Jun 15, 2003 at 23:11
Im thinking 50mm is a standard people talk about with Playdoes,

What are you tryin to fit under it in tires size?

The other option is the Prado list on Yahoogroups.
AnswerID: 22614

Follow Up By: Hardy - Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 12:52

Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 12:52
Truckster
I run 265/75 R16 BFG/MT's They fit easily with existing suspension so no worries there.
FollowupID: 14948

Reply By: Member - Chris (W.A.) - Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 04:12

Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 04:12
Hi Hardy,
I'm no major suspension expert but I've based my suspension on what the needs are. I might head out and do 'hero' hill climbs for thirty minutes of the year but have designed my vehicle to suit our absolute needs. Any 4x4 with standard suspension can do a beach run and I did an extreme Harvey hill climb back in 99 with the standard suspension. The only reason I've upgraded to OME 2.5" front and 4" rear is due to the accessories I've placed on the vehicle including the long range tank in the rear which used to cop a walloping on steep approach/departure angles. In short only 'jack' up if you have a legitimate reason ie. weekend warrior stuff in the nearest mountain range, cesspools etc or even to make your car look good lol.
Gibb River in July.
AnswerID: 22619

Follow Up By: Hardy - Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 12:56

Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 12:56
Hi Chris

I have found the Prado's factory suspension to be very low. From what I have seen clearance is invaluable. I am getting older now so don't intend to make my car a beast as I have in the past. You are right, the compromises are too great. I do however still managing to go bush every weekend and do serious 4wding semi regularly.
FollowupID: 14949

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 14:06

Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 14:06
gday hardy.
ive done a cpl of prado lifts and as arb said i wouldnt go anymore than about 40mm.looking foward to september(landcruiser park/fraser island)
AnswerID: 22654

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 14:51

Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 14:51
Hardy,
Something to bear in mind recently there has been a lot of focus on lifting 4bys by people in the law makers department so before you do any major lifts I think the legal limit is 50 mm before you could be asked to have a lane change test done, just something to be aware of. I've fitted the ARB springs & shox to my GQ and Rangie both came up initially to 50 mm plus a little bit after 3 years my Nissan has come down to about 45 mm lift, I've only just done the Rangie so I don't know as yet what it will settle out at, at the moment it's nearer 60mm than 50mm, I put the heavy duty springs on. Keep the shiny side up
AnswerID: 22657

Reply By: Graeme - Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 17:26

Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 17:26
I have a 2000 (pre August) Prado GXL which has been lifted 50mm with the rear springs having a 25% increase over standard - whole kit (springs & shocks) is Terrain Tamer brand.

Springs needed were a function of campertrailer being towed (abt. 90kgs at ball) & load carried onboard ~200kgs. Springs determine height with load, so your requirements are a function of what you load your Prado with. My 50mm lift 'leveled' Prado & campertrailer.

If your Prado hasn't done many k's think about keeping the shocks ... there are guys on the Yahoo 90scool group that do that & replace the springs (Kings have a good name).

AnswerID: 22668

Reply By: Rick - Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 18:09

Monday, Jun 16, 2003 at 18:09
I recently upgraded the suspension on my Prado (98 RV6) with the OME's. I have nothing but praise for them. While I didn't gain that much height (about 45mm) the wheel travel has improved dramatically. I looked at some of the other systems available but the OME kit seemed the most complete. If you do decide to go with something other than the OME's make sure the castor angles are re-aligned. You will need new bushes to do this.

If you are just after extra height, why not do a 2" body lift? Bigballs do a kit for the Prado. Makes it look real tuff!! ;-)

Rick
AnswerID: 22678

Reply By: flappan - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2003 at 09:58

Tuesday, Jun 17, 2003 at 09:58
Up to 50mm is an "easy" lift. Just about any 4by will be improved by that. After 50mm to many people start to get upset. eg Insurance, Rego etc etc.

If you want a no hassle, and basically, no paper work, up to 50mm is the go.
AnswerID: 22757

Reply By: Phil G - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2003 at 21:38

Tuesday, Jun 17, 2003 at 21:38
Hardy,

If you go greater than about 40mm, the angles of the front CVs become too great and you will tear CV boots and prematurely wear out CV joints.

On the 90 series, with 40mm lift, and 265/75 tyres you will have a heap more clearance than other 4wds. Thats the way I've got mine setup. ARB and Terrain Tamer do good complete kits and Kings are popular for a lifted springs/factory shocks setup.
AnswerID: 22830