Running 2 waeco 40lt fridges

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 20:53
ThreadID: 54678 Views:4762 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Can you run 2 waeco fridge/freezers off on one aux battery set up at the same time.I am only fairly new to 4wd driving but would like to run one fridge as a freezer and one only as a fridge in the back of my 4wd until i arrive at a campsite.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Dunaruna - Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 21:08

Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 21:08
Yes you can but you will need a serious deepcycle battery and some serious cabling. Also, depending on the current draw I doubt you could find a cig socket rated for that application, maybe an anderson plug would fit you requirements.

How the aux battery is setup in relation to the alternator is also an issue, you don't want to be sucking the life out of the cranker.
AnswerID: 288019

Reply By: Pete and Lez - Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 21:37

Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 21:37
What size fridges? Many people run 80 or110lt fridge which draws more current than two 40, 50, or 60lt fridges. Shouldn't have any trouble with narva socket, but as said, anderson plug and socket probably better, small 50 amp one. hard wiring into vehicle is best but not always practicle.
Cheers Peter
AnswerID: 288038

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 21:42

Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 21:42
Hi Kev

As the others have said it would depend on battery size and cables.

We would need to know the battery size and type and also your alternator type and size. I would also like to know what type of isolator you have fitted.

Just as a guide you would need around 50 to 60 amps per day for those two 40L fridges. You would need to drive for at least 2 hours a day assuming you have a 100 a/h AGM as the aux.

More info please.

Regards

Derek.
AnswerID: 288043

Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 21:47

Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 21:47