Suspension lift for the Navara D22

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 16:14
ThreadID: 57117 Views:9271 Replies:3 FollowUps:5
I know this has been spoken about not too long ago, but after spending time last night going over hundreds of past posts,I can't find it.
I need to lift the Navara D22 2006 Mod about 2 inches but I don't want to end up with a rock hard ride. The Ute is only used for play and so carries about 150 to 200 Kg in the back. (Recovery gear etc.). Also have the CT so about 90 Kg on the tow ball. I will mount the winch onto the factory Bull Bar at some stage, so will most likely also need to upgrade the front torsion bars.
Who has upgraded their D22 & what brand have you used?

Vince

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 16:35

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 16:35
Found this on the forum mate,

Might help
http://www.exploroz.com/Forum/Topic/48218/D22_Navara_Suspension_upgrade.aspx
AnswerID: 301164

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 16:51

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 16:51
Thanks Not So. Thats the one I was lookinf for. For the life of me, I could not find it last night.
Thanks again. I will member message Bucky and have a talk to him about his ute
Vince
FollowupID: 567244

Follow Up By: Notso - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 17:16

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 17:16
Gedday Vince,

When you search use the Key words like D22, Suspension, Navarra etc

Enter it in this format D22 and Suspension and Navarra

That helps to reduce the number of posts you find and makes sure that you get relevant ones.
FollowupID: 567249

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 08:25

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 08:25
Thanks Notso. That explains some of my searching problems. The other problems, I think are age related
Vince
FollowupID: 567335

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 20:16

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 20:16
Vince,

I haven't read the previous post as yet but I reckon it you try for a full 2" you'll be right on the stop rubbers (I had an 04 STR as per the profile page and wanted the same). Another consideration to get a bit more clearance overall is to up-size the tyres to a 255R75 16 up from the R70's. This will give you at least an inch and a more robust torsion bar up front will comfortably give you the second inch while leaving plenty of front end travel between the stops. It will throw your speedo out by 4 to 5 kph less (ie; shows 96 kph, actual 100 kph) and increase your fuel economy.

Cheers. Mick

AnswerID: 301199

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 08:33

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 08:33
Thanks Mick. I will be changing the torsion bars as I still have to put the winch onto the bull bar, and I think that will drop the front.
I had a look at the mentioned posts and it seems that Bucky had the same problems as I do. Main one is the height of the tow hitch. It is so low the CT sits with a nose down attitude. If I turn the hitch over it gives the correct attitude, BUT ia can't open the tail gate of the ute.
I will look at changing the tyres when they have worn down.
Thanks again
FollowupID: 567336

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 22:02

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2008 at 22:02
Send Bucky a message, although he said he would be on here tomorrow arvo after night shift.....he has done a 3''.

(We havent done it yet....one day when the new ones clag out I spose! No point replacing brand newies just yet for us)

AnswerID: 301222

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 08:34

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 08:34
Thanks Laura. I will MM Bucky. I had a look at his posts.
See you on the Cooper in July
Vince
FollowupID: 567337