nissan zd30

Submitted: Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 20:39
ThreadID: 57401 Views:4371 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
Hi to everyone,just wondering if anyone can help,was driving my 03 gu wagon on the highway on cruisecontrol when it started to slow down,checked for warning lights-nothing,as i went to pull over checked my mirrors and was horrified to see the biggest cloud of smoke coming out ! Shut it down checked out under the bonnet,nothing obviously wrong,restarted it to find it sounds like it's dropped a cylinder.Managed to limp home now i would like to know if anyone out there has had any success rebuilding one of these jiggers.It's always been regularly serviced,done a lot of kays (270000),the only other things that have needed attention were the water pump(expensive) and the clutch(expensive).I have rung nissan and they have not really been too helpful so any advice at all would be appreciated.Thanks.Paul

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 20:43

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 20:43
Welcome to the world of ZD30 implodes or is it explodes.Go to the search facility of the forum and type in ZD30 and spend the next month reading about all the poor buggers who have suffered the same dramas as yourself. Good luck with it all.
AnswerID: 302769

Reply By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 20:56

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 20:56
Yes mate, a well known and widely talked about issue on this forum. Nissan should be held severely accountable for the money some people have had to spend on this motor.

I had one, loved it to death but had to get rid of it for fear of the 'when not if" factor.

Bloody shame. And I am well out of pocket for the change over.

I still reckon the poootrol is the best 4 x 4 you get value for money with ability to boot but that engine is a time bomb.

Fix it and flog it.
AnswerID: 302771

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 22:42

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 22:42
Andrew, I'm in the same boat as you were, I have a 2000 3.0 ZD30 pootrol with 150,000klm. Can I ask what your fuel consumption is with the cruiser compared to the 3.0 patrol.

I may be looking at doing the same as you, although for the price I could get a V8 for a fair bit less and spend the fifference on petrol!
FollowupID: 568924

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 12:39

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 12:39
Muzzgit

My Pootrol was a manual and the cruiser is a 5sp auto. I can't really notice a difference in diesel consumption at all under normal driving conditions. I haven't towed anything heavy long distances as yet so can't compare that but many others on this forum can give you an idea.

LCOOL forum has plenty of info on the economy topics.

Both vehicles have their good and bad points. Shame about the 3.0tdi patrol motor issues or they would be the best ever value for money V's very thing else you can get.

The V8 cruiser is something to look at for sure. The whole petrol price thing is bl**dy scary though. If you're towing I'd spend the extra on a diesel, if not the petrol maybe the go.

FollowupID: 569008

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 21:06

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 21:06
Search on this forum,

Plenty of helpful advice there

http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=10
AnswerID: 302776

Reply By: Member - Matthew C - Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 21:38

Thursday, May 08, 2008 at 21:38
All the best with the rebuild/replace you are just one of mnay hundred ZD30 owners with failed engines.
AnswerID: 302784

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 02:15

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 02:15
Paul I'm a bit surprised that Nissan didn't say "Thats never happened before"

Good luck and as others have said a search on here will keep you reading for many hours.

AnswerID: 302810

Reply By: 3.0turbob - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 08:55

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 08:55
With 270,000 klm on the clock it may be a bit difficult to get any help from Nissan. Have a look at the following website, it gives some info on the 3ltr Patrol and who to contact if things go wrong. Good luck.
www.lonards-automotive.com.au

Rob
AnswerID: 302830

Follow Up By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 20:42

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 20:42
Hi 3.0turbob. My page has been down for a few months as I have been away from the workshop. I am about the only one that works on these things around my neck of the woods and my staff don't like them so I tried to relieve them of the problems. I am back some time next week so will put the web page back up.
Thanks for the reference.
FollowupID: 569272

Reply By: bobsa - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 09:42

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 09:42
Hi, Sorry to hear about you problem.
Check out the patrol4X4 forum and find a guy called nizbits he has rebuild kits.
There is a lot of information there.
Another place to source a motor is Brunswick Diesel in WA they sell motor complete that people have pulled out to upgrade to 6.5L chev. Last 3.0L for sale was $8K and that was complete with turbo, alt, water pump and clutch, had only 4000km on it
I hope you get out of trouble Ok.
Like all thing they are great when they are running , but a real pain when they are not.
Regards Robert
AnswerID: 302844

Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 20:38

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 20:38
Rebuild them all the time.
With the amount of km on it the fuel pump will be worn and running retarded. So that means a reco fuel pump at the same time. Make sure you have a spare 10k to 12k to do the job properly. My last rebuild is currently out in the centre of Aussie towing a camper and still going strong.
AnswerID: 303119