Dual Battery Management System Vs Manual 3-way Switch System

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 12:16
ThreadID: 55933 Views:5931 Replies:9 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Me again

I know there's a lotta views out there about this subject; but what's the Pro & Cons of a simple 3-way Switch (mostly fitted on boats I believe).
I know there's been a lot said about this subject & I've read most of it. It's the simplicity of the 3-way switch that attracts me. Let's say I THINK I wouldn't mind having to remember to "switch over & switch back" (big note staring me in the face!). In the most basic terms, how do cabin-mounted switches work in reality?
Treat me as a complete novice.

Thanks
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: pepper2 - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 12:42

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 12:42
I have had two popular electronic battery systems fail over the years,changed to a manual switch,so far works faultlessly.BTW if you wire the batteries in parallel and fit a cut out device on the fridge you may not NEED any switching at all as the batteries are never drained below the cut off voltage leaving heaps of energy to start vehicle.

Other advantage of batteries in parallel is longer life i have the original starting battery in my patrol from 2002 still going.

If you have electric winch this may not suit i have hydraulic winch.

In my view electronic isolators are un necessary others will give differing views.
AnswerID: 294806

Reply By: Jim from Best Off Road - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 13:05

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 13:05
If you have even a slightly suspect memory invest the $120 in a Redarc Isolator. Yes they can fail, but can be manually overidden so it is not a life and death issue. If they do fail, they still protect the start battery, you manually override it to charge the aux batt.