Diesel Coles/Shell $1.51Lt, Caltex $1.45Lt in South Adelaide

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 19:14
ThreadID: 55011 Views:3724 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Coles have just sent me a flyer stating that if I buy $200+ in one transaction at Coles prior to the 24th of March and use my Flybuys card at Coles they will send me a fuel voucher so I can get 20c a Lt of Fuel more particularly Petrol.

Would you believe the price of Diesel at the local Shell/Coles Garage moved up from $1.46 to the $1.51 about the same time that this offer came out.

It would appear that Coles/Shell do not like Diesel users probably because we can take the full 150Lt at the discount price. I normally get 8c a Lt off so with the price increase spending the $200+ plus at Coles gives me an additional 7c a Lt off. Which pulling a van doing 20lt to the 100K is still a saving.

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 19:28

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 19:28
a 6c shift in price is pretty routine

150L? you either have a Prado or extra tanks fitted - not many do

why anybody shops at Woolies, Caltex, Coles or Shell if they have a choice is beyond me. The non participating servos charge a regular 6c or more below. Why allow yourself to be a hostage to these barstewards? In a few years time you'll be reminiscing about the old independent operators who charge at least 6c less.

Sorry about the rant, mate, but playing right into their hands, unless you have to......................grrrrrrrrrrr
AnswerID: 289864

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 19:41

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 19:41
Don't know where you live Steve but around here (Canberra/Queanbeyan) BP and non Woolies Caltex are always dearer than both the supermarket chain servos - and more often than not even dearer than buying from the supermarket chains without a voucher.
FollowupID: 555186

Follow Up By: Steve - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 19:53

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 19:53
I regularly tank up anywhere between Sydney/Newcastle and yeah, you're right, some of the non-Woolies/Coles infiltrated servos still charge the same as the ones who accept the coupons, but there are always plenty who are charging less than the difference of the value of the coupon. aside from the Metro/United cheapo brands, there is a Caltex just around the corner from where I live charging at least 6c under the Shell/Caltex/Coles/Woolies price. There seem to be less Shell servos going it alone near me but there's often BP or Mobil doing 4/6c less. For me, the principle is more important in the long term. Even the Mrs has come around now, and shops at Franklins. Maybe it depends on where you live but if you just keep your eyes open, you don't need to get caught up in this scam.
FollowupID: 555188

Reply By: Member - David B (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 19:29

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 19:29
Thats not to bad if the Prado was on empty.
AnswerID: 289866

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 19:46

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 19:46
I'm sick of getting screwded by Coles and Woolies.
I get BP diesel at the truckstop corner South Rd and Torrens Rd. Cost $1.41 last weekend.
AnswerID: 289867

Follow Up By: TD100 - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 20:20

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 20:20
Same here Phil! use BP diesel now-no more safeway/caltex crap.she runs heaps better on BP than that other chite anyway.cheers Paul
FollowupID: 555196

Reply By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 19:54

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 19:54
I fill up at my local Shell (it is not linked to Coles) where they are 3 cents a litre cheaper than the Woolies in neighbouring town (25 Ks away) and when I take the receipt to Foodworks I get my 4 cents off there. So I am looking after two locally owned business.
Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 289868

Follow Up By: Steve - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 20:16

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 20:16
that's the bigger isue for me - cos in a few years time we'll have nothing but BIG expensive servos selling all sorts of crap at top prices and all controlled by the usual suspects - we think prices have shot up recently - I reckon that's just a taster. Once this lot get the monopoly that they're slowly edging closer to, we're buggered.

FollowupID: 555194

Reply By: madfisher - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 20:13

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 20:13
I would rather shop at Aldi , save at lest $50.00 and buy quality fuel at BP and spend an extra $4.00
AnswerID: 289872

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 20:26

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 20:26
Pete
Like tour comment....BP, I get so much more from a tank of BP than a tank of Woolies.

FollowupID: 555199

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 20:24

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 20:24
Your being fleeced again

Qld Fuel Prices Today

AnswerID: 289874

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 21:33

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 21:33
As diesel is the cheapest fuel to produce( straight distillation of crude), I feel that all diesel users are being fleeced.
The other option is that the price of diesel is artificially inflated to subsidise petrol discounting without harming the profit margin.
FollowupID: 555215

Follow Up By: Member - Davidp P (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:27

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 23:27
I understand Tapis crude Singapore spot price is what we are locked into. The biggest problem is that that price is higher because the asian use diesel like Oz uses petrol ie greater demand = higher price. There might be a slight turn around when most Oz vehicles turn to diesel (surely just a matter of time) then there will be greater competition at the retail level in the same way there is in petrol now ......cheers silverback
FollowupID: 555254

Reply By: Old Johno [NSW] - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 20:45

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 20:45
Have recently been buying diesel at the best available and then going to IGA (Independent Grocers) and getting my 4cents a litre discount.
AnswerID: 289883

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 22:56

Thursday, Feb 28, 2008 at 22:56
Our IGA works the other way round. Buy $25 groceries and get a '4 cents off' fuel voucher valid at two local servos. Independents are trying to fight back against the Coles and Woollies monoliths.

FollowupID: 555242