Well the bloody oil companys have won RD1

Submitted: Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:33
ThreadID: 57511 Views:2202 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
Never thought I would have to do this...but with the cost of diesel going north at an alarming rate, the mighty Patrol has been regulated to weekend work and trips only, and the new daily driver is a power house Yamaha '94 DT200R. Doing this has saved me around $7500 in running costs on the Patrol, so with the running of the bike around $4000 in net savings.

So the buggers have won RD1 BUT they wont make me sell it!!!!

So bite me Mobil, Shell, BP, Caltex.....and most important Woollies and Coles!!

Cheers Stefan

PS Rant over!! LOL

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:37

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:37
Add that to what your saving on fags and you'll be able to retire soon hahahahahahahaha

AnswerID: 303331

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:41

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:41
Gees your got to be Quick around here.. LOL
FollowupID: 569446

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:44

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:44
LOL missed by thaaaaaaaaaaat much :))))

FollowupID: 569447

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:38

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:38
Just use the money you save by not smoking on fuel, :-) cold on a bike in winter..

AnswerID: 303333

Reply By: Member - Porl - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:44

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 21:44
Know how you feel, looks like I might be getting a job that means driving 200km a day to and from work, quite a change from riding my bicycle to my current workplace, takes about 1ominutes.

So if I am commuting I've done the sums and will keep the lux but buy a 2nd hand honda jazz.
AnswerID: 303336

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Monday, May 12, 2008 at 17:11

Monday, May 12, 2008 at 17:11
I considered a small car, but went with the bike for max savings

Stefan
FollowupID: 569550

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 22:30

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 22:30
Hiya Stefan

You'll be saving money until some bugger (i wont say it).Be careful mate,If you have two brown eyes use the third one to see if you have too...Take nothing for granted..Look in the mirrors constantly (i mean all the time)..Ride like everyone is an IDIOT on the road..

I did the above and still got run down..Sometimes like mine its for life..Not trying to scare you at all but its about awareness,and sometimes you may get into the comfortable zone after awhile..

Take care

AnswerID: 303351

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 22:38

Sunday, May 11, 2008 at 22:38
Thanks.....Mate I know it only too well, I am a postie so I spend around 6 hrs a day on a bike, covered huge amount of Kms....Australia post spend huge amounts of money putting us through defensive riding courses every 2 years ect....You are right complacency gets you into trouble.

Every thing you said is the motto I ride by everyday, its been drummed into me for around 13 years now.

No point being in the right if ya are dead hey

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 569463

Reply By: Brian - Monday, May 12, 2008 at 08:16

Monday, May 12, 2008 at 08:16
Stefan,

You know it already but I'm gonna say it again....

Ride invisible!!

I have a VTX1300 as a weekend joy trip ride, and always try to ride as though I'm not there! You have to know what everyone else is doing before they do!

Good luck and stay safe mate!

Brian (Gold Coast)

AnswerID: 303390

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Monday, May 12, 2008 at 10:08

Monday, May 12, 2008 at 10:08
At least now you might be able to beat a Yota off at the lights hahahahahahahahahaha

AnswerID: 303407

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Monday, May 12, 2008 at 17:12

Monday, May 12, 2008 at 17:12
off at the lights AND up a hill climb!!!!! LOL
FollowupID: 569551

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, May 12, 2008 at 10:19

Monday, May 12, 2008 at 10:19
Hi Sefan

Great bike - I still have my original DT200L (1983) and you just can no longer by a bike that matches it in all areas for hard trail stuff.

I always felt that risk of injury was a bit high on bikes , but recently brought a new DRZ400E for dessert trip this year and it came with those road approved knobbies which aren't to bad.

But I work at the other end of a new 25km tollway which goes right past home , and I will give consideration to using the bike for regular 50km round trips if the new road improves the saftey aspect somewhat.
Might at least save rego costs over running my Patrol , but i think we might save more money by holding on to the cars a little longer espically as some of these hack 4wds may be considered for luxury car tax soon.

AnswerID: 303408

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Monday, May 12, 2008 at 17:10

Monday, May 12, 2008 at 17:10
G'day Robin,

The DT is often over looked as it was not marketed as a COOL bike, but my reserch suggests they are a bloody reliable unit. Goes like stink with the current sprockets on it, I will gear it for more top speed when it needs new new ones.

It is a one owner (before me of course), 10,000kms on it, full service history, not a mark on it, 5mths rego left. $1600!! why wouldn't you hey!!

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 569549

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Monday, May 12, 2008 at 17:57

Monday, May 12, 2008 at 17:57
crap photo......top bike

FollowupID: 569558

Popular Products (11)