How to catch a Yella Belly

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 19:30
ThreadID: 54857 Views:2342 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
I'm not much of a fisherman but would like to start heading out the dams around Warwick to catch a few Yella Bellies. But I would not have a clue what to use rod and tackle wise and bait wise let alone where to find them in dams or rivers.

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 20:19

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 20:19
Derek
Drop into one of these stores and do some asking , I reackon they will have some clues for you.

Boating,Camping and Fishing

AnswerID: 289026

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 06:13

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 06:13
Mate don't mind Willie. (Flamin Vicweigan.)
What I find difficult to accept is that you found so many cars with keys in the ignition: damn good muster Doug. (Hence the saying "Go West, Young Man", I guess.
Onya you pair: mind the tinea, eh.
Jeff 'n Jess.
ps.
What the BH has Dave done to the site while I wasn't looking? J.
FollowupID: 554377

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 21:37

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 21:37
Doug ,
I cannot believe that Dusty let you write that . Derek would get much better info from a specialist tackle store , than from a young counter jumper in a BCF store ( unless he gets lucky ).
Willie .
AnswerID: 289031

Reply By: JimDi - Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 21:45

Saturday, Feb 23, 2008 at 21:45
Its been a long time since I caught a Yella Bellie as you call them. But it used to be a hook line and sinker plus bait. Hand held.
JimDi
AnswerID: 289033

Reply By: Member - len W SWANSEA (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 06:22

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 06:22
hi Derek ask your question on this site you will get all the information you need .........len

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/
AnswerID: 289058

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:13

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:13
A matter of interest
I just spent 6 days last weekend on the beach south of fresh water,North of Noosa
& we where catching Fresh water Dew Fish (Cat Fish ) of the beach & the brown water was breakish fresh water out of the Noosa River.

Open Link Below Picture Foam

iPicture of Foam on beach
FollowupID: 554395

Follow Up By: Member - Derek L (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:19

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 09:19
Thanks Len its great to get good info i'll check that site out now.

Thanks Derek
FollowupID: 554396

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 10:13

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 10:13
Hi Derek, you don't need anything sophisticated or expensive. Perhaps a 5 - 6 foot long Estuary Rod, 15 - 20 kg line -lots of snags in rivers, creeks and dams, reasonable size hooks - they have pretty big mouths and for bait I use a shrimp pot to catch bait in the water I intend to fish. If using shrimp put them onto the line using tail to attach leaving them alive and moving to attract fish. You will also need a sinker, I use old spark plugs (cleaned up of course) as they are about the right weight and if I do get a snag and broken line then I haven't lost much ($$). Like others said, talk to locals and anyone else you see fishing nearby. Good luck.
AnswerID: 289078

Reply By: Bros 1 - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 12:40

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 12:40
Derek L,
20 lb hand line, 3/o hook, small pea sinker and a packet of small prawns and away you go. Too easy. If you don't want to hold the line, tie it to a springer and let them catch themselves.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 289098

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 18:48

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 18:48
Hey Bros, we use 6/0 hook! Like to make sure we get them.Derek L, you will find if you go to the Lakes/Dams around Warwick that they have Kiosks at all of them (I think) and they are very helpful in supplying information and product to help you catch the yellowbelly. We love them - had a price for tea lat night, actually. GOod fishing. Ruth
FollowupID: 554475

Reply By: Bros 1 - Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 21:28

Sunday, Feb 24, 2008 at 21:28
G'day Ruth,
I was just waiting for one of you "pros" to enlighten Derek and didn't wait long enough. Actually i am not sure what size hook we used, but they were easy to catch.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 289203