Innamincka EO Gathering in July

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 19, 2008 at 23:28
ThreadID: 56792 Views:2028 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
It is looking likely that we will be able to get away for this event. We will be coming over from WA. towing our van.

We will be going to Melbourne first and my questions are:

anyone going from Melbourne up thru Broken Hill etc and could we tag along?

On the homeward trip:

anyone returning via Strezlecki Track to SA and could we tag along?

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 00:21

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 00:21
Hiya Bud

Its looking like we may head up that way (still thinking about it)..I really want to look at Dalhousie Springs too,Which means going over the Simmo Desert for me and back down....If your interested in that all the better if i go ????

AnswerID: 299376

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 00:36

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 00:36
G'day Warfer,

I'm sure there would have to be someone going across the Simpson to Dalhousie but unfortunately it won't be us with a caravan in tow.

We'll have a beer at Innamincka tho'.

FollowupID: 565551

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 00:52

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 00:52
*won't be us with a caravan in tow*

Sorry mate it slipped the ol pee brain,I can give you a solid answer in the coming weeks...

We'll have a beer at Innamincka tho

Now your Talkin !

FollowupID: 565554

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 06:53

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 06:53
GB,

Are you after the most furtherest travelled to attend award??

Cause if you are make sure you bring your own prize LOL

Looking forward to meeting you there.

AnswerID: 299386

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 10:23

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 10:23
GB, Lucky would be going from Melbourne and possibly towing a Base Station. He says it 'may turn up' but I guess isn't holding his breath.

We would be going from the Western end of the Great Ocean Road, just three hours West of Melbourne with Kim in tow. Not sure if the GOR is on your itinerary this time. 45km from Warrnambool.

Should be plenty travelling from Melbourne though.
AnswerID: 299406

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 10:22

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 10:22
Hullo John,

It would certainly be easy to meet up somewhere in NW Vic enroute to Broken Hill.

We drove the GOR when we went over to pick up our van last year. Great drive for the passenger !!

I hate to think what it would be like pulling a van thru those twisty bits in the Otways.

FollowupID: 565778

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 03:27

Thursday, Apr 24, 2008 at 03:27
Yeh, GB, could do just that. An EO member up that way too, we may catch up on along the way, that is assuming we get there. Of course in Broken Hill we may pick up Dave B too.

Talking to the culprit with the Base Station as destinct from Space Statiion, the Innamincka trrip will be the maiden voyage. He hasn't got it yet, but told him that heaps of pepole were dropping crap through it at the Caulfield Racecourse yesterday.

Can imagine not wanting to tow a big van through the GOR. Our skinny one can get around corners and close white posts easily.

Will have to see what is happening closer to the time I think. Have a possible int. trip to work on too in August. Nothing sure on that either, otherwise off too the the deserts!
FollowupID: 566353

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 19:08

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 19:08
I'm in Broken Hill, and as far as I know, there are a few others coming this way.

Not sure of the dates though.

Come and join us if you like.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 299477

Reply By: TD100 - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 20:54

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 20:54
GB,

i am going that way but i will be leaving melbourne on the 30th of june,will be too early for the gathering.unfortunatly cant hang around that long either.but if it suits then why not!cheers Paul
AnswerID: 299516

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen - Melb) - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 21:39

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 21:39
Hi GB

We are probably leaving Melbourne on 21st June but might end up being a week later - not sure really. If we leave on 21st June we will probably head up the coast way a bit more.

Looking forward to Innamincka - will be great to get away.

Andrew and Jen
AnswerID: 299525

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen - Melb) - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 21:46

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 21:46
I see you are planning to go to Russia too - sounds and incredible trip but bit too far for us...
FollowupID: 565711

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 21:59

Sunday, Apr 20, 2008 at 21:59
Yeah......

Major obstacles looming, producing considerable uncertainty but haven't given up... yet.

FollowupID: 565721

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 10:23

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 10:23
Thanks everyone,

it seems like we won't be by ourselves.

We will fine tune closer to the date.