Steel water tanks behind 2nd row seats & infront ot Outback drawer system?

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 18:08
ThreadID: 54856 Views:6778 Replies:8 FollowUps:14
Kindest,

I have an Outback drawer system w/the cargo barrier, and I am trying to figure out either (1) someone that sells steel water tanks that fit between the drawers and the 2nd row seats, or (2) who can make them on order. Anyone have any ideas to the above? I live on the Mornington Peninsula outside of Melbourne ..

Been also looking at the Flexi Water tanks to fit inside the panels, and may go with them eventually as well, but would like a simple steel water tank behind the 2nd row seats as the primary. Don't have room for any jerries etc..

.. and btw; I have a Patrol GU. ;-)

Would appreciate any kind of feedback! Thanks!

/Jorgen
Portaled 79 series with rego VALHAL. Selcal 1510 VKS. Nissan 4x4 Club of Victoria & Trakmaster Owners Club.

Reply By: Member -Steve.NT - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 18:47

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 18:47
I bought this system off 4wd hire service in Darwin for $300 I modified the space next to the fridge draw to accommodate another fridge.

This is a 100 series.

I think they have a 4wd hire service in all states so give them a call and find out were they had them made.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 289017

Follow Up By: jskogsta - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 20:52

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 20:52
Steve,

Looks like you got a good deal. ;-) That's exactly the kind of tank I was looking for... do you know what the name of the company was? Tried googling for '4wd hire service' in Darwin, but came up with too many responses... Would be great knowing who did it for them, and I'll ask if whomever that was if they could knock up something for me as well. Should yield 25-40l easy...

Thanks!

/Jorgen
Portaled 79 series with rego VALHAL. Selcal 1510 VKS. Nissan 4x4 Club of Victoria & Trakmaster Owners Club.

FollowupID: 554341

Follow Up By: Member -Steve.NT - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 21:04

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 21:04
I will try to find out were they had them built, a mate of mine deals with them that's how I got the great deal.

They don't hire to the public any more, it's strictly mines etc, I will talk to him on Monday.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 554346

Follow Up By: jskogsta - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 21:15

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 21:15
Awsome mate... would be much appreciated! ;-) I'll see if I can take some measurements either way.

Quick question; is the pipe going into it the filler one? .. and you have a smaller one that I presume has a hand pump or something attached to it?

FollowupID: 554347

Follow Up By: Member -Steve.NT - Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 20:06

Monday, Feb 25, 2008 at 20:06
My mate says you can have his for $300 + you freight it to your place His Name is mal and his # is 0413757000.

His is the same as mine without the extra slide for the fridge, that is just a shelf.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 554643

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 18:52

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 18:52
I had a triangular, full width space on top of my rear deck (a home built false floor, on top of the wheel arches) in the Jackaroo - was created by the forward slope of the cargo barrier (just behind the seats) - bloke at work made me a triangular 25L SS tank to go in there - not pretty but never leaked - put a marine bung in it and plumbed a fill / outlet hose to it. That space was unused otherwise.
There is a pic at..............
http://users.picknowl.com.au/~darian/ .... sales page.
Suggest it is probably only of use to someone local who has a Jack and wanted my rear deck .... only mentioned to you as an design idea.
AnswerID: 289018

Follow Up By: jskogsta - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 20:54

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 20:54
Darian,

Yep! Exactly the kind of tank I was looking for... just like Steve's. Might have to measure one out, and see if I can get someone to make one...

.. perfect space for one; putting that space to use. Got too much gear already with the missus and the two kids as well ..

/Jorgen

FollowupID: 554342

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 21:52

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 21:52
This is a home made one (well a foreign order during work hours) in a prado grande.
AnswerID: 289036

Follow Up By: jskogsta - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 08:45

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 08:45
Great tank; should carry enough... wish I had the equipment for it. Probably a bit too big (deep) to fit between the seats and the Outback system... but similar idea....

Is the upper plastic hose used to fill it, or do you use the metal one with the cap (or maybe both are an option?). I'm guessing the lower hose is the one you drain water from, right?

FollowupID: 554390

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 05:45

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 05:45
Jorgen, just going thru the design stage to do this at the moment, fitting to a GU 2004 wagon. Also looking at making one to go on the right hand side beside the drawer unit. I live in Cranbourne. If you would like further info, email me at jlsulli @ bigpond. com , no gaps. Hope this helps, John

AnswerID: 289055

Follow Up By: jskogsta - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 06:51

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 06:51
John; just sent you a message. ;-) /Jorgen

FollowupID: 554382

Reply By:- Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 07:18

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 07:18
Have a look at the Opposite Lock website.

Lots of poly and stainless tanks in all sorts of sizes to suit

They have a store in Preston

Rolande
AnswerID: 289059

Follow Up By: jskogsta - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 08:47

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 08:47
Yeah; had a look at them, and they have some really nifty ones. Especially liked the one that goes in the foot well in the second row. Could even be used to stand on... though looking for a permanent solution, though for longer trips may get one of their smart ones...

Thanks .. ;-)

FollowupID: 554391

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 07:56

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 07:56
Jorgen
Mine is from Long Range Automotive in Melbourne. I don't have Outback drawer system so how it fits with that I don't know. Have had it for about 3 years now, lots of trips etc, and no worries at all. It's a quality product and they were also a good company to deal with (no association etc). By my measuring it's a bit under 60 litres.

It follows contour of floor to lower section where 2nd seat are and hence need to access hose from rear passenger side door. Fixed to front 3rd row seat anchor and child anchors. Filler is very easy to get to with a hose but Ive found it hard to fill in the bush with my 25L container - so now sit that on roof rack and gravity feed with hose. Best wishes JD
AnswerID: 289060

Follow Up By: jskogsta - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:01

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:01
That's a great tank! ... found the LRA site, though no mention of the various products they had; only that they had 'hundreds' of options, and could even make custom tanks (http://www.4wdworld.com.au/products/lra/index.htm) Sent them a note with a few questions, as they're not too far away from where I live.

This tank would not fit as the Outback system goes all the way into the barrier, and hence I need a smaller tank that goes in front of the barrier on the passenger side. There's a small space between it and the barrier, so would not be able to carry too much water there, but should do the trick for weekends etc at least...

Out of curisity; how much did you have to pay for yours? Probably come up in price by now, but just as an indication.. ;-) Thanks! /Jorgen

FollowupID: 554392

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:12

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:12
Cost $6-700 incl transport to Adelaide, which I thought was pretty reasonable at the time.

Outback system so common I'm sure they'll have something for you. Forgot to say, LRA owner used to run GU's so I reckon their knowledge of the vehicle could only help. JD
FollowupID: 554394

Reply By: Louie the fly - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:23

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:23
Here's a tank I designed for my 4Runner, which is one of my next jobs. It fits behind the rear seats and holds about 140 litres. It will be made from 1.5mm stainless steel with internal baffles and a box around the pump. At this stage the inlet is a 2" BSM and I intend to use a small 12 volt bilge pump like the ones you have in ski boats. All up cost I suspect will be less than $250 (my own labour). I reckon if we were making one for a customer it would cost around $750 - $900 all up.

AnswerID: 289067

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:27

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:27
Oops, I meant 40L, not 140L.
FollowupID: 554398

Follow Up By: jskogsta - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 10:13

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 10:13
Looks neat and tidy... and very similar to what I think will fit in the GU. You using a cad system to draw it up?

FollowupID: 554402

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 11:52

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 11:52
Yes, using CAD to design all my bits. From there it's easy to get parts laser cut, such as the top panel and the ring with the spout. From my original model it's really easy to just change the shape and sizes to fit it into another vehicle, for example, your GU Patrol.
FollowupID: 554420

Reply By: Member - Alan H (Narangba QLD - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:56

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:56
watertanks

This site has tanks to fit between drawers and rear seats.
AnswerID: 289074

Follow Up By: jskogsta - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 10:10

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 10:10
Thanks! Sent them a note if their tanks fit the Outback system and the 2nd row seats.. from what I can see from the picture their tank may be too wide as the Outback system is quite deep. Thanks for the note! Great setup though .. if you wanted to get a complete drawer system etc w/water tank .. wish I knew about them before I got my Outbacks. ;-) Though I'm happy with my existing one, and integrated solution would be even better.. Cheers! /Jorgen

FollowupID: 554401