Suspension problems Nissan Patrol

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 20:41
ThreadID: 55952 Views:5641 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Hi guys,
I have a whole story I could write on slide on campers, and after I get mine approved, I will write for all to benefit from my efforts. Legal load and how it is attached and GVM is a subject all tradies and camper owners should research before adding a pay load to any vehicle.
Questions to the informed people, please.
1. Is there a air bag stronger than poly bags that can be fitted to
the new ST coil spring suspension Patrol? My previous 2005 leaf spring Navara had air bags fitted which I could pump up to 100 PSI if I needed. Poly bags only go to 30 PSI. I Know stronger springs are required. This is in the progress as I write.
2. I believe there is a problem with fitting stronger springs to the new Patrol. Where can I get the Top or mountings for the springs improved. I live in S.A. (Pay load Camper only 760 k)
Thanks Guys. After tonight not back on line to 30/03/08

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 20:45

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 20:45
I would suggest that you speak to John Burke at Specialised Vehicles

His website here

Very knowledgeable in GVM upgrades.

AnswerID: 294898

Follow Up By: Member - Colin P (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 22:03

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 22:03
Thanks guys.
I will try both suggestions.
Thanks for your interest and help.
Colin.
FollowupID: 560819

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 21:31

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 21:31
Have a chat to Peter Young at Alltrac, South Rd Mile End.
He's reinforced the towers on the rear of the Patrols, or at least knows where to get them done. He's also been through a GVM upgrade on his own 100series - got it through DOT Regency Park.
AnswerID: 294910

Follow Up By: Member - Colin P (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 22:01

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 22:01
Thanks Phil,
I will do so when I get back next week. Thank you.
Colin.
FollowupID: 560818

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 22:07

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 22:07
You can also tryChassistech at Brompton.. I believe they know the Patrol chassis issues too.
FollowupID: 560824

Follow Up By: Mick15 - Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 10:22

Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 10:22
A mate recently bought a brace that bolts to the spring towers under the tray of his 03, pretty sure it either came from ARB or TJM can't see it in the ARB book at the moment, probably wouldn't be hard to make.
I can find out more if you're interested.
FollowupID: 561398

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 14:51

Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 14:51
HI Phil.

I'm off to the GVD and OV on 7th... hopefully Tjuntjun too..

I assume his is the white 100 Series that sits out the front.

What GVM did he uprate his 100 series to?

Andrew.
FollowupID: 561423

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 19:54

Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 19:54
Gday Andrew,
Half your luck!! That will be a nice trip across the border. I haven't been there.

GVM was upgraded to around 3600+kg. But the suspension mods were extensive - not sure of the details but it was an IFS model and you can now raise and lower it etc with airbags.

What was your aluminium trailer like?

FollowupID: 561491

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 18:18

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 18:18
It has gone great – around 50,000km including a couple of Simpsons, a couple of Kimberleys and lots of other remote stuff...

I’m selling it though, so I can get a new one the same except a little bigger. It’s here: http://www.vividadventures.com.au/TrailerShow/ if you want to buy it ;-)

http://vividadventures.com.au/Trailer/

Sounds like I need to check out his mods for ideas on how to make a 200 do the hard stuff.
FollowupID: 561841

Reply By: Member - GRANT HID(NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 21:59

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 21:59
Hi colin,
I strengthened the tops on my st coil ute last week.I welded side plates on the chassis and ran 50x25x3mm rhs across from one side to the other with 25x25x3mm pieces underneath to allow for fuel pipes on drivers side,used same size on p/s to keep level.Doing this means you have to raise up the tray by 25mm (solid ally 70x50x25mm) for clearance.
Next step is to fit firestone air springs which you can inflate to 100 psi
then change shocks to edelbrock's to suit air springs.
Grant
AnswerID: 294918

Follow Up By: Member - Colin P (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 22:13

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 22:13
Thank you Grant. That is very informative. I will not be game to do this myself but if would like to run this past my local suspension guy. I hope you do not mind.
Thank you once again.
Colin.
FollowupID: 560828

Reply By: Member - GRANT HID(NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 22:17

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 22:17
Colin,
If you give me your email i will send a photo showing how it has been done.
Grant
AnswerID: 294922

Follow Up By: Member - GRANT HID(NSW) - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 18:47

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 18:47
Colin,Can you send me your email again please.
FollowupID: 561852

Reply By: stocky - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 22:26

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2008 at 22:26
I bought a leaf - coils too much trouble for me....

AnswerID: 294926

Reply By: socket - Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 22:02

Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 22:02
g,day, just abit of useless info for anybody thinking of fitting airbag suspension to there patrol tray back . madigan line . snapped swaybar . blown airbag . irrepairable .very slow trip to birdsville auto. sh coils fitted airbags removed . weak as bleep . stick to hd coils
AnswerID: 295489

Follow Up By: Member - GRANT HID(NSW) - Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 18:51

Monday, Mar 31, 2008 at 18:51
Hi socket,
What brand of air bags did you use and shocks.Did you strengthen the spring tops?
You have got me thinking if i am doing the right thing.
FollowupID: 561853

Reply By: Member - Colin P (SA) - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 09:57

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 09:57
Hi guys,
I have been away. Well to date my story goes, if a tray or slide on camper is put on the back of a vehicle it becomes a pay load. Once bolted to a vehicle it is your responsibility to use an engineered attaching device. If this is not done by an accredited engineer and the camper is found to have dislodged itself either in an accident of perhaps causing an accident then ones insurance company may say to you, "Too bad not engineered, not prepared to cover you." It would be difficult to argue the point with your insurance company that the brackets were strong enough, in you opinion, after the accident.This would be a sad situation if someone is hurt or killed. Apart from the tragedy, just think of your own achievements in life. Material possessions you may lose in court, if sued. I wonder if slide on camper manufacturers have their attaching devise approved by engineers or do they sell the product leaving that to the individual?
My GVM is being sorted out with an engineer and my local 4WD guys as I write. I will let you know or the results soon.
Thank you for your help.
Colin.
AnswerID: 296316