Birdsville NEWS

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 13:49
ThreadID: 56189 Views:2049 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
Well, haven't done the road report yet - too many visitors - haven't done a fuel report either - weather today is 34 max 17 overnight - N/NW blowing low dust (a normal day!) plenty of blue sky and still nice (especially if inside with the a/c on to pressurise the house from the dust I've just spent two days cleaning up) BUT the big news is old fella reported this a.m. a stubby at the Pub costs $5.50. He's gone into shock and thanking his lucky stars that he packed the big trailer (see photo gallery) with 70 cartons of the stuff.
A new young chef at the Pub and the menu looks good - haven't tried that out yet either.

Reply By: Member - David P (VIC) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:47

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 18:47
Just wondering how you pressurise the house? Do you filter the outside air?.....silverback
AnswerID: 296180

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:33

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:33
Out here we seriously turn the a/cs on, shut the windows and doors and that pressurises the house - the dust can't get through the sliding windows as much or under and over the tops of the doors. As I speak tonight there is a serious dust storm happening - came up about 1/2 hour ago, can't see the airport now from the house just hazy lights. Probably last about 24 hours, a shower of rain and then it'll be cool again. Got to 40 today.
FollowupID: 562316

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 19:34

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 19:34
Hi Ruth,

We'll be there with family about 2nd July definately 3rd for Jan's birthday. looking forward to catching up.

VKS Mobile 1906

AnswerID: 296190

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:34

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:34
Oh Peter - good news have put the important date in the diary. You'll enjoy the Hay River.
FollowupID: 562317

Reply By: blue one - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 20:24

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 20:24
$5.50

Struth Ruth.

See you soon

AnswerID: 296209

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:36

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:36
Thank goodness I only drink whiskey, champers, gin, absinthe - I don't drink beer. I couldn't afford it! LOL
FollowupID: 562318

Reply By: blue one - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 20:25

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 20:25
Seriously is there anything you would like from down south?
AnswerID: 296210

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:40

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:40
Thanks for the offer Blue, pretty right at the moment as we just got back. I'll probably start to miss the newspapers again - and the smells coming out of the deli - the movies - the beach - and so on. Ruth
FollowupID: 562320

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:37

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2008 at 22:37
Wow a man with a ute and a big trailer, Is Ian available for house relocations? I am sick of living in the doghouse LOL!!!

Regards, trevor.
AnswerID: 296267

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 10:59

Thursday, Apr 03, 2008 at 10:59
Hey King Cane Toad - if you'd seen us on the road last weekend you'dhave thought we were moving our house. Back of the ute had the dog cage with two labs and one cat in it! Trailer had 70 cartons beer, 12 cartons soft drink - up the front was my new lounge chair (looked like Granny Clampetts on the front of their old Ford), a large timber low-line entertainment unit, and on the very top was a double stainless steel sink from the $5 shop (didn't have a loo though). Plus all the various extraneous stuff like tools, shopping, clothes, dog food - bags of potatoes and onions etc.
Ian built that trailer last year when he was bored - luckily like anything in steel he makes - it is heavy and hardwearing and won't blow away easily. LOL
FollowupID: 562379