Follow up to post 54651

Submitted: Monday, Feb 18, 2008 at 23:42
ThreadID: 54711 Views:2013 Replies:9 FollowUps:7
G'day everyone

First off let me thank all those that replied to my original post.

To follow up i am back at home again , the Doc saw me earlier today and said he was very pleased with the way my Cellulitis was progressing and that i did'nt need the I.V antibiotics anymore , so he said i have you booked in for Friday morning to have an Angiogram and possibly have some stents put in , so if you like you can go home with some Antibiotic capsules as long as you keep your leg elevated and keep off it , did'nt get any argument from me ...lol....he even gave me his mobile number and asked me to send him a pic of my leg thursday morning just to make sure i am going to be ok for the Friday procedure....So there you have it ...im home , feel great , but can honestly say now i am looking forward to having whatever needs to be done to my heart , done , and hopefully that will be the end of it.....I still have a few questions to ask of the Doctor at the other hospital that didnt take the oppurtunity to fix my problem whilst i was in there , i mean they had already performed the Angiogram anyway ,so why not just put the stent in at same time???, thats the usual procedure.....Anyway enough ranting ,its just good to be home again and be able to visit my favourite site, EO , of course ...lol

Cheers.........Dave

Cant wait to get back into my 4by again!!

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 07:16

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 07:16
dont like hospitals either eh?
wellcome home
AnswerID: 288252

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 15:18

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 15:18
G'day No1

You got it in one mate ..lol....its not really so much that i dont like them , its just that i dont like it when im in one of them

Cheers......Dave
FollowupID: 553591

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 08:15

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 08:15
Onya Dave,
much as it is nice to be waited on hand and foot by pretty women in uniform it is nice to get home isn't it.
AnswerID: 288255

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 15:25

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 15:25
G'day waynepd

It is good to be waited on hand and foot by pretty women in uniform , its the ones with a sour attitude that i dislike, some of them come to work with a real chip on their shoulder , and they can make your day totally s h i t e , i must admit though most of the ones i have encountered have been bloody terriffic and go out of their way to make you feel as comfortable as possible, some of them cant seem to do enough for you ....but yes it is nice to be home, there is nothing like your own bed and surroundings

Cheers.......Dave
FollowupID: 553593

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 08:20

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 08:20
Good onya mate....take it easy and follow the doc's orders......

AnswerID: 288256

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 15:28

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 15:28
G'day Roachie

Thanks mate , looking forward to getting all sorted out and getting involved with the YP4WDC, dont think to much will be happening this year though, already cancelled the trip to Innaminka

Cheers.......Dave
FollowupID: 553595

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 18:05

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 18:05
Hey come on Borgy, I made it to Warraweena 8 weeks after a kidney transplant. But seriously you just have to do as you're told by the Doc's and Specialists at the moment. Think positive and you never know, we may meet at Innamincka.
Cheers, Peter
FollowupID: 553632

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 09:06

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 09:06
Perhaps in fairness to the original Doc, they will only put stents in if there is a noticable narrowing, or partial blockage of the main arteries, that will show up in the angiogram.

Perhaps hold of until Friday until you get the results and the appropriate treatment based on them.
You don't want to get worked up mate. No good for the heart:-))

Good luck Dave and think positive.

AnswerID: 288267

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 15:46

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 15:46
G'day Sandman

I should have explained things a little better in the first place ....Here goes , originally i had a heart attack on the 30th dec 07 whilst in Robe, a local doctor there gave me an injection called a clot buster which in effect saved my life, once stabilised i was flown to the Flinders medical centre by RFDS. On the 31st i was given an Angiogram to which the doctors decided i didnt need any stents or bypass or anything else apart from Diet and blood thinning medication...i was told that there was some narrowing of the main arteries , but as long as i remained on my medications they thought i would be ok .....Perhaps in my post above i came across as though i was peed off with the Doctor ,not so....but as i said , i am curious to find out why they didnt take the oppurtunity to put some stents or whatever in b4.

Definetly not having a go at you mate, just wanted to clear that up

As for getting worked up ...me ??...never ...lol

Have a great one mate

Cheers......Dave

FollowupID: 553599

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 16:16

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 16:16
Dave,

I was aware of your previous heart attack, but obviously not the fact that they decided not to place the stents in at that time.

Bugger hey!

I went though a similar, but minor, scare myself and after having the angiogram the Doc found minor blockages in the extremities of the Heart's capillary vessels. Basically just Angina which is controllable.

Hopefully, Friday will see a resolution to your problem mate and life will be happy and healthy again. You may even feel up to the "gathering" in July. Would be great to meet you and the extended family.

Good luck Dave!

FollowupID: 553605

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 12:53

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 12:53
Glad to hear you are back home, take it easy and Good Luck for Friday.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 288288

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 15:30

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 15:30
Thanks Dunworkin

Cheers.....Dave
FollowupID: 553596

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 17:43

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 17:43
Hi Dave, bet your glad your out of that place and back in your own bed. Those hospital beds are about as comfortable as a concrete slab, (should take your swag in with you LOL). My father in law had an angiogram and they put the balloon thingo up to try and widen the arteries, then found out only good for ten years so due again this year he was bleep they didnt just put the stents in straight away so has to go through it again. All the best for friday and hope all goes to plan and you will be able to start touring again with out any worrys. Make the most of been on your back and waited on hand and foot because once your back to full health again you wont get awat with anything LOL. All the best. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 288318

Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 18:06

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 18:06
Borgy
Glad to hear that you are getting the stents, the other option - open heart and by pass surgery - is not pleasant. I had a quadruple done last Oct and still having problems with pain, heart is now OK.
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 288320

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 18:08

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 18:08
Good on you Dave, It's always better when you know what the problem is so that the medical mob can get stuck into you with needles, knives & other pain producing methods!! LOL
Anway, its also good to know you've got a heart even if it is a bit crook. Theres lots of B's in this world who have not got one.
Keep us posted & hope all goes well.
AnswerID: 288321

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 21:25

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2008 at 21:25
Hi Dave

Glad to see you are home for a while, you have nothing to worry
about with the stents, I had them put in October 2005, better
than getting a zipper job, just another stay in hospital over night
and home the next day.

Daza
AnswerID: 288364