You have to be patient when buying spare parts these days!!.

Submitted: Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:03
ThreadID: 55409 Views:2770 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
Went into a Auto one spares shop today to grab some filters It went like this.

ME, " G/Day mate, i would like a oil and fuel filter for a 96 landrover Defender."

Him. Brings it up on the computer, goes out the back and returns with a filter thats nothing like it. (The oil filter).

Me, Very polite and calm, " AH !, this is not right mate to small!"

Him. Thats the part no!!, thats the filter!, there"s the number on the side.!

Me. Still calm Just!, "Its not the right one mate!! nothing like it"

Him with the chits, "Thats the number for a 96 Lancer"! spins the screen around,"Have a look"!!.

Me. with the chits, LANDROVER DEFENDER!!! OIL& FUEL

Him , OH!! we don't carry them!!.

Then proceeded to the next required item, a oil cap for the tappet cover on a toyota workmate ute 2000 model.

He handed me a cap which ithought looked about right only to get home and find it to bloody small.

You have to have the identical part in your hand, to compare! or do a full on check of all part nos Yourself! and ring before you go.

Reply By: FreeWheeler(Qld) - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:18

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:18
yep know where your coming from i had same bloody problem a couple of weeks ago with my ride on mower,but i was cunning 7 had the old parts in my hot big hand to compare with if i did not i would would have made an extra trip or two.
AnswerID: 291987

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:26

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:26
Yeh that is what happens.That is hy genuine is more often than not a good policy.
AnswerID: 291989

Reply By: The Parts Guy - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:26

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:26
Sometimes it costs more to shop at a Dealership, but it's worth the extra to get the right part first time. MMc
AnswerID: 291990

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:47

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:47
Yeh, right. Last time I got some oil filters for my Nissan, they also sold me a new washer for my drain plug (several dollars). Got home, and yes, it was the wrong one.
Too much trouble to take it back and bitch.
Gerry
FollowupID: 557327

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 21:13

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 21:13
Joc45, Its Amazing, it was just normal to receive a filter with a drain plug washer taped to the bottom, of it . Things Change no matter how incidental. ..lol.
FollowupID: 557343

Follow Up By: Krakka - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 22:15

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 22:15
Do you normally pay for things you didn't ask for? Only yourself to blame. Didn't mean to sound harsh, but you have to check everything you buy these days.
FollowupID: 557364

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 23:35

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 23:35
I'm sticking with mostly genuine parts now. As well as getting the right stuff most of the time, Both Nissan and Toyota give me a discount, so the prices are close to if not better than the overinflated prices that Repco and Supercheap sell at. Seems to me that the aftermarket parts shops are inflating prices to support their 20% off sales.

The local Don Kyatt shop is an exception - most parts look to be as good as factory and the guys behind the counter know the 4wds.
FollowupID: 557388

Follow Up By: Moose - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 12:47

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 12:47
Phil G is on the money - Don Kyatt (or Sunshine State 4WD for Brisbanites) is the place to get your Toyota spares/parts.
Also good for recovery gear, air compressors etc.
Usual disclaimer re no affiliation etc - just a happy customer.
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 557440

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 13:27

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 13:27
Hi Krakka,
Yes, you're right, I shouldn't have been talked into buying that washer. I normally skimp on things like that and re-use the old one, but given that they say always change the washer at each oil change, I felt guilty and bought it, despite the outrageous price. It looked like the right thing; ie, it was round and copper-looking, but as one can't check the thread of the drain plug till it's out of the vehicle and the oil's dumped, I stupidly assumed it was ok.
Wiser next time....
cheers, Gerry
FollowupID: 557447

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 22:03

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 22:03
Gerry,

Keep the receipt and washer and try to return it next time you go back there if the price was outrageous, worth a try

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 557559

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:48

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:48
I'm currently working at Mobil Jabiru, until the season starts.

When ordering part's from Darwin as we are 250 km away, we supply the approval #, cat #, DOM, Vin #, Engine #, Rego #, Model and even speedo, Guess what, 75% of the time it's wrong.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 291995

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:52

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:52
HAHAHA !, Somehow i believe that Steve!.

FollowupID: 557331

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 21:11

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 21:11

I guess you can suffer in silence like the rest of the silent majority or send a sternly worded email/letter to the vehicle maker telling them in no uncertain terms just what you think of the manner that this particular dealer conducts his business. You never know it might just provoke a reaction.

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 557342

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 22:05

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 22:05
Living remote per say it is wise to not offend in regards to this problem.

But when the boss says, or you tell the boss it's the wrong part, It's hard not to think back to a line in Len Beadel's book.

The litte lady told me she didn't have the part but could have it flown in this afternoon form Sydney.

This was in 1953 in Alice Springs approx 8am, yet in Jabiru we have to order a part by 9am to have the wrong one sent by lunch the next day. LOL.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 557361

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 22:18

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 22:18
Have a lot of luck with Kyatts in Darwin Steve...Go out of there way to help and even parts they dont stock will chase down for you here or interstate..Keith...

FollowupID: 557366

Reply By: obee - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:52

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 20:52
Sales staff are not trained properly cos they dont hang around long enough. They dont hand around long enough cos they dont get paid enough. I avoid a well known hardware now and pay a small fraction extra cos the owner operators know where everything is and what it is used for. My local is lots closer too and they dont stand at the door giving people the bits smiling and knowing nothing.

They closed a till the last time I was at the big shop (anyway when did shops start getting called stores?) because an ungrateful customer wanted to argue about the price. Big queue one till left and I dropped everthing and went home to recover.

Gotta laugh

Owen
AnswerID: 291998

Reply By: Member - Douglas M (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 00:20

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 00:20
Hi Axle,
I live in Millicent SA and we have the best parts bloke on the planet here. Carries a large stock of spares (not supercrap junk}, if it's not in stock double checks everything and always searches for the best price. Order in the morning and it is here in the afternoon. He is an ex dealer/motor mechanic and is a fountain of knowledge. I am going to cry when he retires.
Doug
AnswerID: 292038

Reply By: landed eagle - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 08:08

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 08:08
You can usually bet that if the person behind the counter is under 25,he/she is already looking for another job. I always look for the older persons in a shop these days. Experience beats bull$hit every time.
AnswerID: 292046

Reply By: Member - Lost Dog(WA) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 20:46

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 20:46
Try these blokes for filters. They are in WA but ship interstate as well. Owners name is Roy. Cheap and he knows his stuff. There is also a cross-reference search on the site for most filters. No affiliation. Buy all my filters and oil from here.
Filters Plus WA
AnswerID: 292179

Reply By: Member - Derek L (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 23:36

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 23:36
At least it was open I was giving the work ute a birthday on sunday so I thought I would go down to Auto 1 to get some new floor mats and wipers and stuff and they were closed a Sunday of all days, fellas everywhere are messing around doing things to their rigs and there are closed. Must make too much money during the week.
AnswerID: 292232