why call it a truck , tossers !!!

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:11
ThreadID: 56576 Views:4899 Replies:41 FollowUps:47
you know what makes me angry . nothing..................except people calling their little family wagon/ute/sedan etc a truck.

here is the correct explanation from the book of spelling stuff.
1. A hand truck.
2. A wheeled platform, sometimes equipped with a motor, for conveying loads in a warehouse or freight yard.
3. One of the swiveling frames of wheels under each end of a railroad car or trolley car.
4. A set of bookshelves mounted on four wheels or casters, used in libraries.
5. Nautical A small piece of wood placed at the top of a mast or flagpole, usually having holes through which halyards can be passed.
6. Chiefly British A railroad freight car without a top.

so unless you work in a freight yard or drive a skateboard , or carry lots of books............. its not a truck.

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:14

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:14
Well get over it my truck is my truck and will be beacuse thats what I call it and have done for 30 years so my truck is my truck and will stay my truck and if I call it my truck its my trucking buisness.

So all the trucking best
AnswerID: 298196

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 12:35

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 12:35
lolol...............nicely done
FollowupID: 564356

Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 16:21

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 16:21
Very well put Eric old boy..............
FollowupID: 564395

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:17

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:17
Hey Sam

why don't you Go.... again.

AnswerID: 298197

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:19

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:19
ok ' truckers'..
AnswerID: 298199

Reply By: equinox - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:25

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:25
"book of spelling stuff"

I'm sure there is a shorter word for that, it's on the tip of my tongue, just can't place it.

AnswerID: 298201

Follow Up By: samsgoneagain - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:29

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:29
look in your 'truck' glove box...........where you keep your gloves wincher.!
FollowupID: 564299

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:34

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:34
Well in my Dictionary a wincher is some body who uses a winch.

I haven't got a winch, what the heck are you on about???

FollowupID: 564300

Follow Up By: samsgoneagain - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:41

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:41
who cares if your at the dessert without a winch.
FollowupID: 564301

Follow Up By: samsgoneagain - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:44

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 01:44
eating ice cream ( spelling mistake sorry)
FollowupID: 564302

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 12:59

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 12:59
Maybe he meant " great big book of everything ". A mates' kids refer to that as a great source of info on tv.

It has something to do with fish or fishing too.
FollowupID: 564362

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 02:15

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 02:15
samsgoneagain

I agree.

AnswerID: 298202

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 02:19

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 02:19
samsgoneagain
Makes em feel BIG and Important and the brain has no capability to classify.

FollowupID: 564303

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 14:57

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 14:57
Like people who like realy fast cars.

FollowupID: 564382

Reply By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 05:46

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 05:46
Heck, some people even call a Commodore a car......
AnswerID: 298203

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 07:44

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 07:44
ROFL.....

Back to cleaning my SUV.

FollowupID: 564307

Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 06:16

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 06:16
pfft. My Troopy was a truck (or 'the troopy')

The Datto is a truck (or 'the Nissan')

The Cherokee is just 'mummy's Jeep'

But hey, thanks for the feedback, I'll be sure to alter my behaviour so that you can feel more comfortable about the appliaction of the English Language. (but the Nissan is made in Japan, so I better be careful that I don't upset the Japanese language experts too.

;-)

Have a lovely day, I'm going to wash my 'truck'. (and probably mummy's Jeep)
AnswerID: 298204

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 07:07

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 07:07
I dont like the "Truck" thing Sam, but depending on what you drive, the larger 4x4's are hardly in the car category. Most capable vehicles have a separate chassis and certainly dont drive like the latest BMW.. So i guess the tag is here to stay. Michael

AnswerID: 298205

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 07:19

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 07:19
Can we call it a bus or taxi
AnswerID: 298207

Follow Up By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:15

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:15
No Truckin worry,s
Duke
FollowupID: 564458

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 08:20

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 08:20
Basically agree with Sam although I can hardly say it makes me angry. More like roll eyes. Having said that, when I traded my Landcruiser for a Defender, I definitely thought, "I've just got out of a car and into a truck" because that's how it felt. I know, not something with thirty-odd wheels on it but it definitely has a trucky feel about it. Still, I can't bring myself to call it a truck.
AnswerID: 298215

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 08:26

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 08:26
Why call people in Australia tossers, wanker!!!

You know what annoys me, is people who use British terms to describe an Aussie.

By the way I have 4 100 series and I call them truck's.

Steve.
AnswerID: 298217

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 15:06

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 15:06
sTEVE
...Does that make you a Lorry Driver...TIC

FollowupID: 564383

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 15:36

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 15:36
I'm on call this week for the AANT through Mobil Jabiru, so I actually have the tilt tray in my front yard, I call that a truck to, It's just bigger. LOL

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 564390

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 17:50

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 17:50
yet you don't bat an eyelid when Aussies go around saying "Gee whiz"?

btw, "w**nker" is a Briitish expression too
FollowupID: 564409

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:16

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:16
Wanker is an Aussie expression.

The poms stole it from us.

A bit like the Kiwis stealing our Pavlova.

Did I ever talk about that??

FollowupID: 564460

Follow Up By: Steve - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 11:08

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 11:08
don't think so

they were using it for years before it was heard here
FollowupID: 564513

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 08:40

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 08:40
SAMSGONEAGAIN please tell me its true.......You've gone again.

This has been done to death on this forum and who cares if you are angry, certainly not me. Go find a wall and belt your head against it for all i care....

Its a free country we have here mate. I will call my 4WD a freakin' battleship if i want to,, who are you to tell me i'm wrong, who cares except of TOSSERS like you....GET A LIFE.
AnswerID: 298219

Follow Up By: Member - JASON C (WA) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 08:57

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 08:57
WELL SAID, COULDN'T AGREE MORE, SOME PEOPLE NEED TO GET A LIFE !
FollowupID: 564315

Follow Up By: smifffy - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 16:01

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 16:01
i'll second that, waynepd & jason c!

love ya work........
FollowupID: 564392

Reply By: Louie the fly - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 09:14

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 09:14
I call my car a car coz thats what it is. Some people like to put Chevy badges on their V8 Commodores (not me), some people even call their cars Besty. Hell, I even seen an old skiboat called VOMIT once. At the end of the day it's up to them. To call them tossers is really out of order whether you like it or not and it causes tension on the forum. I think, in this case, you should have kept your opinion to yourself.

Didn't your team win yesterday?

AnswerID: 298223

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:13

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:13
Calling their car "Besty"

Do I have a fan club I'm not aware of??

FollowupID: 564336

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 09:21

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 09:21
Hey you guys, I am TRUCKED OFF NOW. think I will go wash my
Truck.

P S. Is Tosser a Pommy Word, have to check the DICTIONARY.

Dasza

AnswerID: 298224

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 09:31

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 09:31
Daz, here's the proof.

tosser

Yep, it's a British

Noun: tosser tósu(r)

1. Terms of abuse for a masturbator

2. Someone who throws lightly (as with the palm upward)

3. [Brit, vulgar] Insulting terms of address for people who are stupid or irritating or ridiculous

4. Someone who calls someone else a tosser because someone else calls their 4WD a truck

(I added that last one)
FollowupID: 564320

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 09:48

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 09:48
If its the one Samsgoneagain used then its more like a DickTionary
FollowupID: 564323

Follow Up By: Member - David.M.C - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 09:53

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 09:53
hey Daza, Guys is north american. lol ;)
FollowupID: 564324

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 09:55

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 09:55
ARRRRGGHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 564325

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 10:37

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 10:37
David.M.C.

So, to use the correct Australianism, it would be cobber(s)

FollowupID: 564329

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 15:51

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 15:51
Hey David.
What got into me, I usually start with a Hi All, sorry MAAATE.
FollowupID: 564391

Reply By: F4Phantom - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 09:50

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 09:50
I think you make have been a little hard with the tosser thing (pun!!)

However I also agree that cars are not trucks I much prefer the term "four wheel drive" or "fourby" mainly because they are more aussie terms. What does make me angry is taking on board US culture. The winning hated term for me is SUV, AUV and all those created by US marketing machines trying to make us use terms which help them to make more money (and its frigging working). I heard a US broadcast calling the new holden ute (which they now sell there) a "pick up car" - tossers, wankers, poofters.

AnswerID: 298226

Reply By: Pnut (cns) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 10:08

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 10:08
Nice bit of fishing there Sam - well done - must get some of that bait of you. Even Doug was impressed!
BTW, my vehicle has a tray on the back, but it's actually called a 'ute'! - who would have thought eh!!

AnswerID: 298227

Reply By: howesy - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 10:36

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 10:36
Well I read all your definitions and nothing on our roads fall into that category so I guess your one of those people (I wont call you a tosser) who would have us be that little bit more American and start calling all our heavy vehicles "Motor Lorries" If thats your preference then I'll get you an american flag to put in your window and an uncle sam doll.
What does it matter what you call your vehicle whether it be Daisy, fred, the beast, or truck. Who cares.
I can understand why one would do it I do it sometimes. I have 2 utes a Ford and a HZJ75. One drives like a car and the other drives in such a manner that my Mrs calls it a truck. It was principally designed as a workhorse farm type vehicle that almost requires a kidney belt to be worn when unlaiden and if you can stop my wife calling it a truck then your doing better than I am.

Look in that dictionary of yours and see if you can tell me what the word is for a narrow single minded person who tries to impose their beliefs and wishes on to others. If you find it paste to your fore head and see if you can read it backwards in the mirror.

P.S I'm smiling so dont take it too seriously as I didn't yours.
AnswerID: 298235

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 10:43

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 10:43
Isn't a "Motor Lorry or Lorries" a British description not American??

FollowupID: 564330

Follow Up By: howesy - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 12:43

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 12:43
Who cares but its not australia.
Hows it go
Like it or leave it Planes leave every half hour

A free bleep ry means call your pride and joy what ever you want.
FollowupID: 564359

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 15:28

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 15:28
howesy,

I think you got bleeped because you left the "o" out of "country".

FollowupID: 564388

Reply By: garrycol - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 10:43

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 10:43
Is somebody here looking for an appearance on "Grumpy Old Men" or is it "Grumpy Old Women".

If this the only thing you have to complain about - I know a lot of people who wish they were in the same position.

Too much time of your hands.
AnswerID: 298236

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 10:57

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 10:57
From The Australian Dictionary by Oxford.

Truck: noun 1 A large strong motor vehicle for transporting goods etc; a lorry.
2 an open container on wheels for transporting goods; an open railway wagon.

Lorry: noun A truck.

I guess it goes to show the complexity of the English language when the word can be applied in a different sense or means by each English speaking country.

Since my 4wd is a large strong motor vehicle for transporting goods then I will call it a truck if I feel like it.

You must be taking tosser lessons from that other pommy tosser that frequents here from time to time.

AnswerID: 298238

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:21

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:21
Not obsessed with Mike eh???

ROFLMAO

FollowupID: 564340

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:26

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:26
Always interested to see who bites first.

FollowupID: 564342

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:31

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:31
I reckon you're still holding a grudge against that kid who pinched your sixpence in grade one.

FollowupID: 564344

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:37

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:37
Not old enough to have owned a sixpence.

Speaking of obsessions, its good to see yours repeatedly coming forward.

FollowupID: 564348

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:01

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:01
Mate,

Yiu are fishing aren't you.

I agree they should not be TRUCKS they should be called CARS.

Once upon a time 4wd's were very truck-like in there construction, road noise, drive train , suspension etc and I guess k thing derived from.

Now they are very luxurious and car like so lets call them cars.

Who really cares just call em what you want and get on with it.

Happy Fishing
AnswerID: 298239

Follow Up By: Blaze - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 12:44

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 12:44
Dave,

Wonder how many owners who call them TRUCKS wouild agree to pay truck rego, insurance and road tax LOL
FollowupID: 564360

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 12:53

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 12:53
I pay more for rego than a car, I pay more for insurance than a car and I take a pay load, times that by 4.

So I will call mine trucks.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 564361

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 09:17

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 09:17
I pay more for Ins and Rego on my vehicle than for our car also but I also I dont think I said they should be called a car's... I personally dont give a rats if you all call them Jumbo Jets, 4B's or gocarts, It was just a statement.
I think I said would ppl wouldn't be happy paying Truck Fees.

I personally dont really care.
FollowupID: 564507

Reply By: al - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:07

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:07
get a life
al
AnswerID: 298240

Reply By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:18

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:18
Well, after driving the work van around for a week, i hopped into the Patrol to take it for a run yesterday & it reminded me of a truck... So i reckon i'll call it a Truck.

Who really cares anyway? It's my vehicle & i'll call it what i want.

Cheers, Brad
AnswerID: 298241

Reply By: Jim from Best Off Road - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:20

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 11:20
Sam, you're one fine fisherman.

You chucked out the oldest, stalest (is that a word?), scabbiest bit of bait and got a swag of bites in no time.

AnswerID: 298242

Reply By: deserter - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 13:41

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 13:41
I just went and had a drive of the Prado to check. I will have to call mine - magnificent.
AnswerID: 298261

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 16:15

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 16:15
HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA tosser
FollowupID: 564554

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 14:35

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 14:35
Sam ain't fishing.

He started this thread in response to Thread 56528.

Mine's registered as a truck. Costs me an extra $250 a year for the privilege.
AnswerID: 298266

Follow Up By: stocky - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 22:41

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 22:41
same here
FollowupID: 564478

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 14:35

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 14:35
Weeeelllll, jeez what the hell do i do now ?
I own a truck,, a real one that has lots of wheels, a real fancy and loud horn..(toot toot ) and it can carry lots of stuff .
Hmmmm....k then,,,so thats a truck,,,,so i know what it drives like...
But what about the Patrol,,,what do i call that,,,,i drive it to and from the yard every day where the real truck is parked,,so i know what it drives like and funnily enough i think it drives like a truck,,,tho not quite as big as the real thing...
K then just for you i won't call the Patrol a "truck",,,,but can i call it Manta ??? (steel whinch bar, but no winch yet :(:(:( )
Geez mate get a life and stop fishing with stale bread,,,wait a tick,,,,there is thread about this on the Patrol forum,,,did you start that one as well ???

AnswerID: 298267

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 14:40

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 14:40
So when does a car become truck????

AnswerID: 298269

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 19:05

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 19:05
Probably when they put the 4.2 engine and gearbox out of a UD truck into a Nissan Patrol!!!
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 564428

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:42

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 20:42
When you need a truck licence to drive it maybe!

You must be over 40 John? :-)

FollowupID: 564448

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 22:33

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 22:33
Yes Richard, won't see the big 40 again but not old enough to remember or experience pre decimal currency.

Thats why I don't have any recollections about some tosser stealing my sixpence in grade one.

There was a truck dealership here in Melb sometime again advertising about the truck you can drive on a car license, don't remember which brand?? Maybe Isuzu?? don't know the model but remember the bit about no truck license.
My point being is that a truck dealership was advertising trucks that didn't need a truck license to drive them.
Heres another company advertising trucks that can be driven on a car license No truck license required
So when does a car become a truck??

FollowupID: 564474

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 01:44

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 01:44
4.5 Tonne here in WA

and by the way I can remember sixpences as I had a habit of swolling them as a kid . .lol

(spell checker could not fined the word) :-)

and I can still remember wanking.. LOL
FollowupID: 564490

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 02:33

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 02:33
You definitly need a truck liscense to drive a truck John otherwise its a light comercial
FollowupID: 564491

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 16:17

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 16:17
Something to do with the number of axles?
FollowupID: 564555

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 15:12

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 15:12
Is this your first post here?
AnswerID: 298273

Reply By: Member - Roscoe ET (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 15:48

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 15:48
I haven't been a member for very long, samsgoneagain, you have instigated 28 replies and 27 follow-ups!!!

This must surely be a record? and on a subject that I wouldn't have thought could have drawn so much attention...well done!!!!
AnswerID: 298279

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 16:12

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 16:12
hey samsgoneagain

I reckon your post was because Gone Bush called my truck a truck.....so what?

it is my truck and didnt bother me what people call it and so little confused why it should bother you.......

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 298286

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:19

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:19
Geez Bungarra, your ute's looking good.

got your sms, tks.

FollowupID: 564462

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 16:38

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 16:38
Yawn....
I think we went thru all this last year on this forum.
Not quite as many responses this time.
(yet)

AnswerID: 298290

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 17:57

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 17:57
Yeh I started it , nothing like a refresher course...lol

FollowupID: 564411

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 17:00

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 17:00
So what do we call truckster now.

AnswerID: 298293

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 19:15

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 19:15
a rebel without a cause

FollowupID: 564431

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:06

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 21:06
Bruce???

But that is not what I call him to his ugly face.

FollowupID: 564456

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 17:24

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 17:24
If ya look in the user manual you will find that most 4x4's that do not have a tray are called station wagons... check ya glove box or should it be called something else ..

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 298294

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 17:49

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 17:49
Having driven trucks as a kid and now a troopy I can confidently say there is no discernible difference in handling and application. I am wondering who this tosser is and what he drives...perhaps a Suzuki Mighty Boy?
AnswerID: 298298

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 19:05

Sunday, Apr 13, 2008 at 19:05
Its very kiwi to call a 4by a truck
No there not trucks - you need a truck liscense to drive a truck.
the smallest 4by you would call a truck is probablly an f 350 because you need a truck liscense to drive one.
I have a 4by or wagon - not a truck
AnswerID: 298312

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 03:34

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 03:34
anything below 4.5T is NOT a truck .. just a kindergarden vehicle or a poser vehicle. It's a SUV or a Utility Vehicle... like it or not.
I drive a SUT . Sports - Utility - Truck and yes it is a Truck (NB2).

have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 298386

Reply By: OzTroopy - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 11:43

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 11:43
For all 4wd pass / ute vehicles in general:

Pre 1985 - Its a truck
Post 1985 to 1995 with a tray/wellbody - Its a truck / ute
Post 1985 to 1995 without a tray/wellbody - Feels like its a truck
Post 1995 with a tray/wellbody - Its a truck / ute
Post 1995 without a tray/wellbody - Its a like a Subaru.
AnswerID: 298422

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 11:45

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 11:45
My rego papers say Landrover Truck.....so good enough for those taking my money, good enough for me.
AnswerID: 298423

Reply By: Bill from Custom Boat Loaders- Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 18:18

Monday, Apr 14, 2008 at 18:18
This is slightly OT but seeing you're keen on words try these.....

The following are results from an OZ-words Competition where entrants were asked to take an Australian word, alter it by one letter only, and supply a witty definition. Clearly, you need to be an Aussie to understand.

Billabonk: to make passionate love beside a waterhole.
Bludgie: a partner who doesn't work, but is kept as a pet.
Dodgeridoo: a fake indigenous artefact.
Fair drinkum: good-quality Aussie wine.
Flatypus: a cat that has been run over by a vehicle.
Mate bleep : all your flatmate's belongings, lying strewn around the floor.

Shagman: an unemployed male, roaming the Australian bush in search of sexual activity.
Yabble: the unintelligible language of Australian freshwater crustaceans.
Bushwanker: a pretentious drongo, who reckons he's above average when it comes to handling himself in the scrub.
Crackie-daks: 'hipster' tracksuit pants.

And for the Kiwi's amongst us:

Shornbag: a particularly attractive naked sheep.

AnswerID: 298474

Reply By: str- Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 13:58

Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 13:58
The opening statement is a bit contradictory....
you know what makes me angry . nothing..................except ....

TOSSERS!!!!! who make statements like that!

I occasionally call mine a truck! it has a chassis, a bed liner and it carries a load! I have to climb up into it. and really .... WHO CARES!

cha ching... thats my 2c
AnswerID: 298675

Reply By: PajeroTD - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 23:37

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 23:37
Sam...dude...seriously, calm down.
but there are a few definitions you left out. Based on the following definitions I would think it's ok to refer to a ute or a pickup as a "truck" whether it makes you angry or not. Calling an SUV a truck is probably pushing the definition a little far, though some are designed for some cargo carrying inside, aswell as heavy trailer hauling capabilities, which fits definitions consistant with below. Calling a sedan a truck is just dumb, though i can't say i have ever heard anyone calling a sedan "a truck." There is not just one dictionary out there, there are several. The definitions you gave were consistant with many of them, but there are more definitions. Also, to people living in the 21st century, modern language is acceptable. As far as I know, unchangable English language dictionaries weren't thrown in with the creation of the universe as part of a package deal.

DICTIONARY.COM
–noun 1. any of various forms of vehicle for carrying goods and materials, usually consisting of a single self-propelled unit but also often composed of a trailer vehicle hauled by a tractor unit.
2. any of various wheeled frames used for transporting heavy objects.
–verb (used with object) 11. to transport by truck.
12. to put on a truck.
–verb (used without object) 14. to convey articles or goods on a truck.
15. to drive a truck.
–adjective 17. of, pertaining to, or for a truck or trucks: a truck drive; truck tires.

AMERICAN HERITAGE DICTIONARY
1. Any of various heavy motor vehicles designed for carrying or pulling loads.

I know there are people who say the definition of truck should be limited to a certain size of truck, but there is nothing out there to rule such. Nothing I have seen in definitions of truck says anything about them being relatively large, small or otherwise. They don't say they are limited to diesel power, electric, handpush/pulled, horsedrawn etc. The word "truck" has a very broad definition. Who knows what we will be calling trucks in 50 years from now!!??!!??
AnswerID: 298956