Cape Melville - trip report

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 08:58
ThreadID: 56653 Views:1693 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
I have been keeping a rather low profile lately but have finally put pen to paper to provide a trip report via the new blog feature (not sure if this is the best way). Feel free to comment or ask questions while the experience is still relatively fresh in my mind.

My blog

Reply By: Member - helen M (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 09:29

Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 09:29
Great read!! Very envious...
AnswerID: 298628

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 09:37

Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 09:37
Hi Helen,

Thank you. I like the place but then again there is a lot in WA I like as well.

Theo
FollowupID: 564733

Reply By: Member - helen M (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 12:15

Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 12:15
HI there , Yes W.A is really beautiful my husband and i have done abit of travelling through it, haven't done much at all of the east coast and inland but we are looking foward to it, this will be our last year on the farm, then hopefully have alot more time on our hands!!Love geting on the net and reading peoples travels getting ideas about places to see...
cheers for now
H
AnswerID: 298656

Reply By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 12:55

Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 12:55
Beatit,
Good to hear from you Theo. A top effort on the blog.
We are going there again this year in early September for two weeks. Will have to learn this blog thing so i can give a trip report. Taking a trailer this year, so hope i don't have spring problems.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 298660

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 13:10

Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 13:10
Bros,

Thanks for the info in the first place it was certainly helpful in the planning. Now if only I didn't manage to get my crew lost on the turn off! We had a great time and it was just one big adventure - the little issues were just part of the journey.

The trailer with the broken springs had been very reliable till that moment but we always carry at least one spare spring.

I still have unfinished business at Cape Melville and look to go back one day also hope you have a great trip when you go.

Theo
FollowupID: 564778

Reply By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 13:44

Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 13:44
Theo,
Thanks for the kind wishes. Have got the spare spring ready. Will post the trip on return.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 298672

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 16:29

Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 16:29
Nice write-up Theo.

Looks like you had a good time. Those tropical coastal fringes are magic when you strike the right weather.

AnswerID: 298703

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 16:47

Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 16:47
Thanks Willem. The first few days sure were bad but the rest was just superb. If life wasn't calling you home it would be easy to stay a month or two.

Theo
FollowupID: 564805

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 19:09

Tuesday, Apr 15, 2008 at 19:09
Theo,

Damn good read, thanks.

AnswerID: 298734

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 07:23

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 07:23
Thanks Al, you know it was therapy writing about the journey made me enjoy the whole trip again.

Theo
FollowupID: 564949

Reply By: Member - craig W (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 06:02

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 06:02
Hi there!! Enjoyed your Blog on cape Mellville!!We were there in Late june last year, And i,d agree it is Paradise!!We wernt so lucky with the wind though,it blew i should say HOWLED from the S.E the whole week we were there!!Made it tough i tell ya.We stayed a week every day just praying for the wind to drop??No way!! After a week i gave in!! Couldnt go any further than 200mtrs of shore in the tinny,caught heaps anyway on the reef just off shore.I dreamed off getting out to the Islands in the Bay!! No all about the mud flat that got you guys as well,I,d the same as well i followed a vehicle that was ahead off me, about 200 mtrs across i thought NO WAY!! Turned and made a dash back, nearly worked!! I got to christen the new diff lock!! I think we even stayed under the same Coral tree u did,looks very familar?? I can only imagine how enjoyable the place would be with out the Bullet!!(WIND) I,ll be back for sure,Not sure about the wife but!!will leave it to later in the season as ive been told the winds do die down in Oct-Nov??. Regards, Craig!!!
AnswerID: 298800

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 07:28

Wednesday, Apr 16, 2008 at 07:28
G'day Craig,

Probably was your tracks we followed! To us it looked like a lot of cars had headed accross the mud but later we noticed it was just a doubling back. We also noticed that some places just didn't seem to get the wind as bad - anywhere between the hills the wind would howl through and coincidently this seemed to be the best place to trawl for fish. Hope you make it back as I know how tough it can be to convince the bride.

Theo
FollowupID: 564951