If you go down to the weighbridge today, you're in for a BIG surprise......

Submitted: Friday, May 09, 2008 at 14:12
ThreadID: 57420 Views:3453 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
Sing that along the lines of the Teddybears Picnic song...........

So there I was, ealy this morning, saying should I or shouldn't I?

Have not weighed the fully laden trailer before and have sort of worked out what the weight might be taking the base weight into consideration and adding the gear stored therein.

Well its an 84km return trip to the weighbridge and with fuel costing aplenty, I dithered for a while, but then decided to go.

The GQ is 100kg under GVM fully fuelled less occupants.

The 7x4 bush trailer.....I'm not saying in case I incriminate myself...lol

Even if I remove some of the unnecessary gear packed in the trailer I might still be over the GVM.

I do carry extra fuel in the trailer though, so it gets lighter the further we travel.

Sheeeesh!!!!!!!

Reply By: Member - David P (VIC) - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 14:23

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 14:23
Hey Willem, are you serious? On that basis you couldn't tow any sort of caravan. What are the relevant weights for yr rig or are you not telling us about the cubic M of top-soil?.....lol?....silverback
AnswerID: 302886

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 18:20

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 18:20
I don't think Willie is saying that the trailer is making his PATROL over it's GCM (Gross Combined Mass)....rather he is saying that his trailer is legally allowed to weigh a maximum of 750kg (I'd guess, as it doesn't have brakes??), but that when it's fully loaded it may (or may not) be over that weight.....

If he had a 2000kg caravan (with brakes), his Patrol would legally be allowed to tow that, provided the c/van was within IT'S own GVM...
FollowupID: 569063

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 18:27

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 18:27
as the blind man said I C .....:))...silverback
FollowupID: 569066

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 14:30

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 14:30
Willem,

I wonder what my trailer weighs at the moment??
Lucky it has a 2t gross mass ha ha ha

AnswerID: 302889

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 15:07

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 15:07
So what you're saying Willem is with only 100kg remaining that only one person can go now?? :-))
By the way does your trailer have brakes?
Cheers Craig.....
AnswerID: 302892

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 16:20

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 16:20
G'day Craig

Somehow I can't understand why the GQ's GVM is only 2800kg. Yes, one of us will have to stay home, probably me ...lol

As to the second question....I know what yer going to say so I won't say..........

FollowupID: 569045

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 17:02

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 17:02
I wouldn't dare lecture anyone on overloading as we weighed in at 3.6 tonne last trip with the 4 girls :-0 Time for a trailer I feel too.
Have a great trip, cheers Craig...........
FollowupID: 569053

Reply By: traveller2 - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 15:10

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 15:10
Yes Willem can get very scary, pity most don't weigh their rigs when going on hols.
If they did they might not feel so bad about the fuel consumption, poor performance, tyre wear, drivetrain wear etc.
When we had the troopy (s) they consistently weighed over 4t when loaded for an outback trip, then we hooked the camper on the back, no wonder the climb over the divide when heading west from sydney was a long day.
Always remember the weighbridge operator at the Alice years ago refusing to write the weight down, would only give it to me verbally, said it was for my own protection, on that occasion troopy weighed 4.1T plus the camper on the back.
AnswerID: 302894

Reply By: Splits - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 15:16

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 15:16
Willem

Just blame the weighbridge, that will fix the problem.

When I bought my Hilux last year I had to weigh it for registration. It is an aluminium tray single cab and it came in at 1610 kg. My wife and I have a combined weight of 150 kg making 1760 when we are in it. As we drove out of the local council tip last week with the tray empty, it weighed 1880 kg.

Dunno where the extra 120 kg came from. It must be all the stuff my wife has crammed into the glovebox!

AnswerID: 302895

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 16:49

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 16:49
Fuel, mud, accessories??
FollowupID: 569049

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 18:44

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 18:44
Was she carrying her handbag?

If she was I reckon you're getting off light at 120kg!!! :-)))

FollowupID: 569072

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 17:38

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 17:38
I can just see anorexia is about to set in here. LOL I have even put alloys on Kim to reduce the weight ;-))))
AnswerID: 302916

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, May 09, 2008 at 22:47

Friday, May 09, 2008 at 22:47
Those wagons are heavy muthas
the 80 in the rig pic weighs as much lightly loaded as my old house on wheels thats including double bed stove, oven fridge ,real front diff, and yes - the kitchen sink
Gota wonder where they put the lump of lead
AnswerID: 302979

Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 21:25

Saturday, May 10, 2008 at 21:25
With some of the weights quoted above I feel much better because I thought my Cruiser and Aussie Swag when loaded was heavy at a combined weight of 4 tonne. I had to engage low range once in Sydney to pull off on a hill I would swear was only 1 : 3. Without low range I would have burnt out the clutch. I think a lot of people kid themselves about the weight of their vehicle and trailers, underestimating the weight by heaps. I know Aussie Swag's stated unladen weight was out by about 250kgs when I put it on a weighbridge.
AnswerID: 303127