1HZ Run On

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 29, 2003 at 04:54
ThreadID: 5720 Views:2512 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
Got this weird problem that only happens once in every 10 stops or so. Once I have turned the key off the engine will run for approx 3-5 seconds before stopping. Thought it might have something to do with the stop solinoid but once this fails shouldn't it do it every time and wouldn't it keep running until stalled in gear? If not what do I check and what's the damage on the beer fund going to be to fix it?
Hughesy

Reply By: Flesh - Sunday, Jun 29, 2003 at 05:30

Sunday, Jun 29, 2003 at 05:30
Hughesy,

I'm not 100% on this but I have heard that there is a seal on the injector pump that if faulty will allow fuel to leak into the sump. When enough fuel has leaked in it can cause the engine to run on after switching off. Check if your oil level is increasing. Have heard of an engine that wouldn't shut down and almost destroyed it self.

How big is the beer buget? -:)

Flesh
AnswerID: 23754

Follow Up By: Hughesy - Sunday, Jun 29, 2003 at 19:24

Sunday, Jun 29, 2003 at 19:24
Flesh,
No the oil level hasn't increased and when it does run on it does it at a smooth idle so I'm pretty sure its not fuel leaking into the sump. Thanks for the tip but I think Ray might be on to it. Yes the beer budget is fairly big but not "toyota spare parts" big!!
Hughesy
FollowupID: 15923

Reply By: Ray - Sunday, Jun 29, 2003 at 12:49

Sunday, Jun 29, 2003 at 12:49
Hi Hughesy
The problem could be with the plunger or the spring under the shut off solenoid.
Also the plunger can become sticky on old models, some times just a strip and clean can solve your problem. Ray.
AnswerID: 23764

Follow Up By: Hughesy - Sunday, Jun 29, 2003 at 19:57

Sunday, Jun 29, 2003 at 19:57
Ray,
Sounds pretty good mate so I might give it a try. Its only a 97 model but it has done 235000km. Fingers crossed that its only that simple.
Hughesy
FollowupID: 15926

Reply By: desert - Sunday, Jun 29, 2003 at 20:32

Sunday, Jun 29, 2003 at 20:32
Would also check injection timing, re last change of timing belt. For every 2 belts that are changed, the idle pulley should also be done as bearing failure in this pulley is starting to show it's head. Check that voltage to shut-off solenoid is actually shutting off, and a clean of the needle may be all that is required.
AnswerID: 23788

Follow Up By: Hughesy - Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 00:34

Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 00:34
Thanks desert, will try that as well. I did the timing belt again at 200000km but hadn't heard about changing the idler pulley, might keep that in mind if the beer budget goes into surplus (not likely).
Hughesy
FollowupID: 15965

Reply By: Tony - Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 08:16

Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 08:16
I guess this is one of those TOYOTA traits you carn't kill em with a stick. They want to run for ever.

"OH WHAT A FEELING" TOYOTA!
AnswerID: 23818

Reply By: tour boy - Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 12:10

Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 12:10
g'day all check the starter solonoid relay they sometimes play up. This can also cause a miss now and then whilst driving.
hope this helps.
AnswerID: 23838

Follow Up By: Member - ADRIAN- Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 23:12

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 23:12
check your alternator circuit voltage return from alt light can cause this problem as the alternator supplys power to the ign on the other side of the switch. a diode in the alt. light wire wil fix/check for elect radiator fans as well, if these are wired to work with key on they will feed reverse currant as well as eng fan will keep them spinning making them a generator. have seen aicon clutches wrecked by this many times .so these fan motors do generate sufficient power.also check for anyother elect. device that you might have on vehicle wired to key that might give same problem when eng. runs on try turn on wipers and flickers etc to draw currant from this saurce if the eng, stops then feed back is the problem. had a friend that fitted a 2.4 hilux diesel to axy falcon ute with holden bosch alternator . he had run on problems caused by feed back from alternator via the light/excter circuit heused to put gear lever into reverse to stop eng.ie starved the circuit from power a diode would fix this in his case.

regards dmech
FollowupID: 16135

Reply By: Cruza - Wednesday, Jul 02, 2003 at 19:55

Wednesday, Jul 02, 2003 at 19:55
I can't help any mate, but I can tell you I have had the exact same problem in my 60 series cruiser. It seems to happen after a long drive. Anyways, I got over it, don't think its hurting anything.
AnswerID: 24061