"Central Australia's tourist capital is in crisis" - Alice

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 17:50
ThreadID: 55906 Views:3263 Replies:8 FollowUps:33
Noticed this article today.

Alice Springs 'world stabbing capital'

Planning a trip involving young families to and around Alice Springs in July. Anyone experienced any problems? Where to avoid?

thanks in anticipation, JD

Reply By: mfewster - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 17:56

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 17:56
As a visitor, you have few problems. If you read the article carefully you will find that it is mainly referring to issues between aboriginal people in the town camps and particularly to the indigenous payback justice system. The headline is very misleading, which is not to downplay the seriousness of the issues.
AnswerID: 294645

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:05

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:05
thanks mfewster
I did note bit about camps but dont know where they are in realtion to tourist destinations etc.

Apologies about link. Probably issue Doug T reported on the weekend.

Perhaps just copy this url:

www.news.com.au/story/0,23599,23429530-421,00.html

cheers JD
FollowupID: 560537

Follow Up By: mfewster - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:22

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:22
JDwynn. The camps are well out of the normal areas you are likely to be in as a visitor. SoloGirls comments are pretty accurate. Alice remains one of my favourite places. Go there. You will have a ball.
FollowupID: 560543

Reply By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:07

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:07
I live in Alice and my country of birth was mentioned in the articles so I'd like to reply.
Yes, we have a problem in Alice with drunk, stoned Aboriginal youths who bash each other up and sometimes innocent people get caught up in it. These innocent people make up a minor percentage of the incidents.However, they stab themselves and bash themselves primarily; not anyone else. That article dealt with Aboriginal statistics and we all know how you can make them appear negative. Myself and my daughter feel so very safe here compared to South Africa. You have no idea of just how bad it is over there.
General common sense must prevail in any country about where you go and the precautions you take. I still cannot get used to the idea of riding my bicycle around town and not being mugged and raped for my runners. There are no car guards you have to pay to watch over your car when you park it. I haven't heard a car alarm go off in over 6 months because I don't think they are used in Aus like in Africa. We can catch a public bus to and from school. It is clean and you arrive at your destination with all your appendages still attached to your body and your bag still on your shoulder.I camped out this weekend in a park with no security/perimeter fencing patrolled by armed guards and all I had to worry about was if I'd actually see the dingoes that were howling. My 4WD wasn't high-jacked at gun-point in said park.
So yes, we do have some problems, but in the great scheme of things it's far, far safer than where I'm from.
Plan your trip and visit us.
I'm not sorry for one second that I have landed here - other than being a scuba diver in the desert!
AnswerID: 294652

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:10

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:10
"other than being a scuba diver in the desert!"

That sand is murder on the flippers :)))

FollowupID: 560538

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:26

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:26
Thanks Sologirl, you have really put things in persective. It's starting to sound like the article was a bit overdone. Cheers JD
FollowupID: 560546

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:33

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:33
Gday Solo Girl,
South Africa is another country....
I dont think we should be comparing Austrailian towns with over sea,s places.
I went camping on the weekend too and there was no suicide bombers out there either, but that doesnt make the problems in Alice any more acceptable.
Face it the nice old country Town of Alice Springs is turning into a $hithole!
And Im another one who will be selling up soon and moveing on!

Hairy
FollowupID: 560551

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:38

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:38
Thanks for that post Solo Girl. It made me stop & think about just how much freedom we enjoy in this country.
Not having expiernced conditions that you refer to in Africa it is difficult for me to imagine having to live the way of life you refer to, just makes me appreciate a little more what we have on our door step.
We were in Alice for only a few days back in I think Sept. 06 & it coincided with your annual Regatta on the Todd. It was a fun day, with all sorts of water sports/competitions carried out on the sand, but did't see any Scuba Diving!! Maybe there is some scope for you there! Cheers.
FollowupID: 560553

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:38

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:38
Hiya Hairy,
I agree that comparing two different countries is tricky. I was trying to put things into perspective only based on how that journo clearly twisted stats to be sensationalistic.
I also don't for one second like what happens here and agree that more needs to be done to sort it out. What that is though is the million $ question...
FollowupID: 560554

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:09

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:09
Gday Sologirl,

Here would be a good start to a solution.
1. If a lot of the problem is drunken welfare dependant people, dont give them money for grog.
2. One rule for all no matter what colour or race.
3. Make Jail a place people dont want to go.
4. If your kids dont go to school, you dont get welfare money.

Hairy
FollowupID: 560564

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:24

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:24
Hairy for President!
I have to be diplomatic I suppose with not being an Aus citizen (yet) and having certain prejudices inherent with living in the country I did, but yes, I agree on all you've said.
FollowupID: 560571

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:30

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:30
Sologirl,
What type of work do you do?
FollowupID: 560573

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:38

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:38
I think its quite irresponsible to just hand over your brain to a journalist. Does anyone recall one or them doing a single story on your speciality/profession and feeing that was a fair, balanced and reasonable report/story?????.......silverback
FollowupID: 560578

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:49

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:49
I deal with the specific youth in question; I'm a high school teacher...
FollowupID: 560584

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:52

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:52
"I think its quite irresponsible to just hand over your brain to a journalist." Yep!..Did someone get a labotomy?????
FollowupID: 560587

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:55

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:55
Sologirl,
Ill MM you.

FollowupID: 560589

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:44

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:44
Sologirl, you're qualified to comment. My point is don't believe journos unless you have personal experience..no offence...just not bitter and twisted.......silverback
FollowupID: 560610

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 22:54

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 22:54
David, I'm not sure quite what your point is, but no worries as no offence was taken.
FollowupID: 560659

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 23:26

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 23:26
Had a mate that used to teach in port Augusta. While that sort of thing would demoralize some he took a different approach. he tried to make the kids want to be there even though they had no intrest in learning , give them paper and pens and get them to draw him motorbikes or kick the footy on the oval.
he reckoned for every kid that spent all day at school was a house not broken into or propery vandalized
FollowupID: 560664

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:27

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:27
jdwynn
Just make sure you take your suit....no problems

AnswerID: 294660

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:28

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:28
...and a can of WD40 for when the joints dry up!
FollowupID: 560547

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:30

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 18:30
LOL On'ya Doug. Reckon the kids will be a bit inhibited though. Can just see me climbing Uluru with that too............
FollowupID: 560548

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:12

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:12
Slow news day. Violence between transients is endemic. The ones roaming the streets of Kall weremostly in bad shape, crutches heads bandaged, missing legs etc
Anotherwas killed the other day. Its pretty comon but only gets press when its slow
AnswerID: 294674

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:48

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:48
Yeah jd......................

And don't you live in the worlds' Murder Capital????....LOL

Well documented that Adelaide has some REAL anti-social behaviour

AnswerID: 294691

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:01

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:01
Hey, come on Willem,
Give credit were credit is due
I think we have that too ( murders per capita) second to LA!!

FollowupID: 560591

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 23:46

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 23:46
No doubt Willem.....I guess every city has some stuff go'in on that no one is proud of. But that wont stop me 4 wheeling - an incident out bush though, well that wont help my cause.
cheers JD (hey isnt Snowtown closer to you than me LOL)
FollowupID: 560669

Reply By: Holden4th - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:51

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 19:51
I've stayed in the Alice a few times and felt quite safe in the place. Yes, the town camps are a disgrace but are confined to the far side of the Todd River and those who live there tend to hang out in their own 'watering holes' Anyone with half a brain can work out where to go and where not to. Yes, crime may seem a bit rampant but come up to the Gold Coast and see what crime is really like.

When I last passed through (May 2007) the big news was the Liberal Governments offer to the Town Camps and what was going to happen to the alcohol laws - dry areas in the Alice. I never discovered what the final outcome was.
AnswerID: 294692

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:21

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:21

Mate if you feel quite safe in Alice these days you didnt go out!
The camps are not confined to the far side of the river and never have been. The majority of the trouble comes from tenants in Territory Housing which are scattered throughout Alice.
And as for.. "Anyone with half a brain can work out where to go and where not to" obviously that means dont go to Alice...
New Dentist got bashed walking from the centre of the town to the Hospital!
Nurses get bashed in the hospital!
Ambos get bashed picking up injured people.
Mothers and Kids get spat on and bashed doing their shoping.
Youth gangs beating the crap out of people as they try to walk home.
Yes there is probably a lot of crime in the Gold coast, but we are not a City but a town of around 28000 people and your chances of avoiding trouble while living a normal life in Alice is very slim.

FollowupID: 560601

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 11:10

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 11:10
Hairy,

Is this just talk or have you the proof.

I've been involved in this type of work for years and there are always stories about this and that...ie; a mate of a mates brother got bashed and his wife told my sisters cousin... etc etc.

I never believe anything unless I know the person telling the original story.

FollowupID: 560707

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 20:02

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 20:02
Dunco,
I live here and have done for 20 Years....I love Alice, and would not be leaving if It was a good place to bring up my kids!
FollowupID: 560774

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 21:55

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 21:55
Didn't answer my question hairy.

I've lived in places that I didn't lie...but that is life

FollowupID: 560814

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 18:24

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 18:24
Dunco,
Like I said I love Alice!
And yes I do know first hand that these problems exist, I bloody live here!
Yes I have been in lots of bad circumstances including haveing over 100 kids attacking my home!

"Is this just talk or have you the proof."
What do you want? A head on a stick? You sound like a bloody politician " I know you saw him hit you , But can you prove it?"
You seem to know more about Alice Springs than I do so maybe Ill just take a back seat.
FollowupID: 560994

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:04

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:04
That is the proof I was after......and why do 100 kids attack your house ?

Probably because you gave them attitude like you gave me....who said I know more about Alice...where did I say that ?

You have issues old mate...grow up !

FollowupID: 561071

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 23:06

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 23:06
Dear Dunco,
Can we try this on a better note!

To answer your questions...
"and why do 100 kids attack your house ?

With out going into too much depth.....Because a party (21st)was broken up by the police , one street over, and I happen to live opposite an alley way and a bus stop were they decided to stop and destroy it. Being the house next to the bus stop was a good ABORIGINAL friend of mine, who was away , and I knew his Mrs was at home by herself with there kids I went over and asked them to move on. The rest is history!!!!!

as for the attitude I gave you..... I thought I replied with the same respect you gave me,.........I said I loved the place...you said
"I've lived in places that I didn't lie...but that is life"
Then you start quoteing me with "who said I know more about Alice...where did I say that ?"
You didnt but it bloody sounds like it to me.
and to finish off...
Quote :You have issues old mate...grow up !"

Now your trying to insult me
Maybe we might have to agree to disagree????

Peanut!!!

Ps.
Ive got relatives in NSW and last time I was there I saw a 4x4 nearly have an accident! I think they should ban Duncos driving 4x4's in NSW.......Trust me, I know $hit loads about NSW..

FollowupID: 561099

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 23:18

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 23:18
Good for you.....

FollowupID: 561104

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:23

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2008 at 20:23
Gady,
If you want , MM me and tell me a bit more about what you want to do and what type of people you are and Ill give you a few tips etc.

AnswerID: 294712

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 00:13

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 00:13
These comments just don't make any sense at all.

I was in Alice Springs a week ago.

Drove there and stayed with my brother.

Went 'downtown' and walked through around the shopping centre (Town centre) and never saw one stab, or a stabbing, nor did I get spat on, p i s s e d upon, abused etc etc or bashed for that matter.

I did however say good day to all and sundry to which they replied likewise. Also got around the 'burbs' , refuelled my vehicle and once again didn't experience any of above subject behaviour/s.

So I am thinking I must have been in another Alice Springs.

I will definitely be going back there next year to spend a heap of time there and around the vicinity of same.

AnswerID: 294770

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 00:41

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 00:41
you crazy old fool don't you know anything?

what is said on this forum is the TRUTH and only the truth, get it.

sorry this response does not make sense.. :-))
FollowupID: 560675

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 00:49

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 00:49
Oh! buggar.

How remiss of me to think otherwise.

Thank you Richard for showing me the pathway to enlightenment.

FollowupID: 560677

Follow Up By: slammin - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 10:38

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 10:38
I'll post my response here because I agree with Lucy and Richard.

It's one of those things about a forum board setup like this where the posts get's split up into follow ups is that there is no clear line of communication thru the thread as it gets split up. So anyway better not complain or I'll be told to nick off! LOL gotta love exploroz.

Alice until recently was our nearest town for 8 years so we spent every third or so weekend and plenty of weeks as well in town and sure it does have problems, no doubt about it. But we have never been sworn at, punched, spat on, slapped etc etc etc nor have any of our friends who live in town - so we don't think we are just lucky..... The violence is most often directed at family and friends, to suggest otherwise is ridiculous.

As to what can be done about it is a toughy as the issues are multi faceted. We aren't going to solve it here.

However if you are really concerned about what's going on do something about it! Moaning and exaggerating about it on a 4wd forum is bizarre. Alice has had these same problems since I 1st came in the early 90's and to a large extent since the dry town laws have been introduced it is much better than ever b4.

There is one thing I have learnt on forums is that nobody ever changes their opinions so flame me all you want but the truth is out there not in here.

Sam.

FollowupID: 560704

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 20:41

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 20:41
Gday Lucy,
I too have been to the shop without being bashed, or spat on.
So far this week there has been no brawls next to my house because the pay back was last week.
And over the weekend there was only seven reported broken windows at buisnesses and its the first time the speedway has been robbed for weeks.
Sounds like you have lived here for a while?
But tell the old people who are too scared to sit at the bus stops or walk their dogs or the kid last week who was punched out, sat on and cut with glass or a knife for $20.00.
How about Charilie, 60yr old who had his car burnt to the ground and the front of his unit set alight.
Then there was my neighbours car which had BLOODS (a gang) spray painted down the side of his car parked in front of his house.
Did I mention the rock through my solarhart or my mate down the roads stolen car or the kids who jump another mates fence and steal his smokes off the back table when he goes in for a beer.
These are all people I know and are just recent things....(except my solar, that was a coulpe of moths ago)
I know other towns have there problems but the amount that happens here is bloody ridiculous.
When it happens to you and your friends regularly you' ll understand what its like to live with.
Next time you come up give me a call and we'll go out for a beer at night and show you what its all about.

FollowupID: 560794