$156.5 in metro Adelaide

Submitted: Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 06:26
ThreadID: 55527 Views:2737 Replies:26 FollowUps:22
Diesel this morning at Salisbury East Shell. That's about our limit i reckon. Once we come off our fixed rate interest rate lock in on our home loan it almost certain the Patrol will be making way for a small 4cyl sedan. Not happy but for some reason the family still want to eat????

Reply By: Smudger - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 07:17

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 07:17
Check the Fuel Watch page above ..
Smithfield ..East Side Main North Rd BP Diesel $1.479
Possibly cheapest in Australia.
AnswerID: 292606

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 16:52

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 16:52
ROFL, cheapest in Australia?.....i think not by a long shot.

FollowupID: 558192

Reply By: Ron173 - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 07:45

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 07:45
Highest I ever saw was in Carrol near Gunnedah lately, $163.5!!
AnswerID: 292613

Reply By: madcow - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:00

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:00
Put some in yesterday at $1.45.7 at Albury, $1.46.5 here in wodonga at the moment.
AnswerID: 292615

Follow Up By: madcow - Monday, Mar 17, 2008 at 07:14

Monday, Mar 17, 2008 at 07:14
Now $1.54.5. Nice bloody nice. I just cannot justify the huge difference between the two entities.
FollowupID: 558677

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:12

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:12
Brew, I know what you mean mate....... that's one of the reasons why I bought the old commodore to run around town in (although not all that much more frugal than the Chevvy).

Maybe you could look at getting a cheap run-about for town and keep the Patrol for longer trips..... It'd be a shame to have to forego the little pleasures in life (like camping etc)........

But we'll have to get used to it. Try to imagine how you'll be when it hits $2- or even $3- a litre!!!!! OUCH
AnswerID: 292617

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:19

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:19
And who is to blame ?? certainly not the banks ?? lol.
FollowupID: 558085

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 18:38

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 18:38
Youll have to kick the spiders outa your camper if you keep woosing out on camping trips at the rate you currently are!

"Castles Beautiful one day Perfect the next" LOL

Hope you get them out B4 easter?

CHeers Pesty
FollowupID: 558211

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 18:58

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 18:58
We had it out last weekend for a VIP visitor to use o'night.

He came across here cos the bloke he was gunna call in to see at Blyth wasn't home....... when he got here he was cursing about the railway crossing; you know, the one with the STOP sign? He saw from a distance that there was no train, so he didn't slow down from his cruising speed of 130 to 140!!!! OUCH x 100000..... hahahahahaha You know what the western side of that level crossing is like!!!!!!!!!! However, his cheepney managed to survive.

Easter trip to Little Desert should be a go (hopefully)....but not sure about the Buckleboo Stock Route trip on the Anzac weekend yet. Diesel prices are starting to make me think twice before commiting to trips too.
FollowupID: 558214

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 15:29

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 15:29
"Try to imagine how you'll be when it hits $2- or even $3- a litre!!!!! OUCH "

I will give up on this hobby if it hits those prices.. $170 to fill up now and not really get that many klms...

Fly drive holidays will become much more appealing. IF they arent already.
FollowupID: 558990

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:54

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 08:54
Fuel price seems to get to us out of proportion. I've had the same heart attacks too about fuel price.

Reality check - 10000 km trip at 20l/100km (towing) @ $3 a litre would be $6000. This is for all persons in the vehicle and 20l/100km is fairly heavy towing.

Compared to other holidays packaged as per person without choice of where or when you go or stop and suddenly maybe the lifestyle is worth the cost.

But I must admit in the future the number of trips might reduce and go to the most distant places first to reduce fuel.
AnswerID: 292630

Reply By: disco driver - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:59

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 09:59
That price is definitely not a friday funnie, but it's what I've been paying in SW of WA for a couple of weeks so far.

Never mind!

Kevin07 will fix it, coz he said he could!!!

That's why he was voted in, ............wasn't it???

Disco.
AnswerID: 292636

Follow Up By: mfewster - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:09

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:09
Nope, Kev didn't say that. But while we are on the subject, we could ask what the previous mob did to establish an alternative fuel infrastructure with all the fuel tax they creamed off. Why for example was nothing done to encourage the sort of plants coming onstream in other parts of the world to convert natural gas to diesel, using cobalt. Oz has some of the best natural gas and cobalt sources in the world. What have we done with them over the last decade? Sold them off on long term contracts overseas. Remember the howls from the previous Federal government when the WA premier tried to keep natural gas for long term local use rather than committing it overseas?
FollowupID: 558126

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:03

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:03
It's no consolation Brew but I think you're not alone in that the number of people 4x4ing in the Vic High Country this year has almost halved going by the few I've seen up there.
Another 20 to 30 cents per litre in the next year or two could very well see a big change in those able to afford even short trips let alone tour out Central Oz. 4 wheel drive based camping has never been a real cheap holiday option and increased fuel prices is certainly highlighting this at the moment.
Cheers Craig..............
AnswerID: 292638

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:22

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:22
Just think about the economic impact and its effect on those small country and outback towns in the future with the diminished number of travelers. Not gunna be good. :-((

FollowupID: 558148

Reply By: warfer69 - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:05

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 10:05
Hiya Brew

yes i'm afraid you have to do what you have to do and its its gonna hit the bleep e sooner rather than later,you either have money or you dont,the people with money seem to keep spending which does not help the have nots..

Being a newbie to the Diesel scene i always thought it was dearer than Petrol by at least 5-10 cents..

Now i notice it mostly cheaper or on par,occasionally i'll see it a cent dearer !

The radius of servo's would only be 15 km's at the most for the above changes..

AnswerID: 292639

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:13

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:13
i filled up today at BP, south rd and Torrens rd. $146.9, took a 100LT and it hurt but thought better to fill this week than next.
AnswerID: 292653

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:36

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 11:36
Bugger about the car!
But I wish our fuel prices come down to yours?

AnswerID: 292656

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 13:26

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 13:26
Right on Hairy!
What are these guys whinging about! :)
FollowupID: 558164

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 12:26

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 12:26
You know, I can remember the time when you put $20 worth of diesel in the tank by putting the nozzle in and then pulling the lever...if you weren't careful you'd get fuel everywhere.
Now you put it in, pull the trigger and .....it spits once !!!!

What, exactly have we done with all the tax money raised at the pump ?
AnswerID: 292658

Follow Up By: mfewster - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 12:52

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 12:52
What we did was give tax cuts to personal tax and through big offsets to the superannuation industry, especially for the wealthy. People voted for tax cuts rather than a government that invested in infrastructure. We left infrastructure to private enterprise who only put the $ where they can see a profit for themselves. So telecom to the bush missed out. Highways became tollways. The government school system has been run down. We are playing urgent catch up on water and power. Etc.
FollowupID: 558159

Follow Up By: Member - kevin Y (SA) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 18:14

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 18:14
lmao yeah
FollowupID: 558208

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 14:01

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 14:01
paying $1.50+ in Nowra for Diesel...once our fixed mortgage ends we will sky rock a bit too, but no way am i gunna give the car up...its cheaper running that than my sisters commy!
AnswerID: 292665

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 15:18

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 15:18
There will be some very cheap big cars on the market soon, a few year old Jaguar just out of lease maybe !!! Yummy!!!!

FollowupID: 558184

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 17:30

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 17:30
Maybe not Michael,

I can get 9lt per 100km from my XJ 3.2V8, provided I am 'gentle'
with the go pedal.

With retirement imminent I will probably keep this as a car
for town trips.....

Michael
FollowupID: 558198

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 15:16

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 15:16
Brew!! Soon the Salvation Army will see reason and allow families of large 4x4's to have a free weekly food parcel due to the high cost associated with running their vehicles!!!! :)

AnswerID: 292670

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 15:42

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 15:42
G,day Brew,

I paid $1.509 at the Mobil behind Holdens the other day. I was spewing as I put in $100 and only got about 75 litres. I only drive the Nissan when I really have to now, I drive swmbo's 4 cylinder Honda when ever I can

Hope you can work around the fuel prices as it would be a real shame to get rid of it.

Keep your chin up mate

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 292674

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 16:22

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 16:22

I paid a $1-37 a litre on the Gold Coast and with a shopper docket it
was $1-33 per litre. same price as ULP.

Daza.
FollowupID: 558189

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 16:53

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 16:53
Ah, Queensland...beautiful one day, cheap fuel the next ;-)

AnswerID: 292685

Reply By: Member - beachbum - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 17:15

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 17:15
Filled up in Rockhampton just after lunch and diesel fuel at the North side Woolworth's was $1.42.5 minus the four cent fuel offer we are currently getting. Unleaded was $1.34.5 after the discount. Thank heaven for the State funded fuel subsidy.
AnswerID: 292688

Reply By: FreeWheeler(Qld) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 18:01

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 18:01
Diesel at Shell Yatala M1 Hwy $1.46.9 so where is the subsidy in Qld.Bleep!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 292693

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 18:33

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 18:33
Hi Mate,

About time you city slickers started paying real fuel prices, we are always 5 to 10 c dearer in the rural areas, but didnt look today to give you a comparison.
Then we pay more for everything else too, as freight charges that use fuel go up and up and up.
Then we have to drive to everything and everywhere, and a trip down the street for us is mile after mile after mile, not around the corner.
The rumour is that fuel will be $3 in 2-3 years.
Think any idiot could have predicted that.
Hard to work out when tendering for 5 year contracts.

Just a shot at an earlier post, about the previous Govt and what have they done with fuel tax dollars?
The same as the previous govt to them and the same as Kevin Fudd is going to do with this Govt, Jam it into their pockets to help feed the wastage, not spend it on roads, infrastructure and other things to help Mr and Mrs average.
Hope you can afford the trip to Mexico this easter mate, cya there.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 292702

Follow Up By: Smudger - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 23:11

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 23:11
Ya live in paradise, ya pay the price!

You're welcome to trade your peak hour with ours (Sydney). I'm 30 kms from the CBD and it takes me 1 hour 20 mins minutes to get there on an average day. If the driver in front of me had curry the night before and causes a hickup on the road, it can take over 2 hours.

Don't worry Pesty ..us Slickers pay the price too!
FollowupID: 558303

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 11:36

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 11:36
The rumour (media generated) also went around that fuel would be $2/L by christmas last year (or the year before) and that didn't eventuate.......whilst prices have/will gone up, why would prices double over such a short time for no obvious reason?

FollowupID: 558347

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 13:29

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 13:29
Actualy I spend alot more on fuel now i am in the city than i did in the country
- WHAT? you say
yep things are alot further away in the city. For day to day living evrerthing except the deli is a car trip away and it takes as long to drive to midland as it used to take to drive to the next town.
in the country i either walked ran or rode my bike and when i needed the car it was only a short drive.
Going away didnt involve a 50k drive before i was on the edge of town.
it was certainly alot cheper for me to live in the country
FollowupID: 558367

Reply By: TD100 - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:27

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 21:27
Hey Brew,

i filled my sub and half my main 2 days ago and it was only 145 ltrs but it was $221!!!cheeeeeesshh.i am actually thinking of using it as the shopping trolley as its cheaper to run than our V6 adventra wagon(its a 100s TD)but as you say even metro prices are skyrocketting(it was about $1.52 ltr in melbourne BP)cheers Paul
AnswerID: 292735

Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 22:39

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 22:39
Been $1.55 in Kimba for couple of weeks
AnswerID: 292759

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 23:23

Friday, Mar 14, 2008 at 23:23
For the last few months I have put in $50.00 worth each time I have gone to the servo, and the price hasn't varied at all.

What are you lot on about rising costs of fuel ??????

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 292767

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 11:18

Saturday, Mar 15, 2008 at 11:18
LOL...funny
FollowupID: 558344

Reply By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 08:20

Sunday, Mar 16, 2008 at 08:20
The price of fuel is a worry. Many people are now travelling overseas instead of looking around the best country in the world.
Fuel oil is now $110 a barrel or 22 cents a litre for the company that spends money on exploration and production. I understand that the greater charges are now levied by the Government by way of excise and of course, the wonderful revenue raiser GST.
By reducing the rate of excise the cost of fuel would become more reasonable.
Being a pensioner I find that the cost of fuel prohibative. I now stay at home and not travelling three months of the year.
AnswerID: 292874

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 17, 2008 at 15:06

Monday, Mar 17, 2008 at 15:06
I think everything you say is valid.. And its not just pensioners that are stuck at home.

Young home owners, how they do it with interest rates rising, rediculous costs of insurance and everything else...

People with young kids, single wages, we would all like to be equal and see some of the country before its
- too costly
- locked up and shut.
FollowupID: 558744

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Mar 17, 2008 at 16:12

Monday, Mar 17, 2008 at 16:12
Same place $158.9 today lol. $2 by May at this rate.
AnswerID: 293133

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 14:47

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 14:47
$1.59.9 at Shell Maroondah Hwy and Springy Road today.

$2.00 by May?? EASILY

What is scarey - $3.00 - $4.00 by Xmas at this rate?

Might be time to genuinely think bout getting out of 4wding if this keeps up. Nobody will be able to afford to leave home.
AnswerID: 293344

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 15:27

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 15:27
How many of you prophets of doom & gloom would be prepared to cut your average speed by say, 10 kph?

If I drop 10 kph, economy increases by nearly 10% .... do the maths!

I'll stand back now & watch the flak ..... everytime reducing speed is mentioned here, it incurs the wrath of the rednecks.
AnswerID: 293355

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 15:50

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 15:50
I'll drive to work at 40kph how in peak hour, it still aint economical.

Eric, Find me a Daewoo Matiz.
FollowupID: 558994

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 15:33

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 15:33
Adapt and move on.

AnswerID: 293356

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 15:54

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 15:54
For how long should we just "adapt" and continue to be raped? Why not just make it $10 a ltr now, and lets just "adapt"..

What when there is no money left for food? I've adapted to allow me to drive to work, what then?
FollowupID: 558995

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 16:15

Tuesday, Mar 18, 2008 at 16:15
Truckie,

LOL here's some more to cheer you up

More pressure on fuel prices

Do you seriously think the price of fuel will ever go down appreciably for any length of time? Wake up blokes, you're carrying on like a bunch of schoolgirls.

As time goes on people will have to make lifestyle changes, get over it.

FollowupID: 558999