Dust reflector,on the rear off the vechile

Submitted: Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 19:41
ThreadID: 57507 Views:2121 Replies:11 FollowUps:1
A mate of mine has ask me to put it to you all,Do those plastic reflector's that sit above the rear door to keep the dust at bay,he is looking into one for he's 2001 Paj and was priced $130 bucks but is reluctant to part with the cash unless they work.cheer's GREENDOG

Reply By: Member - Stuart W (NSW) - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 19:50

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 19:50
My flexiglass canopy has one and while it's not 100% effective it's pretty good.
AnswerID: 303297

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 20:14

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 20:14

Ive got one on my 80 series....Do they work? Buggered if I know????
Probably...There is usually less dust on the window than the tail gate.
Dont think I would pay $130 for one though. Usually cant see jack out the back anyway.

AnswerID: 303306

Reply By: fozzy - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 20:27

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 20:27
greendog
mate has one on 100 series and compared to my 100 series is very clean.
when he puts roofrack on it hits roofrack mand also very limited difference in the 2 vehicles .

on 80 series i had i put one on and i reckon it did make a difference.
obviously different vehicles to yours however if i wasnt running a roofrack i would certainly consider-maybe not worth $130 in my opinion.

fozzy
AnswerID: 303312

Reply By: dedabato (SA) - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:03

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:03
Greendog,
I have one on my 80 series (probably last 10 years) and like everybody above "Don't know for sure but it looks good"

dedabatoImage Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 303321

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:39

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:39
If ya use a roof rack,forget it. There is to much air turbulence.
If ya dont use on,,,then get the deflector. We have one on the Patrol and it makes a big difference to the amount of dust on the back doors.

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 303334

Reply By: Honky - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:57

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:57
They do work as I have had a pajero, same body shape one with the other without.
On dirt roads the one without had dust running off the back window.
The other one always stayed clean.
Even works with rain.

Honky
AnswerID: 303341

Reply By: Kev C - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 22:03

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 22:03
A trip with 2 HQ wagons on the gravel 25 years ago proved their usefulness.

The wagon with the deflector could still see out of the back window. They weren't as pretty back then but did a good job.

Kev
AnswerID: 303343

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, May 12, 2008 at 00:01

Monday, May 12, 2008 at 00:01
Gday Greendog

The patrol ones work well, just bought a GU with one and I was skeptical, but far less dust on the newie than the old one!

Funnily enough just after I came to the conclusion that they worked well, a post come up on the Patrol forum singing their praised. I have 3 roof bars on the patrol now and it still seems to work. I'd buy a replacement if (when) I break this one

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 303374

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Monday, May 12, 2008 at 08:03

Monday, May 12, 2008 at 08:03
Hi Greendog
Like all the above, they work 100%. On our old Pajero, we never had one and when you were on dirt roads, you would get a dust build up over the back window, go through and the whole back of the vehicle would be quite thick with.
Fitted a rear deflector to the Prado and works 110% in, to the extent that it keeps the whole back of the vehicle cleaner, the air is forced down over the back to blow that dust away.
Tell your mate to get one.

AnswerID: 303388

Reply By: Ray - Monday, May 12, 2008 at 08:17

Monday, May 12, 2008 at 08:17
What about those bug deflectors mounted on the roo bar? Do they work?
AnswerID: 303391

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Monday, May 12, 2008 at 13:04

Monday, May 12, 2008 at 13:04
I don't know about the roo bar mounted ones, but I had one mounted to the bonnet on my old HZ 1 tonner years ago.

It worked really well, kept all but the largest bugs off the windscreen. The bonnetted road trains use them all the time.

Another advantage is that in heavy rain, when everybody has their wipers in second gear, you will only need to have your wipers on intermittent. Strangely, the rain runs down the windscreen instead of up when there is a bug deflector fitted.

HTH

FollowupID: 569528

Reply By: GREENDOG - Monday, May 12, 2008 at 19:53

Monday, May 12, 2008 at 19:53
Thanks guys for all your input,obviously it sound like they work on various vechiles.thanks again every one.cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 303467

Popular Products (11)