ford ranger

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 10:27
ThreadID: 54844 Views:16543 Replies:8 FollowUps:4
Hi Guys, Has anyone heard any stories with ref to the Ford ranger as a tow vehicle. The 3 lt turbo diesel has 3000kg towing capacity with great torque for a small engine. The price is very good as well,Ta Russ

Reply By: desert - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 10:46

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 10:46
Just don't run it through a water puddle at speed. They tend to stop! Same with the BT50.
AnswerID: 288960

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 17:15

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 17:15
Haven't experienced that with ours yet. Would you mind doing a "Pauline" & please explain just what the problem is so I can check it out. Thanks in advance.
FollowupID: 554314

Follow Up By: Member - Allan C (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 17:52

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 17:52
I think we can refute the water problem - we have had our Mazda BT 50 through rivers in the alps a few times - various depths, but up to the headlights with no car bra and have had no problems at all - of course we have a snorkel. I would be quite prepared to push it through water much deeper than that with a car bra.
With our trayon camper onboard we gross just on three tonne - all full - and we get (in our language) 25 mpg +. We have air bags to help with carrying the camper, but it does it easily and with the camper off we get about 30 mpg.
We find the power acceptable, but are thinking of a DP chip and exhaust modification, but not sure we can justify the expense.
FollowupID: 554324

Follow Up By: desert - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 10:25

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 10:25
G'day barry F, here's the "pauline" for you. Recently(I think within the last 6 mths) 4x4 Aust.Magazine ran a drive comparo with the Ranger,BT50,HiLux,Triton,Navara,Tata. All vehicles were subjected the same course and rotated drivers. The water obstacle was a shallow 75 to 100mm deep pond which was driven into at speed range 20 to 30 KPH. Both the Mazda and Ford experienced engine problems and went into limp home mode. Both were auto's. Both had water in the intake, the Ford also having water inside a wiring loom coupling on the engine. Consequently, further testing was impossible for the two offending vehicles. Ford Motor Co. are investigating and have not as yet come forth with an explanation as to why the engines should stop. To me, the water ingress sends alarm signals all by itself. Apparently, the Mazda media test vehicle has played up before and they (Mazda) believe it is a EMF radiation effecting the engine management computer??
BTW the Navara came out on top.
FollowupID: 554406

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 10:54

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 10:54
Yeh mate...had to tow heaps of Fords with no problems at all.
I do find I use a lot of fuel though.

AnswerID: 288962

Follow Up By: Russ51 - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 11:29

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 11:29
Ha! Ha! Guess I asked for that one
Rgds Russ
FollowupID: 554283

Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 11:26

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 11:26
The Ranger ( which is a Mazda BT50 ) will be just as good as a Rodeo,Hilux, Triton..
All similar torque and power..
AnswerID: 288967

Reply By: dsjohnson - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 11:59

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 11:59
I posted on here before as to the problems that have plagued my ranger since new ,

Maximum distance i have now managed to get out of fuel before the fuel light comes on is = 428km's !

Uses oil about 1lt per 1000km's

Extremelly bad shifting gearbox and loud , auto

I have had dramas with the brakes lately,,,i press the pedal to stop and it wont move down and with a click it goes down further and brakes as normal,

This ford has 13000km's

I think i just may have a friday special though,

AnswerID: 288968

Reply By: Hoyks - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 12:32

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 12:32
My sister raves about hers.
She tows a double horse float with a race horse sized beastie in it. She was saying it could hold highway speed climbing the hills near Murrurundi which is a fair old climb and it doesn’t drink fuel like the 4500 Patrol that usually does the job.
AnswerID: 288972

Reply By: Rusty07 - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 14:19

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 14:19
yes ... I have one , vg vehicle,no issues as yet ,pulls 1200 kg camper van easily ,check forum for previous posts
AnswerID: 288979

Reply By: jnicko - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 15:32

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 15:32
hi,i have a bt-50 one week old july 07,pulled a simon herd camper across simpson from birdsville to mount dare with no issuses,and no problems with water
AnswerID: 288991

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 17:10

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 17:10
Hello Russ, We have a manual BT 50 but it is a 4 x 2 and has a towing capacity of 2500 Kg. We tow a 16 foot pop top with a loaded weight of about 1450 Kg. It's only done about 12000 K but we have not had any problems & are very happy with it.
It is also very economical, about 9.5 Litres per 100 Ks on the hwy not towing & 13 to 14 Litres per 100 K towing at about 90 to 95 K per hour.
You will gets lots of knockers on this forum though unless you've got a Cruiser or Patrol. LOL
AnswerID: 289004