yo ho ho 1 day to go

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 18:35
ThreadID: 54788 Views:1842 Replies:12 FollowUps:5
gooday people
well this time in 24hrs i will be just another self funded retiree
no great fortune around but am i looking forward to going fishing golfing shooting fishing whenever i /we feel like it and maybe travel and fish abit as well
YOU BETCHA
alomst finished moving out of the rental house and will be in the van over the weekend and be able to do the above whenever

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 18:40

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 18:40
LOL good on ya Steve.

AnswerID: 288650

Reply By: Member - Alan H (Narangba QLD - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 18:43

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 18:43
Good Luck and may you have the health to do what you wish.

You beat me by one week. I finish next Friday.

Best wishes to all us gray nomads. I've had the gray for quite awhile and now I am getting around to the nomad bit. LOL

AnswerID: 288652

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 18:45

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 18:45
Welcome to the 'Club' yes it is great to do what you want at a time you want, unless, as in our case, the kids have other plans for you!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good luck and enjoy the fishing.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 288653

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 19:07

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 19:07
You lucky ol' fella , I gotta wait till June , Hey with this Yo Ho Ho ...are you a Yankee Santa.
Your a bit like me , Self funded but I own all I got.

AnswerID: 288659

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 19:22

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 19:22
Steve!!! Are you going to do a bit of fishing??? Michael

AnswerID: 288664

Reply By: Member - jjt98 (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 19:36

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 19:36
Good onya Steve.....leave some fish for us will you :-)
Cheers & Happy Travels
Jason
AnswerID: 288668

Reply By: Member - loris G (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 19:57

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 19:57
Wonderful!!! I'm a week behind you - downsizing to troopie on long service leave.....then............I'll see. Have a great trip.
AnswerID: 288672

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 20:37

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 20:37
Self funded retiree or self funded fool? Depends on if the Govt will come to the party on a multitude of benefits that are on offer; usually not if you are self funded.
Years ago a proportion of your tax went towards your retirement...these days it's your earnings that go towards retirement; funny thing that :((
I get sick of having to tell the chemist etc that "sadly no, I haven't got any cards" and the hairdresser that "no, I'm not an old age pensioner". With a face like mine I could lie...but I'm too damm honest.
I don't know where Centrelink is, and nor do I wish to have to find out. The Federal Govt has never given me anything, and I don't suppose...God willing...that they ever will.
Enjoy your retirement, you'll find it's a busy time. I'm just replacing a light fitting ...its fallen apart with old age like me :))
AnswerID: 288688

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 23:34

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 23:34
Here Here Footloose, I know just what you are saying, but hey, I wouldn't like the alternative, would be still working anyway.

D

FollowupID: 554093

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 19:49

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 19:49
D, one thing I will endorse. Mentally, it's heaps better. I still get angry with myself for not medically retiring years before I did.
My poor wife still has 4 years to go :((
But she says I should have gotten out yonks ago instead of trying to be a hero. If you have any health left, use it wisely. Don't put off the big trip etc. Tomorrow is not guarenteed for any of us :((
FollowupID: 554485

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 21:11

Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 21:11
Hi Footloose, sorry for the late reply on this but we have been away. We were lucky that we were able to retire at a relatively younger age, Hubby being able to retire at 55, I tried to carry on working, albeit part-time but my work started getting in the road of plans so I retired as well. I'ts good to be able to just drop things and go where ever you want and whenever you want.

D

FollowupID: 555831

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 20:48

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 20:48
Good luck mate on your super. I will start getting into mine next month. No good going fishing here though as the fish go on holidays just afore I get anywhere.
AnswerID: 288691

Reply By: Member - kevin Y (SA) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 21:05

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 21:05
retirement ====after awhile you'll wonder how you ever found time to go to work
then the novelty works off , so don't hesitate DO IT NOW
AnswerID: 288698

Follow Up By: Angler - Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 22:34

Thursday, Feb 21, 2008 at 22:34
We are self funded and still enjoying it. I did manage to get a little from centrelink the other day, had to hide a few dollars but it is worth it. Didn't want much, just the perks. Us self funded people miss out on all the perks and it will be good for a couple of years getting just a little.
I have a mate who has very little saved or in super and he can't wait to quit and get on a full pension so he can travel our great country.
Like the man said, get out there and enjoy while you are still on the top of the grass.
Pooley
FollowupID: 554077

Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Friday, Feb 22, 2008 at 16:04

Friday, Feb 22, 2008 at 16:04
Steve & Denny,

Both have a great time in retirement and looking forward to all those photos of the hole in one and the fishing tales.

All the best mate

Lance & family
Home Away from Home

AnswerID: 288825

Follow Up By: Member - Mary W (VIC) - Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 21:18

Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 21:18
Life will be so busy you'll wonder how you ever had time to work!!!
It's great,
Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

FollowupID: 554664

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Mar 03, 2008 at 07:20

Monday, Mar 03, 2008 at 07:20
Another early retiree here. If the super runs out the fallback is the house or I might look for some part time work if I find the time.
AnswerID: 290522