Fridges...who needs em

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 21:58
ThreadID: 55994 Views:4400 Replies:15 FollowUps:33
Well that shud cause a ruckus!!!
No, seriously, apart from cold beer, is there a way to get around this "apparent need" to have one? There must be a lot of old(?) bushies that have never needed one...not that they would knock back a coldie....maybe the gentler sex have a few ideas.....?
.....bring back the pressure lamp era, a more simple life..or shud I be put down.....silverback

Reply By: Member - David.M.C - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:06

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:06
Ive been thinking the same thing the last few days.
AnswerID: 295124

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:13

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:13
How about we start an ANTI STUFF club? A Post dedicated to a smarter/cheaper/simpler more sustainable way of enjoying the REAL good life.....sillverback
FollowupID: 561076

Follow Up By: Member - David.M.C - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:20

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:20
Lmao. Love it. Eliminate everything. just a swag and a wheelbarrow
FollowupID: 561081

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:34

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:34
come to think of it, I might get banned from this site, you know what I mean (wwnn)....silverback
FollowupID: 561091

Reply By: Member - Michael O (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:17

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:17
I travelled around Australia without one for 18 months in the late 80's.

But I went without cold beers.
Margarine and butter on sandwiches.
Tomatoes
Decent bread
Lettuce
Meat

Unless of course you could buy some in a town and use it that night...

But I never had a GPS or a UHF either.

I got by. But I tell you I would have killed for a fridge when it was 45 degrees in the Kimberley and 60 degress in the Subaru and all I had to drink was warm water......
AnswerID: 295129

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:23

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:23
road kill??????????? :))
FollowupID: 561083

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:22

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:22
Hi David

Most of our camping food stuff is already non-fridge anyway.

Our small fridge contains mostly non- necessary stuff like drinks as is.

AnswerID: 295131

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:24

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:24
non necessary? what say he? :))
FollowupID: 561085

Reply By: ChallengeLee - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:23

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:23
I've never felt the need for one, l have an esky for weekend trips and an 80litre icebox for longer trips.

I have family that have fridge/freezer combo's for their trips away but my ice box/esky still works just as well, just requires a little more forward planning for meals regarding food lasting and keeping fresh.

Is a little like how l feel about campertrailers, why have all the mod cons when you can have just as much comfort with a well set up camp and a good quality tent....ease of preparation and setup time is fine but for me thats half the fun of camping and getting away from it all.
AnswerID: 295133

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:26

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 22:26
EXACTLY I am just having an anti stuff rage!!!.....silverback
FollowupID: 561086

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 01:01

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 01:01
ChallengeLee, when you say 'that's half the fun', I couldn't agree more.

I get satisfaction from using a street directory and working out where I need to go and then remembering it. A GPS navigation system is just laziness. What next; buy a paper for the crosswords but use an electonic 'toy' that gives you the answers?

Back to camping; it is heading down the same path as our 'convenient' lifestyles. All this 'stuff' makes our lives easier, or gives us more time etc.

But realistically, we have to spend our spare time working so that we can afford all the mod cons.

And because we have so many toys/accessories/appliances etc we spend much of what little free time we have organizing warranty repairs, loan approvals, phone calls about account disputes or service issues, studying the instructions for the new toys, doing internet research before buying the latest gizmo; it's a wonder we get out there at all.....
FollowupID: 561111

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 14:39

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 14:39
Afer using eskies im well qualified to tell you the biggest advantage of a fridge is the lack of hassel and ease of use and less stuff.
Nomore stuffing about wit ice and soggy sausages swimming letuce etc.
eskies are better for keeping your fish and beer in but thats it
FollowupID: 561206

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 16:34

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 16:34
yea Davoe, I get the point, but my problem is that a 2dr wrangler means I have to be ruthless with my packing, or I have to tow a trailer.....silverback
FollowupID: 561223

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 23:06

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 23:06
Back in the 50's/60s when we use to travel the Nullarbor (Jan/Feb) we use to use Newspaper to keep things cool like the butter etc., we never carried fresh meat, our meals pretty much came out of cans.

We would wet a couple sheets of the paper and wrap that around the butter/ milk or whatever needed to be kept cold and then wrap dry sheets around the wet ones and it would keep cool all day.

We never had fridges back in those days!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh so loooong ago.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 295141

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 23:13

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 23:13
Ah! the coolgardie....and remember the old hessian water bottle hung off the front....but enough for now...we on this side of Gods playground need to assume the horizontal position or there is a strong chance of growing another wrinkle...so having throw the onion on a stick (rinse the blood off my toga)...I bid you ni ni....silverback
FollowupID: 561100

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 23:14

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 23:14
Ah! the coolgardie....and remember the old hessian water bottle hung off the front....but enough for now...we on this side of Gods playground need to assume the horizontal position or there is a strong chance of growing another wrinkle...so having throw the onion on a stick (rinse the blood off my toga)...I bid you ni ni....silverback
FollowupID: 561102

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 23:08

Thursday, Mar 27, 2008 at 23:08
Fridges are for those that own modern vehicle having features such as Electronic Stability Programs, Traction Control etc ;-)

It's just another optional luxury item....if you're pumping out 180 Amps through that alternator, you might as well plug something in and use it. :-)

AnswerID: 295142

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 00:13

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 00:13
Ah yes, the fridge....

Of course you can get by without one; on short trips an esky is ample.

Long or remote trips need menu adjustments like cured meat, tinned food, fruit and vege that last like apples, sweet potato etc. Dried food, especially beans, lentils etc. Include fishing in your itinerary :-)))

Another point is cost. Some may argue the convenience of a fridge. But it doesn't stop there, does it? You need some sort of auxiliary power supply, therefore the cost isn't a fridge only.

Then you wonder whether you wont be driving anywhere for three days or more and maybe I need three batteries, or two batteries and solar panels, or a generator (but that would mean I can't go to National Parks).

A fridge slide. Custom-built _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx to accommodate the fridge. A fail-safe electrical monitoring system so that if something goes wrong with your set-up you wont end up with a flat battery/fried electricals/warm beer LOL

Well, I know I've just put myself off the idea LOL
AnswerID: 295150

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 08:05

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 08:05
We may as well find a Cave to live in when we go away, take the
Horse & Cart, Kill every thing we see to eat, Nah I dont think so, if
you have it use it. we have worked bl**dy hard for it.

Daza
FollowupID: 561139

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 09:24

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 09:24
Some of us work bloody hard and still can't afford it! If I had a few grand spare I could either a) buy gear and then not be able to afford to go away and use that gear or, b) not buy gear and enjoy a low-tech holiday :-))

FollowupID: 561157

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 11:11

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 11:11
Hi Brian

I wasnt having having a go at you mate, I was just saying, why
make do with the bare necessities, when if you can afford it, use
modern safe equipment, we have roughed it plenty of times, and
enjoyed our selves, but now we are able to do it easier, you have
to enjoy life before you fall of the perch.

Daza
FollowupID: 561180

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 12:20

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 12:20
No worries, Daza. I agree with you. I was just pointing out the cost side of things, ie you don't just buy a fridge and plug it in; hence the endless posts on here about batteries, solar panels etc that may not even mention the word fridge but are generally due to owning one.

FollowupID: 561192

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 14:06

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 14:06
You can do it cheaper. We did:

Waeco CF50 second hand $350.
Two 40W solar panels, one free from a mate, one off ebay for $225
Two second hand 35AH gell cells from a gofer shop $20 each.
Solar regulator ebay $40
Sundry wire and bits and pieces from scrap box at home.

Total cost $655 for refirgeration still going stong after 4 years.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 561202

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 06:33

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 06:33
Hmmmm

After a number of breakages of electronic gear recently I want to agree BUT..................going on extended treks into remote country it is handy to have a fridge/freezer. Sure we could hunt for our supper but gun laws and other restrictions have stopped that. The old propectors with the wheelbarrows did it tough!

A talking GPS is a must when we country folk go to the Big Smoke. We have only had one for a few months and it has paid for itself in less stress finding places. GPS Mapping is essential when Off-Track or looking for a way out on a plain where there are 7 tracks going in all directions.

All the modern gear is here as a sign of the times. Turning back the clock to the age of the dinosaurs is futile. You might as well go back tp the 60's and buy a soft top Nissan Patrol G60 and enjoy the elements.....LOL

AnswerID: 295166

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 14:43

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 14:43
alot of the stuff advertised in the 4by mags is pure gadgettry but mixed in amongst them is some damn usefull stuff
FollowupID: 561208

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 08:21

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 08:21
that brings to mind......

FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
Aye, very passable, that, very passable bit of risotto.
SECOND YORKSHIREMAN:
Nothing like a good glass of Château de Chasselas, eh, Josiah?
THIRD YORKSHIREMAN:
You're right there, Obadiah.
FOURTH YORKSHIREMAN:
Who'd have thought thirty year ago we'd all be sittin' here drinking Château de Chasselas, eh?
FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
In them days we was glad to have the price of a cup o' tea.
SECOND YORKSHIREMAN:
A cup o' cold tea.
FOURTH YORKSHIREMAN:
Without milk or sugar.
THIRD YORKSHIREMAN:
Or tea.
FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
In a cracked cup, an' all.
FOURTH YORKSHIREMAN:
Oh, we never had a cup. We used to have to drink out of a rolled up newspaper.
SECOND YORKSHIREMAN:
The best we could manage was to suck on a piece of damp cloth.
THIRD YORKSHIREMAN:
But you know, we were happy in those days, though we were poor.
FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
Because we were poor. My old Dad used to say to me, "Money doesn't buy you happiness, son".
FOURTH YORKSHIREMAN:
Aye, 'e was right.
FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
Aye, 'e was.
FOURTH YORKSHIREMAN:
I was happier then and I had nothin'. We used to live in this tiny old house with great big holes in the roof.
SECOND YORKSHIREMAN:
House! You were lucky to live in a house! We used to live in one room, all twenty-six of us, no furniture, 'alf the floor was missing, and we were all 'uddled together in one corner for fear of falling.
THIRD YORKSHIREMAN:
Eh, you were lucky to have a room! We used to have to live in t' corridor!
FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
Oh, we used to dream of livin' in a corridor! Would ha' been a palace to us. We used to live in an old water tank on a rubbish tip. We got woke up every morning by having a load of rotting fish dumped all over us! House? Huh.
FOURTH YORKSHIREMAN:
Well, when I say 'house' it was only a hole in the ground covered by a sheet of tarpaulin, but it was a house to us.
SECOND YORKSHIREMAN:
We were evicted from our 'ole in the ground; we 'ad to go and live in a lake.
THIRD YORKSHIREMAN:
You were lucky to have a lake! There were a hundred and fifty of us living in t' shoebox in t' middle o' road.
FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
Cardboard box?
THIRD YORKSHIREMAN:
Aye.
FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
You were lucky. We lived for three months in a paper bag in a septic tank. We used to have to get up at six in the morning, clean the paper bag, eat a crust of stale bread, go to work down t' mill, fourteen hours a day, week-in week-out, for sixpence a week, and when we got home our Dad would thrash us to sleep wi' his belt.
SECOND YORKSHIREMAN:
Luxury. We used to have to get out of the lake at six o'clock in the morning, clean the lake, eat a handful of 'ot gravel, work twenty hour day at mill for tuppence a month, come home, and Dad would thrash us to sleep with a broken bottle, if we were lucky!
THIRD YORKSHIREMAN:
Well, of course, we had it tough. We used to 'ave to get up out of shoebox at twelve o'clock at night and lick road clean wit' tongue. We had two bits of cold gravel, worked twenty-four hours a day at mill for sixpence every four years, and when we got home our Dad would slice us in two wit' bread knife.
FOURTH YORKSHIREMAN:
Right. I had to get up in the morning at ten o'clock at night half an hour before I went to bed, drink a cup of sulphuric acid, work twenty-nine hours a day down mill, and pay mill owner for permission to come to work, and when we got home, our Dad and our mother would kill us and dance about on our graves singing Hallelujah.
FIRST YORKSHIREMAN:
And you try and tell the young people of today that ..... they won't believe you.
ALL:
They won't!
AnswerID: 295186

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 09:53

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 09:53
Bluddy catholics.....
FollowupID: 561164

Follow Up By: obee - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 18:43

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 18:43
Thanks mate. I needed that refreshing tale to cheer me up. Wont tell you how tough it is now......

Owen
FollowupID: 561249

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 08:47

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 08:47
We have been the route of the "Icebox does all" solution.

Perhaps OK for a weekender, but on extended trips you cannot beat a compressor fridge.

No more waterlogged foodstuffs from defrosted ice....yuck!

We often take the Evakool Icebox for beverages, but for food, definately the fridge for us.

AnswerID: 295190

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 08:59

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 08:59
Ah, I remember my old checklist:

2 canvas waterbags on the bullbar
Cordial, so the water was drinkable
Big tin of Sunshine Milk to go with the weetbix and coffee
Tinned sardines
Hamper Corned Beef in that funny yellow tin
Plumrose hot dogs
Fray Bentos in the plate sized tin
Parsons rice cream for dessert

Anyone got some more??

I'll keep my 2 fridges these days....
AnswerID: 295196

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 11:18

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 11:18
You forgot the Tins of Braised Steak and Onions.
FollowupID: 561182

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 14:10

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 14:10
They were great. Two tins and chuck in some potatoes for gourmet tucker.
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 561203

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 19:20

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 19:20
Braised Steak and onion is still popular!!

I guess Tom Piper has a bit to answer for.... what about the Camp Pie?? I personallly never tried the stuff, but it appeared on the shelf of every outback shop.
FollowupID: 561270

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 03:52

Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 03:52
Camp Pie or Pedigree Dog Food...the same thing.....lol
FollowupID: 561370

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 08:04

Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 08:04
Willem, if that is your preference, we will get some for you. Jude can eat what we do. LOL

Phil, it seems a long time since we opened tins on a regular basis, even for camping. Tinned sardines or herrings in tomato sauce on toast. I can remember the herrings were a favourite of my dad, promoted indigestion some times.
FollowupID: 561377

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 08:26

Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 08:26
Pedigree sounds like a quality brand. Not sure about Tom Piper :-))

We've gone back to tinned vegetables - peas, corn, carrots etc with the ring pull lid that you sit on the side of the fire. Been turned off the tinned meats for life - I can remember them too well from the 70's :-)))
FollowupID: 561380

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 09:51

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 09:51
I vote for putting him down ;-))
AnswerID: 295206

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 09:59

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 09:59
You cant catch MEE E E E eee e e e e
FollowupID: 561167

Reply By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 10:22

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 10:22
It can be done.

I knew a bloke in FNQ who had an old chest freezer, minus motor/compressor on the back of his trayback Tojo.

For months at home prior to his trip he would freeze blocks of ice in the functioning chest freezer at home. His theory was to seriously freeze them for a long time to get them solid. When he went away he loaded them into the chest freezer carcass and reckoned he got 11 days out of them in the heat of FNQ.

Bit too hard for a nancy boy like me though.

AnswerID: 295211

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 10:27

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 10:27
Aw Jim, don't be so hard on yerself.....silverback
FollowupID: 561171

Follow Up By: Holden4th - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 22:09

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 22:09
I'll add to that. MY 65L Evakool has served me very well on numerous trips with both cold food and beer. There are two methods I use to keep food cold - both told to me by an old bushie.

Method 1

a) Buy a 30 can pack of your favourite alcoholic beverage and freeze it solid in the fridge at home for a few days.

b) Just prior to traveling place as many of the cans from the pack (usually about 24) at the bottom of your esky. Put your frozen and cryovacked meat on top of this. Add a layer of cardboard or some other insulating material.

c) add your other frozen cans and then your cold food.

d) Optional - add a small layer of ice at the top. This will freeze solid overnight giving you solid ice top and bottom.

e) Drink cans from top and replace them from the ones at the bottom.

This system keeps your cryovacked meat frozen for a long time - especially if you keep your esky full. However, it does mean that you do have some loose water at the bottom of the esky

Method 2 (my preference)

a) Buy a 10L cask of bottled water. The Frantelle one with the handle on top is a perfect size in my esky.

b) Freeze it solid for at least 2 weeks (I prefer a month) in your home freezer.

c) Just before traveling put this and all your cold food (including cryovacked frozen meat) in the esky.

d) Every 4-5 days find somewhere to refreeze the 10L water bottle overnight.

This keeps your food very cold (including your beers) but doesn't freeze. There is no water residue to worry about. Doing a solid 3 week freeze prior to traveling means that while the outer layer of the water melts (about 20%) the core stays frozen and will easily refreeze overnight. I found that most van park owners were very happy to stick this 10L iceblock in one of their freezers. I estimate that I could have gone for over 10 days using this method without refreezing but the whole block would have required a long period of refreezing to get it back to solid state.

I travelled from the Gold Coast to Melbourne then down to Tassie and back to the GC and my meat stayed cold enough all the time to not worry about spoilage. This was a 5 and a half week trip.

NOTE: The bigger the container of water the better this works. 10 x 1L containers will melt very quickly whereas 1X10L will hold the cold so much linger. It's the solid core of ice that does the trick.

That said I do have a car fridge.
FollowupID: 561336

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 17:27

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 17:27
A fridge is waaaayyyy down the list of priorities for me. I can easily survive for weeks in the bush without one.

I'm not sure what a fridge costs? say $1000 for a good Engle.
That can buy a lot of diesel, some extra bar work, pay for a vehicle service every 20000k etc.

You do get used to it to, not having a fridge, and when you get back to civvyland, theres nothing quite like a cold beer.

As for booze when I'm away Vodka and orange juice and straight bourban.

AnswerID: 295268

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 18:49

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 18:49
Hi equinox, you would know, how practical would it be to do the CSR in a shorty (diesel wrangler 2dr) without a trailer?....silverback
FollowupID: 561251

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 01:38

Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 01:38
David,

Allow for your fuel stops, and adjust your tyre pressures according to the conditions and you will be fine!!

Having said that the normal emergency equipment should still be taken.

FollowupID: 561364

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 07:10

Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 07:10
It's 45 in the shade and a warm vodka and OJ does it for you??? Glad i'm not in your car lol.
FollowupID: 561372

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 08:08

Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 08:08
David,
Apart from Jerry Cans, is there anything else you'll be putting in the back? :-))
I think thats the main reason you won't see any other 2 door Wranglers out there.
FollowupID: 561378

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 21:48

Friday, Mar 28, 2008 at 21:48
Another bloody fridge question.....................

AnswerID: 295333

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 00:48

Saturday, Mar 29, 2008 at 00:48
Yep and after reading the above i'm glad ive bloody well got one

OH Anyone like a cornetto icecream ! or a couple of nice cold double the choc Tim Tams with your English breakfast cuppa !
FollowupID: 561361