Taking off stabililiser bars on 80 series

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 29, 2003 at 23:58
ThreadID: 5731 Views:1638 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
Is it a good idea to take them off if I am doing some bush track work and need a bit more articulation?

What effects will it have and should I do it before I leave and Drive for 2 hours without them? I am thinking that it might be unsafe at highway speeds with a decent load.

I have a 3 inch lift and Rancho 9's and am going to landcruiser mountain park in a couple of weeks. Mine is a 92 TD GXL and wonder if it will have a significant effect when I am attempting harder tracks to take them off. any help would be appreciated. Oh yeah, nearly forgot, how long will it take a novice and are there any special tools needed?

Cheers, Charlie

Reply By: Justin - Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 08:22

Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 08:22
Charlie,

I have a 97 std 80 series dual cab and went to landcruiser a couple of weeks ago. I was very impressed at the performance of the vehicle and did sucessfully take it up an extreme track. With a lift kit I recon thats all you need unless you are planning to do some real hardcore 4wding. One tip DONT DRIVE IN THE MUD AT SPEED you will stuff your alternator as I did and so did my mate who has a 75 series. It's a great spot and apart from a snatch strap and a two way thats about all you need. They have a support vehicle there (at a cost) it you get into trouble.
AnswerID: 23819

Reply By: Kev - (Cairns,QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 11:20

Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 11:20
Hi Charlie,

I have a 80 series with a 6" lift springs and have fitted the sway bar disconects but to be honest have yet to bother using them. (too lazy)

A mate has a lifted 80 series and removed his sway bars all together and just sets his Ranchos to a bit stiffer and he said he has no problems. I prefer to keep mine on just the same.

BTW- i also had altenator problems from mud so it seems a common thing but have had no trouble since i fitted a bash plate.

Kev.
AnswerID: 23830

Follow Up By: roscoe - Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 11:34

Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 11:34
G'day guys, I too have an 80 series that has had an alternator problem. Apparently a quick and cheap fix is to drive through some clear water at speed as this will wash the mud away from the contacts at the back of the alternator. I must say it was a shock to see the dash light up like a christmas tree the first time it happened. It must be a common problem for the LandCruisers. Seeya, Roscoe.
FollowupID: 15980

Follow Up By: Kev - (Cairns,QLD) - Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 12:22

Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 12:22
Most say the contacts at the rear of the alternator caused the problem but on mine they were ok, it was the mud that got inside the alternator itself and blocked the brushes from working.

I too wasn't sure what had happend as id expect just one light to illuminate the same with other Toyotas iv owned, Don't see why it has to over ride all other dash lights.
FollowupID: 15985

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 13:05

Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 13:05
Check if you need engineers to be legal...

Its modifying the handling largely...

AnswerID: 23846

Reply By: Steve - Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 23:44

Monday, Jun 30, 2003 at 23:44
As a consequence of so many jerks strutting their bleep anderings on this site , they are turning this Forum into a Wankers session.. I suggest you all go and play somewhere else with your 3 inches of lift -- maybe a couple more will stiffen your problem...
AnswerID: 23917

Follow Up By: charlie - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 00:01

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 00:01
Thanks for the constructive info! I will take this under advisement. To all others thanks for your help. It seems when someone is looking for some genuine advice from other userers it is frowned upon by some people "Steve". To me it looks like there is only one Wanker in this thread, bravo, encore.............
FollowupID: 16025

Follow Up By: Kev - (Cairns,QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 11:38

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 11:38
Sounds like the only one here with a problem is you Steve !

What, arn't we allowed to talk about our modified 4 wheel drives ?
I didn't see any signs on this site saying "Standard vehicals only".

Sounds like jealousy to me ! LOL
FollowupID: 16042

Follow Up By: Luke - Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 17:22

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2003 at 17:22
hahaha who's the wanker here Steve?....
FollowupID: 16080