Bundera, Sierra, Rocky or Vitara...

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 11:08
ThreadID: 56311 Views:16752 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
Hi, we're looking at purchasing a 2dr 4x4 for the missus that we can take anywhere and not afraid of scratching or dinting... However, it needs to be an everyday car also driving to and from work to economy is a big factor...

I've currently been looking at Sierras, Rockys', Bunderas and Vitaras - however, ultimately we only have 10k to spend max, and we'd like to be able to get a 2" lift both body and suspension included in this price (i notice that some have this done already) I don't think i wwould consider buying a non diesel bundera as petrol would be too thirsty...

Any reccomendations - just looking at making a fairly competent off road which can be used as a daily driver for the missus...

Andy.

Reply By: col 60 series - Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 11:18

Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 11:18
andy
i used to own a sierra as a weekender and to commute to and from work. there a great car will go anywhere the big cruisers etc would go (even standard like mine was) runs on the smell of an oily rag, tough and very reliable. but rough riding over rough ground. a mate owned a rocky/feroza no major probs, tough and reliable.
any of these will be great for weekend and road. hope this helps cheers col
AnswerID: 296775

Follow Up By: andyg456 - Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 11:27

Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 11:27
Cheers, was the sierra fairly economical? thanks for the info really appreciate it...
Andy.
FollowupID: 562846

Follow Up By: col 60 series - Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 11:47

Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 11:47
yes sierra was very good on fuel would get me most weekend trips with one tank. got roughly 350k's from a 40l tank if i can remember right.
FollowupID: 562849

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 11:20

Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 11:20
andyg,
The sierra in my profile was picked up last month for $5000 it's a 96 model coily, you can pick up earlier leave spring models a fair bit cheaper.Vitaras are a bit dearer but have a few moor comforts.
Cheers Dave....
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 296776

Follow Up By: andyg456 - Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 11:26

Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 11:26
Hey thanks for the info, looks like you got a bargain with your sierra looks clean and tidy, if I saw one up in QLD like that I'd have to snap at it... again, thanks for the info...
FollowupID: 562844

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 12:02

Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 12:02
Andy,
My wife had a Sierra very economical, parts were very accessible, insurance was cheap. We went for a slightly later model, early ones tended to be very agricultural rather than agricultural. Loads of space for we weekend day out without the back seats obviously. We had the small flap part of the roof over the driver come off due to some dodgy clips, quite frightening at the time very funny now. Engine has a few aluminium bits that tend to rot out if the right antifreeze mix wasn't used, ours did an inlet manifold something to be aware of. Hope this helps. Oh and brakes can be interesting.......
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 296780

Reply By: madfisher - Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 12:54

Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 12:54
For Reliabity it would be hard to go past the bundara, best off road as well. The petrol 22r motor is extremely long lasting and trouble free. Timing chain at about 300000ks only issue. THey will do 11s on the road.
AnswerID: 296785

Reply By: docz - Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 13:04

Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 13:04
hi andyg456, have you considered a swb patrol gq. They are reasonably economical on lpg ( roughly 500 k -115lt ) very capable with a minimum of mods, a cinch to park as they are very monouvarable and reliable and are right in your price range.
AnswerID: 296786

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 16:40

Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 16:40
Sierra through and through. Rockys are a little heavy on the fuel and Vitara's are cronic fuel guzzlers.

You can get cheap Sierra if you look hard enough. There is one in town here for $7500 but htat would be a rip off unless its got 50,000km on it!

Suspensions lift etc are great for them and dont cost that much. Parts are easily accessable for them and not too expensive.

My li'l Sierra had 310,000km on it when I bought it and paid $2500 6yrs ago, it was a '91, I crashed it and bashed it through nasty 4wd tracks and in the paddock as a bull chaser for 6 months. I spent $150 on a tyre and sold it for $2500!! It then travelled around oz and later sold to the bloke next farm up from here and he uses it as the burrier - get - around and farm car.....

Bundera's are the holden version yeah? Im pretty sure they are the same as a Sierra...everything pretty much the same....

Laura
AnswerID: 296804

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 16:53

Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 16:53
The holden drover was a rebadged sierra. Bundera can come in short,mid or long wheel base made by Toyota there was also the Blizzard by toyota. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 562884

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 17:21

Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 17:21
no worries, thanks Stephen....I knew it was something like that...

FollowupID: 562889

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 21:44

Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 21:44
What Stephen has said is not entirly accurate.
Right about the Drover.
Bunderra where ONLY short WB and had coil springs, as well as a 2.4liter petrol (RJ70) & 2.4 L Deisel (LJ70)motors.
Toyota also released a SWB cruiser with leaf springs but had the 4.0 6cyl(FJ70) and a 3.4 4cyl (BJ70) all around the same time frame (mid to late 80's).
The Blizzard is a rebadged Daihatsu.
Shane
FollowupID: 562927

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 06, 2008 at 00:09

Sunday, Apr 06, 2008 at 00:09
Hi Shane, I remember when I was looking for one prior to my hilux that there were two different ones. One was a shorty with leaf front and back. There was also another one which was classed as a mid wheel base. The difference between the two that I noticed was just infront of the rear wheel on the mid base they had about an extra foot of panal.
SHORT WHEEL BASE

MID WHEEL BASE BELOW
FollowupID: 562960

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 06, 2008 at 00:13

Sunday, Apr 06, 2008 at 00:13
Hi Shane sorry forgot to mention when I was looking most people were classing them both a Bundera's. So the shorty's a bundera, the mid wheel base is classed as a short wheel base cruiser. Or have I got this all ar se about LOL. Might be why I couldnt find any mid wheel base's as I was looking under Bundera for both. Should learn to do my home work better eh LOL. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 562964

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 06, 2008 at 08:08

Sunday, Apr 06, 2008 at 08:08
Hi Stephen, your first photo is of a BUNDERRA, I noticed turbo badge so I'm assuming that it's got the 2LT 2.4 litre turbo diesel, found in early surf's.
Bunderra's have Hilux running gear (motors/gearbox) with a landcruiser body, if you look closely at the rear of the back wheel, you will notice that there is no leaf spring, fundamental difference being that the Bundy's had coils allround.
This is a SHORT WHEEL BASEImage Could Not Be Found
You can see it has leaf springs, and LANDCRUISER running gear
I know there is a lot of confusion between the SWB, MWBImage Could Not Be Found and bunderra, but once you own a SWB you really spend a lot of time explaining the difference to people at parts and accessory places.
Cheers, Shane
FollowupID: 562981

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 16:46

Saturday, Apr 05, 2008 at 16:46
Hi Andy not sure where your located but there is a Suzuki Vitara 3 door 4 sale on Northern Rd Penrith. Silver in colour.I would say 2000/01 model didnt stop so dont know how many klms. Has 8k on the windscreen. I have had 5 zuks. 2 vitara's, a baleno and 2 barina's (rebadged zuk). Obviously not all 4wd's but reliability plus and as said above run on the smell of any oily rag for memory about 550/600k to 45 litres for the 2000 vitara. The later model we had (2000) was brilliant. 2 litre motor, plenty of get up and go air,steer,elec windows,etc. Only got rid of it due to space, the other ground clearance but to be fair I was trying to do things the hilux's/patrols with lifts were doing so then bought a lux. My wife loves the new zuk (traker) but the V6 is as thirsty as the prado. Friends come down from queensland in one and was using 13/14L per 100 standard, no mods,road tyres, I get better from the prado. Go the zuks brilliant vehicle plenty of parts available. The only thing I coulnt get was a snorkel for the 2000 model dont make them (well didnt then). Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 296805

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Apr 06, 2008 at 07:12

Sunday, Apr 06, 2008 at 07:12
Hi andyg456, I regularly go out on some very soft beaches with a friend who has a Bundera and am amazed at how easily he flies across the soft surfaces. I do ok in a 2.8TDi Pajero but the Bundera goes really well. His hand brake is crap though.
AnswerID: 296919

Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 01:08

Wednesday, Apr 09, 2008 at 01:08
G'day Andy
Coupla points regarding your wish list and some of the responses.

1/. Suzuki Sierra - very capable, lightweight vehicle. Small motor so doesn't carry loads well. Rough little buggers but lots of fun.
2/. Daihatsu Rocky - 30+ mpg if you find a diesel. Outstanding reputation for reliability. Getting a bit old now. The motor was the same as what was in those 2t-3t Daihatsu council tiptrucks from a good few years ago.
3/. Daihatsu Feroza - 1600 petrol. Good little weekender tripper / town car with style. Heavy duty drivetrain compared to other brand lightweights.
4/. Vitara - Put your money into something else IMHO
5/. Toyota Blizzard was not just a rebadged Daihatsu. It had smaller, less powerful toyota motors.( as the sales figures showed )
6/. Bundera - Good unit but suffered from toyota habit of underpowering its vehicles so it had something to offer on the next upgrade.
7/. SWB Nissan - Not fussed on the interior quality myself but a damned good general purpose unit. Again diesel may be an option.
8/. No I dont hate toyotas. I have owned one and was very pleased with it.
AnswerID: 297500