Air presure for camper trailer

Submitted: Friday, Jun 20, 2003 at 15:16
ThreadID: 5559 Views:2696 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
I am new to camper trailers and am intersted in knowing what pressure other people run in the their trailer tyres.

My camper is around 900 - 1000kg loaded and the tyres are 265/75/16 Dunlop Grand Treks. I know these things are usually trial and error however a starting point would handy.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Friday, Jun 20, 2003 at 15:21

Friday, Jun 20, 2003 at 15:21
Hi Kevin,

Our load and tyre specs are much the same as yours except we run Coopers. Rims and tyres same on car and trailer. We run with much the same tyre pressure between car and trailer. If we lower pressure on the car, we generally do the same for the trailer and vice cersa.

:o) MelissaPetrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
AnswerID: 23067

Follow Up By: Kevin - Friday, Jun 20, 2003 at 15:28

Friday, Jun 20, 2003 at 15:28
Hello Melissa,

I run 285/75/16 Cooper STT on my Gu and usually run on the bitumen with them around 36PSI I figured that the load on the axle of the camper trailer was around 20% less, so run with 20% less in the trailer tyres which is around 29 PSI and at this satge it seems to stop the trailer jumping around and shaking everthing to bits in it.
FollowupID: 15289

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Friday, Jun 20, 2003 at 15:40

Friday, Jun 20, 2003 at 15:40