cleaning Van interior lining

Submitted: Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 18:13
ThreadID: 56859 Views:1787 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
We've just purchased an older (1995) Coromal poptop (thanks to help from this forum).
I think the interior linings are basically paper over ply. Around the kitchen area the walls are a bit stained. As it is not possible to wash the area because the paper would just disintegrate, has anyone any ideas about cleaning?. Anything harsh like bleach is out, so I was wondering about a foam or something like that. If anyone on the forum has a van with this kind of lining, could you please let me know how you deal with stains, otherwise I'll have to paint it - in my favourite footy team colours !. (and then SWMBO will insert me at the top of the obituary column).Thanks
T.R.

Reply By: Notso - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 18:45

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 18:45
I think the lining is vinyl over ply, Try some water with a little dishwashing liquid and a soft cloth on a small out of the way area.

AnswerID: 299683

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 18:53

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 18:53
I think it is paper Notso but I'll try your suggestion on an out of sight place.
Thanks (again)

T.R.
FollowupID: 565846

Reply By: mattie - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 20:05

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 20:05
Hi Ribby
I am quite sure your assumptions are spot on it is printed paper on the ply it is called random groove ply.

MATTIE
AnswerID: 299698

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 20:46

Monday, Apr 21, 2008 at 20:46
Thanks for the name.
I'll find out soon when I clean a small area with
a mild detergent.
T.R.
FollowupID: 565864

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 08:38

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 08:38
Hi TR
If you are a bit handy pull all the door off and glue new ply over the top. A laminex trimmer ( router) will open all the cupboards up and you fit the doors back on. Looks like a new van. Not very hard to do.
The other option is wallpaper over the top.

Reiner
AnswerID: 299783

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:47

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:47
Thanks for your reply Reiner. That is a long-term solution for us. I would want to use laminex.

T.R.
FollowupID: 566044

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 07:34

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 07:34
T.R. Gunnersen sell a plywood lining which most new caravan builders use it is called "resiliance"
I use it for my Teardrop Campers. You can draw on it with a marker pen or stick sikaflex to it and just wipe it off. Very good stuff and heaps cheaper than laminex.
Bunnings sell it too.

Reiner
FollowupID: 566154

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 15:32

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 15:32
I hadn't heard of that one. Was talking to the Coromal Caboolture workshop and was told about a laminex available from kitchen manufacturers called Polished Aluminium. This would make a neat job of the fridge panel and probably available as an offcut. I'll have to go around a few of the kitchen places and there are 2 large Bunnings in my area - I'll definitely have a close look there
T.R.
FollowupID: 566239

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:27

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:27
Howdy, maybe try some sugar soap, you can get it from hardware stores and is an excellent product for cleaning grime etc from most surfaces. Just avoid using anything abrasive.
AnswerID: 299884

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:49

Tuesday, Apr 22, 2008 at 18:49
Thanks barry, will definitely look into sugar soap as it is available from our local supermarket. We have a piece of the material covering the fridge door which we're going to use to experiment with all the stuff mentioned on this post.

T.R.
FollowupID: 566047

Reply By: T-Ribby - Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 15:43

Wednesday, Apr 23, 2008 at 15:43
Just to finish off this thread, I've done a lot of searching on the net for cleaning non-vinyl wallpaper, and even restoring old books !. There is a product the bookies use "Absorene", a putty. One theme keeps popping up and that is wallpaper putty (aka Play Dough) and doughy white bread.
In the days before washable wallpaper they used to make up a mix of borax, salt and a few other things and use that to clean the paper. I can now remember removing pencil scribbling off paper with bread - had forgotten that over time. Other stuff we are going to try is sugar soap, baking soda, diluted white vinegar, staying away from bleach and harsh cleaners. I went into Big-W today and found 3 pottles of white play dough (had to push away a couple of 4 yr olds in the process). If it doesn't work at least I'll be able to keep myself amused on a wet afternoon !. Thanks for all your suggestions
T.R.
AnswerID: 300092