house electric heating

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 10:48
ThreadID: 56180 Views:1967 Replies:7 FollowUps:32
hi all i am looking at buying an electric heater for my house. there are three options in heaters , convectional , fan , oil . what are the pros and cons of these types of heaters ? any input would be great , cheers

Reply By: KSV. - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 11:04

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 11:04
IMHO oil far best option. Conventional and fan forced not only more fire-hazardous, but also chewing oxygen, though heat-up much faster (and cools instantaneous :-)). As for efficiency all the same.
BTW why not to consider reverse cycle aircon? More expensive, but 4 times more efficient end indeed pay over themselves if used a lot.
Serg
AnswerID: 296108

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 11:22

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 11:22
If it is not to noisy then a fan heater is best. You want to heat your house not worry about an extra few cents worth of power. If you got the cheapest you would not be happy with the actual heating effect that you feel. A fan circulates the air and moves stratified warmer air from higher up in a room down to the lower levels. Heat pumps are very good but the difference in cost sure buys a heap more electricity for the other types of heater before you even start to compare hourly running costs.
AnswerID: 296111

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 11:37

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 11:37
G'day everyone

I know at times we get a lot of OT threads on here, yes i have been guilty as well ...but ...."house electric heating"...What next.... "DATING SERVICE".... its starting to get beyond a joke, I for 1 am starting to lose interest in an otherwise great 4wdriving, caravanning and camping site....What do others on here think??

Cheers......Dave

P.S. anyone looking for a date????....lol
AnswerID: 296115

Follow Up By: zacc - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 11:59

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 11:59
i did not know that there were any limits to what could be put on ,if it was a bit much it should have been deleted by the administrators .
plus i did put ELECTRIC HOUSE HEATING if it bothers you so much why open it and reply why not just do nothing , you obviously could see it had nothing to do with caravs or 4wds , der.

i personaly like this system as you get good answers and advice from all sorts of good people who have had experiences with the subjects .
at least with this site you can ask a question about any thing and do not have to trudge through the internet find a site that deals with that issue , join up and then you have another pass word to remember.

anyways if it has affended any one i am sorry . cheers
FollowupID: 562167

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 15:41

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 15:41
As far as I can tell, you are asking for totally unqualified advice, as you can see, you have so far, been recommended, oil, fan heater & gas!

I have to agree with Borgy.. (SA), OT posts are getting out of hand.
FollowupID: 562197

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:09

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:09
zacc

"you obviously could see it had nothing to do with caravs or 4wds , der"

You obviously CANT see that this is NOT a ELECTRIC HOUSE HEATING site....DER as you put it!!
How old are you??? obviously not old enough or intelligent enough to make your own decision on what sort of frigging heating you need!!
FollowupID: 562201

Follow Up By: zacc - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:17

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:17
oh well i can see a few people need more sleep so they can wake up in a better mood.
FollowupID: 562203

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:23

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:23
no extra sleepneeded here thanks....i get plenty of that now, and as for better mood...im just great thanks couldnt be happier
FollowupID: 562207

Follow Up By: zacc - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:34

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:34
fridays funnies?
FollowupID: 562208

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:38

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:38
You wouldnt know what to put in there, unless of course you ask for advice here first
FollowupID: 562210

Follow Up By: zacc - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:42

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:42
no you must have misunder stood what i meant by the friday funnies , could you explain what that has to do with this forrum please. cheers
FollowupID: 562212

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:43

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:43
Borgy, honestly I do not understand why you so aggressive! He *CLEARLY* put in subject what he after and if you sick of such topic you can simply ignore it! But in general I would split this forum in subsections like mechanics, travel, camping, miscellaneous – I recon it would be easier to use.

FollowupID: 562213

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:01

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:01
G'day KSV

Why do you suggest that i am being agressive! is it because i havent put a smily face at the end of each post?? As i said b4 i am entitled to my opinion and if you dont like it then stiff crap!!

I could ask you the same question...why are you being so agressive to me?? ..Personally i couldnt give a rats ass.
I dont know you , you dont know me , same as i dont know zacc and he dont know me , so how can you possibly say im agressive???...I have simply made an opinion and as far as im concerned thats not being agressive ...i mean s.h.i.t if everyone said the same about all other posts where someone doesnt agree...no one would bother posting anymore...would they??

As for your suggestion on splitting the forum perhaps you should take it up with Dave, its not that im totally against OT threads , im not!...its just some posts do get way OT...seriously his post has nothing whatsoever to do with 4wdriving and camping.

zacc

Perhaps you should ask Dave that question yourself.....

Seriously mate, couldnt you have come up with something better than bloody heating??..lol...
If i sounded agressive to you mate then i apologise, no way were any of my replies meant to be agressive

Cheers......Dave
FollowupID: 562214

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:25

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:25
Off-topic happens in each and every forum what I ever participated. I am guess that it human nature. Also in each and every forum there are people who easy tolerate it and those who get mad of it. Plus some people have thicker skin while other more sensitive. Perhaps OP does not participate in any other forums (and BTW do you know forum about electrical heaters?) and facing contradictory advises from surrounding people just seeking support of his own POV in the forum? Fail to see what *SO* much wrong with that.

And, I am sorry, but you been aggressive indeed. Phrases “How old are you??? obviously not old enough or intelligent enough to make your own decision on what sort of frigging heating you need!!” or “As i said b4 i am entitled to my opinion and if you dont like it then stiff crap!!” do not really associated with friendliness and kindliness. As I suggest before it would be more constructive simply ignore this topic instead of creating another off-topic inside.

Serg
FollowupID: 562224

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:30

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:30
KSV

Obviously you dont understand agressive where you come from , so i'll enlighten you......F.U.C.K off idiot!!! Is that better???
FollowupID: 562226

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:34

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:34
KSV ......

Google, .28 secs, 111,000 results, this was the first oneHEATING & COOLING FORUM
FollowupID: 562229

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:41

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:41
He-he-he. They discuss it way too professionally while OT need simple advice! I personally would not ask such question in this forum (in fact I would not ask it at all), but as mention above fail to see much crime in this action.

FollowupID: 562235

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:44

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:44
Borgy, watch your keyboard – you can brake it typing too hard. Also not that many of them waterproof, despite manufactures claims.
FollowupID: 562238

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:07

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:07
I don't know that I would have chosen his words, but I tend to agree with Borgy.

Zacc, I don't think I have ever seen the moderators remove something because it was 'OT'. Some self moderation is required I think to keep topics vaguely aligned with the intent and spirit of the site. It is very easy to say 'just ignore the thread', but there are a large number of posts on this site and ones that don't even have a vague connection to the theme of the site do clog things up and make it less enjoyable for those who are interested in the site's 'core' intent. I am not sure that your unwillingness to 'remember passwords' means that the forum should become a free for all on any topic related to travelling this country or not.

I don't normally buy into the members vs non-members debate either; I generally don't care. But, if this site is your one-and-only source of information, I thought that it might be worth you signing up?

FollowupID: 562250

Follow Up By: zacc - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:16

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:16
when put that way matt point taken , hey we learn from our mistakes. cheers
FollowupID: 562254

Reply By: mfewster - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 11:43

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 11:43
Of the three, oil is the best, provided you also have a fan in the room to move the air around. Some oil filled heaters have fan in them as well. Better is oil plus an overhead fan. This is as cheap to run (slowly) as a fan/electric heater and you can then use the overhead fan in summer
Fan/electric heatersare cheap to buy but pricey and noisy to run. They also seem to break a lot.
Electric heating of any sort is very expensive. If you can get it, gas is much cheaper
AnswerID: 296119

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 13:04

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 13:04
I'll go with most of what you said, but gas is only an option if you can access mains gas.
Gas in a bottle is not worth considering-- too expensive.

If you can afford it, by far the best way to go is split system or ducted reverse cycle air con. That way you get both heating and cooling as necessary and relatively cheap and effective too.

Disco.
FollowupID: 562177

Follow Up By: mfewster - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 14:26

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 14:26
I'd agree with that disco. We also have a slow combustion wood heater. I am constantly amazed at the amount of scrap wood that gets thrown out. I have always managed to find enough wood around the neighbourhood to avoid ever having to buy the stuff. Hard rubbish throw out time keeps me going for a couple of winter months. Having the 4WD at that time of the year it actually pays for itself for a change. So I guess this thread is relevant to the forum.
FollowupID: 562182

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 14:38

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 14:38
He-he-he. How true. I also have wood heater for almost 6 years and never bought even single splinter to burn, but rather pick wood on the street. Obviously I would not be able to do this without my tractor :-)
FollowupID: 562183

Follow Up By: mfewster - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 15:20

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 15:20
Yeah. What I really like about this forum, despite our ongoing disagreements on things political and green, is that most 4WD ers are practical sorts of people and are likely to have useful things to contribute on a whole range of topics.
FollowupID: 562189

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 15:23

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 15:23
"despite our ongoing disagreements on things political and green," - I always thought that it is the same :-))) LOL
FollowupID: 562190

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:20

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 16:20
Yep you are right, this thread is definetly relevant to the forum
After all i suppose he is going to run the heater in his 4wd, isnt he???

Oh i get it ....if he goes with gas , he has a vehicle that runs off gas , so he can run the heater from there ...likewise if he goes oil, his vehicle obviously uses oil , so same again, just drain some oil out of his car....Electric??hhmmmm oh i know , he'll run it through an inverter...so zacc i guess im sorry...NOT!!

Like i said b4 ...Nothing to do with 4wdriving caravanning and camping

Like evryone on here says , we are all entitled to an opinion , and if you dont like mine...well i dont really give a crap

Cheers.......Dave
FollowupID: 562205

Follow Up By: mfewster - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:37

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:37
Borgy, reading your posts you seem to mention defecation quite a lot. It seems to be on your mind. And now you tell us that you don't give a crap! That would explain why you are grumpy. Quite possibly you may get further advice for this from this forum or you may need to search for one of those self help medical forums where the subject would definitely not be OT.
FollowupID: 562232

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:50

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:50
mfewster, perhaps you could advise me wich one would be best to visit, obviously you must visit them , after all you seem to know all about them.

"you seem to mention defecation quite a lot." good to see you are interested in how often i defecate...as you put it!.... You must be one sick puppy
FollowupID: 562240

Follow Up By: mfewster - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:56

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 17:56
No Borgy, I wasn't interested in your bowel movements. Reread your posts. It was you who seemed anxious to discuss them.
FollowupID: 562241

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:05

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:05
"No Borgy, I wasn't interested in your bowel movements."

Why bother mentioning them then???
FollowupID: 562246

Follow Up By: KSV. - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:07

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:07
Yawn………..
FollowupID: 562248

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:16

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:16
Oh sorry KSV i have just realised i have upset another one of your friends, now you cant have me saying anything bad about him can you??? obviously you think he cant fend for himself either, i notice you make a habit of sticking your nose into things that dont concern you , great to see you think so lowly of everyone on here.
FollowupID: 562255

Follow Up By: mfewster - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:52

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:52
Borgy "Why bother mentioning it then?" I counted 6 instances by you (to this point) of defecation/reproduction items before I responded on the topic with you. Obviously this was something on your mind. So, in the spirit of this forum, I responded out of pure politeness and an earnest desire to be helpful, even if you were off the topic. If you have now got over the problem and don't need to talk about it anymore, I am pleased for you.
FollowupID: 562265

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 19:04

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 19:04
mfewster like i said b4 , you must be one sick puppy to take such an interest in how often i defacate....i mean bloody hell...you are actually counting them now???? you need medical attention
FollowupID: 562271

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 12:40

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 12:40
The trouble with oil is they take so long to heat the room up. You need to turn them on before the warmth of the day has left the room and they will maintain that warmth. Also they need a timer so you can set them to come on 2 hours before you get up so that they take the chill out of the early morning air.

Electric heating is expensive; as with the reply further up, go with reverse cycle air con or get gas connected.
AnswerID: 296128

Reply By: zacc - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:12

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:12
ok guys thanks for your advise it is time to put this post to bed , as it is getting a bit key board happy.

i have decided on fan heater for my use as i am in a rented place and wood heater is not an option.

i do hope that nobody got affended by this post.

as for borgy in the first post you said that you were losing interest in the forum because of posts like mine , i think it might be a bit different now as you replied quite aggresively, i do hope it has sparked up your interest.

once again i appolagise for any ill feelings this post has created.

AnswerID: 296172

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:20

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:20
so you think my original post to you was agressive??? Perhaps i could say the same to your reply???in wich case you instigated the agression

Cheers......Dave
FollowupID: 562256

Reply By: AG10 - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 20:02

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 20:02
there is another system to consider , i forget the name , but it works like this , in your roof on top of the plaster you lay these sheets , it works like the rear screen heater on your car, you then wire it up , via a sparky , and it is a radiant heat , so no fans dust etc , very cheap to run , give me your email address and i will ring a mate to get the info its little bit pricey though but long term very cost effective , the guy selling it is located in melbourne but sells everyware , if your interested .
AnswerID: 296194