Iridium Sat phone plans

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 10:04
ThreadID: 55420 Views:3885 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
G'day, looking to change from G* to Iridium, has anybody got a good plan to be on and with whom? Thanks in advance. John

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 13:14

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 13:14
John, I presume that you've checked the archives and do a Google on this ? Satellite phone calls are MUCH more expensive than Next G ones.
Normally they are only used when you're away from normal phone coverage, because of the charges.
There are plenty of Iridium service suppliers out there, but there are two main ways to go.
1) Telstra...they have various plans including $30 a month + calls.
2) Buy pre paid satellite phone cards (A LOT more expensive than normal phone cards)
It is also possible to use a Telstra sim card in an Iridium phone, but the charges are once again quite high.
Good luck with it
Footy
AnswerID: 292085

Follow Up By: Member - John - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 13:19

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 13:19
Footy, thanks for that, G* is Global Star, not next G etc. Yes, I have searched the archives, was looking for upto date info. John

FollowupID: 557445

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 13:24

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 13:24
Oopsies, sorry mate.
Irridium is the more reliable option, although more exe.
I'd look at the Telstra plans, or perhaps the prepaid option.
If only for an emergency, the Telstra sim card option might be a goer.
FollowupID: 557446

Reply By: Krakka - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 15:29

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 15:29
TRTelecom in melbourne have the best deal I have found.
Krakka
AnswerID: 292100

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 16:09

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 16:09
If you only need to make occasional voice calls, then plug your Telstra SIMcard into a Motorola 9500/9505 phone.

ZERO monthly additional cost.

Phone calls are more expensive than on a monthly satellite contract, but SMS calls are still reasonable.
AnswerID: 292106

Follow Up By: Member - John R (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 18:39

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 18:39
Hi Mike
Presumably not just any Telstra SIM card though? Do you need to be on a post-paid plan?
FollowupID: 557488

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 18:57

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 18:57
The SIMcard has to have International Roaming enabled, which can't be done on a Prepaid.
FollowupID: 557491

Follow Up By: Member - John R (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 20:03

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 20:03
Just did a search on the Telstra site, and saw that international roaming is available on pre-paid now, so maybe any SIM would do? Have to go in and ask. Otherwise it looks like a $10/month plan would do.
Cheers, John
FollowupID: 557509

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 20:51

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 20:51
No good asking Telstra The answer will be "Well it might but we wont guarantee it will"

It will and heaps of people have said so on here and other forums. However a standard sim card only works in a 9505. The 9500 uses a credit card sized one so buy a Vodafone $2 starter pack throw tha sim away and tape your Telstra one in and away u go.

The 9505 and the 9505A are the same except I believe the A has encryption fotr the US military available on it
FollowupID: 557531

Reply By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 18:37

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 18:37
Hi John,
I went with ASTA for a 2 month contract while I was away over December.
They were extremely helpful.
www.asta.net.au
AnswerID: 292140

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 19:03

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 19:03
Can I ask what they charged you for you're calls and service charge?

FollowupID: 557492

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 19:44

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 19:44
I paid $162 for 2 months airtime and the sim card/setup (or whatever they do to get things working), and I made 2 calls which cost me $7.22 in total
FollowupID: 557499

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 00:46

Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 00:46
Ah ok you hired the phone, I was thinking you had a service contract with them and wondered how it may have compared $$ wise to Telstra etc.
Thanks for the reply it may be useful to others anyway.

FollowupID: 557605

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 07:57

Wednesday, Mar 12, 2008 at 07:57
I didn't hire the phone; I have my own.
I rented 2 months airtime from ASTA....
FollowupID: 557618

Reply By: TrevorDavid- Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 21:03

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2008 at 21:03
John, I am on $50 a month - $20 free calls =$30 a month, calls $1 a minute. Emergency calls 000 on any phones are free.

TDB
dontyajustluvit

AnswerID: 292187