Sunrise show tomorrow - ban 4WDs

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 08:55
ThreadID: 55418 Views:2464 Replies:12 FollowUps:3
I heard this morning that Sunrise show tomorrow will be asking for comments on banning 4WDs from the city. The show is not live to Qld due to daylight savings so any comments from here would miss out by an hour. I hope forumites in NSW and Vic will put our case to the show via email and SMS depending on what their spin actually is.

Mike.

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 09:36

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 09:36
Superfical attention to non-topics is hardly worthy of our attention..... least of all on breakfast TV :-o) ..... I did watch it once... honest..... they are nice people but its hardly a news platform.
AnswerID: 292058

Reply By: 3.0turbob - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 09:36

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 09:36
These shows (including TT, ACA) rely on ratings.Thats all. This issue has been done to death in all the media and gets people on all sides of the fence fired up. They know it is a hot topic and people will watch it to see what happens.

Rob
AnswerID: 292059

Reply By: obee - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 10:01

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 10:01
spam tv

owen
AnswerID: 292064

Reply By: Zapper - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 10:40

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 10:40
They should ask for comments about who is sick to death of Koshi, that guy is so annoying I wont be watching it again till he goes
AnswerID: 292069

Reply By: Smudger - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 11:20

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 11:20
Unfortunately these types of shows do have a significant influence on the policy makers. Ignoing these debates and saying nothing simply lets the vocal minority be heard louder, and pollies react to the majoriy view, especially when they reckon there's a vote in it.

Sensibly, 4WD's can not be banned from the Cities, that would put a very large mob of voters off-side an cost too many votes. (Just look at registrations, 4WD's are possibly the single largest sing sub-group of vehicles on the road. We deserve to be heard.) However, other concepts might get some oxygen from these type of debates, like higher tolls for 4WD's etc.

It also gets another wave of 4WD-rage going on the road, which I for one am getting pretty bloody fed up with. Those flamin' Scroobyites in their 'correct' cars cutting me off, deliberately slowing down in front of me then speeding up when I attempt to go around them. Dangerous drivers with pea-size brains.

Whenever you get the chance, you should have your say. Let the bastards know we're out here and getting angry about being villified because of the type of vehicle we choose to drive.
AnswerID: 292071

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 16:23

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 16:23
The NSW Govt is too stupid to work out how to ban 4WDs from the city.

London wante dto reduce congestion in the city, so they enforced a Congestion charge on traffic going into the city. The NSW Govt also needed to reduce congestion in the city, so they charged an exhorbitant toll for the CrossCity Tunnel bypass. Then they were totally amazed, when people refused to use the Tunnel - despite Taxpayers money being used to REDUCE existing traffic capacity on existing roads.
FollowupID: 557469

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 23:31

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 23:31
Smudger has hit it on the head.

If they throw enough bleep , eventually it will stick... So not worth ignoring.
FollowupID: 557599

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 00:42

Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 00:42
Hiya Smudge

You said:

***It also gets another wave of 4WD-rage going on the road, which I for one am getting pretty bloody fed up with. Those flamin' Scroobyites in their 'correct' cars cutting me off, deliberately slowing down in front of me then speeding up when I attempt to go around them. Dangerous drivers with pea-size brains.***

As a newbie to the 4wd scene i thought it was just me with the above issue,I said a couple of time's to the girlfriend,i reckon that idiot has sped up while passing...Yet i never did that while driving my Berlina..Guess thats how its gonna be !

FollowupID: 557604

Reply By: madcow - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 13:23

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 13:23
there goes the rav 4's and all of the soft roaders. They are all 4wd's
AnswerID: 292086

Reply By: Hairs - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 13:54

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 13:54
It's starting to put a whole new spin on the saying, "Lets go 4wd bashing"
Sick to death of it. I don't discriminate against people that drive small buzz boxes, rice burners, smarties on wheels or what ever you would like to call them :-) I just don't associate with people that drive these type of cars. ;-) it's embarrassing.
AnswerID: 292092

Reply By: Robnicko - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 14:25

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 14:25
here we go again
AnswerID: 292097

Reply By: BMKal - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 16:17

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 16:17
I think that anyone who even watches this type of show really needs to get a life.

They're targetted at bored housewifes and dole bludgers - who else would seriously watch this irrelevant crap.

I've got better things to do than watch this crap even if I'm not working at the moment, and I sure as hell wouldn't waste my time in contributing towards their petty sensationalism.
AnswerID: 292109

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 16:27

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 16:27
Can you imagine the pressure on the Government from the gentry when their Rangerovers and BMW X5s are going to be prevented from driving where they want to !

It's as likely to happen as banning people with a basic Drivers Licence from driving a semitrailer equivalent - a car towing a huge caravan.
AnswerID: 292111

Reply By: Member - kevin Y (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 17:18

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 17:18
another one of the ban everything topics ,what a waste of time but will get those silly b's agreeing
AnswerID: 292121

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 11:48

Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 11:48
so... what happened??
Another phone poll while at it
AnswerID: 292295