Hilux vs Navara Vs Rodeo

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 11:13
ThreadID: 55003 Views:11529 Replies:14 FollowUps:9
Hi There
We are in the market for one of the above cars. Just wondering if anyone can make any comments regarding their experiences with them to help us make a decision. We are looking at one preferably from about 2004 and newer, duel cab, turbo diesel.
Some of the questions I have include:

1) Leg room in the rear (have two small boys but are going to become two tall boys!

2) Fuel consumption

3) Towing power - will be towing a camper trailer

4) 4WD capability - will be looking at heading up to the Kimberley / Cape York region with it at some stage. Therefore does it perform okay on corrugations, sand, clearance

5) Reliability - Breakdowns???

Thanks for your help
Tars

Reply By: Leroy - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 11:26

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 11:26
I'd cross Nissan off your list.

Nissan Warranty....not worth a pinch - Click here to see why

Leroy

AnswerID: 289786

Reply By: Mogul - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 11:30

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 11:30
I've got a 2003 RA LT 3LTD.

I found Hilux's were overpriced compared to either the Rodeo or Navara. Rodeo in the LT form comes standard with a lot of things the STX Navara didn't.

Found the Navara more truck like to drive than the Rodeo and this is what finally swayed us to get the Rodeo.

Over the last 4 months I have done around 10,000 km's towing our Pioneer camper with ease, sometimes I forget that I'm towing a trailer weighing around 1200kg's. I have also fitted Polyairs to rear and this has made a big difference to the balance of the car while towing.

Had no major problems or breakdowns in 4 1/2 years. The Rodeo seemed to also have more space in the rear than the Navara and about the same as the Hilux.

Fuel consumption is around 10 - 11L around town and this increases to around 13 - 14L when towing camper.
AnswerID: 289788

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 17:36

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 17:36
Hiya Mogal

My brother in law came to the same conclusion as you for his two work vehicles..

Ive used it 4wd a few times and was impressed for straight outa the showroom...

FollowupID: 555166

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 11:40

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 11:40
Tars, I think they are all pretty good vehicles.
The Navara is being panned in the press today on safety issues:
Australian Newspaper report on Navara
This link is to the Australian report, but if you Google it, you will find lots more.

If you move up to the 2005 model, you will start to get into the newer common rail diesels with more power, better economy etc. Will cost a bit more, but worth considering.

All will tow a CT without difficulty.

The 2005+ Hilux had an advantage in rear leg room for a while, but I don't know if that is still the case.

The Hilux retains it's value better than the others. Means you might pay a bit more for it, but will get more back when you sell it.

They are all OK off road, but not brilliant. Very long wheel base give poor ramp over, but for normal off road, dirt roads, sand etc, they are fine. Also the IFS at the front and leaf springs at the rear limit wheel articulation for serious off roading.

I have a 2005 Hilux, which has been a great vehicle. We use it just for touring. Have done about 60,000 KM in it, 90% on trips. But have just ordered a new Land Cruiser cab chassis to increase payload and towing capacity. So we will say good bye to the Hilux around August when the new ute arrives.
AnswerID: 289789

Reply By: HowdyDoody - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 11:45

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 11:45
I heard on the radio this morning that the Navara only got half a star in safety ratings. Not sure why, you may need to do more research before making a choice.
AnswerID: 289791

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 12:13

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 12:13
There are also issues with the front diffs breaking- stripping crown wheel teeth- in the Navara (and, of course, Nissan are claiming driver abuse)..
AnswerID: 289792

Reply By: Wingwang - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 12:18

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 12:18
what about the 2.8L Turbo Mitsubishi Triton. Bullet proof in all departments.
would not touch Rodeo due to parts pricing and terrible supply of parts
you will pay $5k more for a Hilux over other brands and you get nothing for it
AnswerID: 289793

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 18:36

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 18:36
*you will pay $5k more for a Hilux over other brands and you get nothing for it*

Yeah you do,better resale AND none of the bad reports above !

OH what a feeling !

FollowupID: 555177

Follow Up By: Faulic_McVitte - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 08:32

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 08:32
there is no bad reports above
Mitsi 2.8 turbo is a great tough no messing around vehicle
new Mitsi 3.2 turbo is best 1 ton on the market

dumped anything to do with Toyota at work most expensive maintenance vehicles in fleet.

both Mitsi and Tojo made in Thailand 1k apart and heaps parts for both made by same company between 2 plants.
FollowupID: 555283

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 20:49

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 20:49
No worries Faulic

FollowupID: 555413

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 21:57

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 21:57
HIYA Faulic

*dumped anything to do with Toyota at work most expensive maintenance vehicles in fleet*

Oh may pay for you to look at the first page on (genuine part surprise)

FollowupID: 555445

Reply By: Stef & Sal - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 12:18

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 12:18
Tars

The new Triton should be up there with your test drives....

Stef

AnswerID: 289794

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 12:32

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 12:32
Too right, best of the bunch and a great tow vehicle.

FollowupID: 555137

Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 00:36

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 00:36
You only have to get past that cabin that looks like Cinderella's Pumpkin Coach from the side.
FollowupID: 555264

Follow Up By: Notso - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:30

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:30
No don't be cruel!

I've had more positive comments than negative. It's only big strong brutish fellows like you that can't handle the looks.

FollowupID: 555297

Reply By: Member - G N (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 13:07

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 13:07
Hi Tars
My opinion is the Hiluxes prior to current model are the most supirior by a long way.
Current model HIluxes seem to be suffering from serious clutch failures from the few i know of (like every 20 to 25 000km with only on road work!!!)
I have a 1999 LT rodeo and bought it because it was a lot cheaper new than a hilux and was also lower as i use it at work and need to get in and out often. I though i would use it often for trips away but find it is quite limited in its ability. It is thirsty and lacks towing power. I have an old HJ61 and love taking this old grirl on trips as it has much more ability off raod and better on fuel + towing etc etc
Having said that, the previous model Hiluxes were pretty good i think, only got 2 mates with these and both done gear boxes in a big way at around 120 000km but are much cheaper to replace than a cruiser one.
AnswerID: 289803

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 22:51

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 22:51
*My opinion is the Hiluxes prior to current model are the most supirior by a long way*

I believe your above quote is spot on,Thats why i bought the 8/04 model GN,plus you save about 20grand plus to play around with...

I also heard on the grapevine people are trading back their new hiluxes for the previous models...

FollowupID: 555239

Reply By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 13:43

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 13:43
Did that trip in 2006/7 with a Ford Courier TD and had no problems towing CT. We now have a Ford ranger and very happy and auto makes driving easy.
AnswerID: 289807

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 16:13

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 16:13
1) Triton.

2) Hilux D4D.

3) Do you want towing power or ease of towing?

4) All with a 2 inch lift kit but Triton has an optional rear diff lock.

5) Hilux D4D but all are very reliable but then again anything will break down.

Don't you think you should take each one for a drive and see for your self what is the best for you!

All 4x4's are that close to each other it's not funny.

Everyone will bitch and carry on about something could be better, this breaks and that falls off or I had one of them 15 years ago and it was useless.

My only advice would be buy one of the current crop of 4x4's say from 2005-06 onwards.

If you go by other peoples advice you may never be happy with your purchase.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 289830

Reply By: onelostroo - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 18:26

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 18:26
Here,here (i couldn't agree more with Richard)
Go out and drive them for yourself so you can make your own decision! I decided on the Rodeo because it suited me (and i work at a Toyota dealer) Any of the later model vehicles should serve you well and once you start looking and sitting in them you will soon pickup on the ones with no rear leg room.
Happy hunting
AnswerID: 289857

Reply By: Grassparrot - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:17

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 09:17
If you want leg room you wont go past the new Triton. I have one and it was a major factor with kids 8,6 & 3, with the two eldest being boys, when we bought ours last year. It has exellent fuel economy (low 9l/100km) and it tows our CT fully loaded with no problems. Im not a tradesperson, but I dont think it would be as suitable as the ute sides are lower and ute tray is shorter than the others. This is also a factor with fitting fridges and the like under the hard cover. I only just fitted my 80l waeco in and have to have it right up against the back of the duel cab to get the lid shut.
We are more than happy with ours for price, room and performance.
AnswerID: 289992

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 15:29

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 15:29
For comparisons between the 6 latest models see this link

AnswerID: 290043

Reply By: Tars - Tuesday, Mar 04, 2008 at 09:26

Tuesday, Mar 04, 2008 at 09:26
Thank you all for your comments. We had a look at a few and crossed the navara off our list - my very tall hubby struggled to get in the back seats and even I found it a tad squishy. Will probably go and have a look at the new triton. I don't really like the look of them but if they have good leg room that is a major factor.
Thanks again
Tars
AnswerID: 290713