Replacement quality submersible pump for those $20 showers on Ebay

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 09:21
ThreadID: 54974 Views:4978 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
There is a guy on Ebay, USA based, selling American made Whale submersible pumps for less than US10 and US11 to get it to Australia. Total cost about A$25 to get it here. I was really thinking about the guys that use those cheap $20 showers, the basic setup is ok buy water gets inside the pump eventually because of its poor quality and finally fails. Model is Whale is 8815 and flow is about 12 litres per minute at 3metre head with a 1 metre lead. The cheap $20 shower unit is only about 2.8 LPM.

His name is JCHCCOOLUNIT , he has 700 of these pumps and is selling them one at a time as an auction. I just bought one with no other bidders for under US$10. The same pump retails here for around $60.. Michael

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 09:42

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 09:42
How do you search for a vendor on eBay??
AnswerID: 289612

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 09:45

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 09:45
Just go to Community tab on the top of your home page and fill in the name.. Michael

FollowupID: 554931

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 09:50

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 09:50
Thanks for that info mate..
I'm actually after the Whale in-line pump (for my underslung water tank)..
FollowupID: 554933

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 10:02

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 10:02
A small bilge pump costs $15 to $25 and does the same job reliably as well. Whitworths usually have one brand on special at any one time.
AnswerID: 289615

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 10:25

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 10:25
Gday Phil, I just drop the pump into a square 25 litre container, run it through my Heat exchange and through the shower head. I think most bilge pumps would be bigger in diameter than the type we are talking about. But thats only me, plenty of people use a bucket.. We may catch up at Innamincka if you are going in July.. regards Michael

FollowupID: 554939

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 11:59

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 11:59
Gday Michael,

This is similar to mine and costs $15:
Johnson bilge pump

Mine is a superseded 360 model, and it doesn't pump quite as strong as the pump that came with the $25 shower, but still does the job well. Its got a 3/4" outlet - I reduced it to 1/2 inch with an adaptor from Bunnings. It sits fine in our 10litre billy.

Can't make Innamincka at this stage - can't get time off work as its school hols :-)) Hopefully catch up at another gathering.
FollowupID: 554949

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 11:23

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 11:23
these may be good pumps for use on the water tanks of vans and campers at those prices but personally the whole advantage of the $20 showers is the low 2.8 litres per minute flow rate.
we like the idea of 2 of us being able to have a good shower using less than 1 x 9 litre bucket of water.
had our $ 20 unit for over 3 years and no issues as yet .
it is a good idea to make sure you drain them fully before storing as i am aware of others who have had motor seize up when left with water in pump and hoses.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 289626

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 16:51

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 16:51
I agree Howard. I have played with all sorts of boat pumps but they all put out way TOO much water. We also get tow showers out of a 9 lt bucket. Only thing SWAMBO complaqins about is not enought water flow to wash her hair propley.
We have used 3 of these $20 showers over the past few years and have not had probs with the pump, allways the switch, so if they stuff up in the bush we can get around them.
Vince
FollowupID: 554969

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 17:09

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 17:09
I cut the switch and most of the cable off mine then solder a couple of croc clips to the lead and use a 7Ah gel cel to power the pump. Much easier than using the cig lighter thingie and the gel cell will last for weeks without recharging - and I _do_ shower daily :)

FollowupID: 554973

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 12:54

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 12:54
Thanks Mickael, let us know what they perform like when you get hold of it..there is alot of copied stuff on ebay, i bought a Walbro fuel pump for my 80 a few years ago on ebay and it almost caused a motor failure, i later found it to be a chinese fantastic copy, which worked fine for a few months only....hope this is not the case with what you have found.
AnswerID: 289636

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 19:17

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 19:17
I have a feeling that they are authentic. The guy would be a dill to say he had 700 units, i think Whale would be on to him if they hann't come from them.. Thats a lot of pumps. Michael

FollowupID: 555016

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 16:50

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 16:50
I bought a bilge pump on Ebay in Australia for around $30. Big
improvement on the little 12v unit, more volume but still not heaps of water used. Just used hoses,switch & shower head off
$20 one. Run it off Battery Booster so can have shower anywhere.
May retire it once I test a 5 Litre Pressure Garden Sprayer. Heard
they work a treat & require No power...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 289656

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 21:09

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2008 at 21:09
Oldbaz,
We've used most types of showers. Our conclusion is that a bucket of warm water and a cup works pretty well :-)))

The Bilge pump we've used pumps at a lot lower rate than they say. I reckon its because a bilge pump is a high volume/ low pressure pump, and if you provide a bit of restriction (hose/shower/2metres) then the flow drops off. Not a problem, as you can slow the flow with shower heads anyway.

We also take the garden sprayer away on the desert trips. Can get a reasonable shower and feel like a million dollars with 1.5 litres of water (2litres for the wife). You'll spend twice as long in the shower.

But they all work!
FollowupID: 555041