9kg gas cylinder refills on the Gibb River road

Submitted: Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 19:25
ThreadID: 57609 Views:7054 Replies:9 FollowUps:1
Hello all.
More trip planning.
How have previous WA travellers found the availabilty of gas cylinder refills in the Kimberley?
Regards: Grant & Ange.

Reply By: tukka - Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 19:37

Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 19:37
Probably best getting refills done in Broome or Kununurra as i dont think you would have much luck on the Gibb Road.
AnswerID: 303797

Reply By: ozwasp - Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 19:41

Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 19:41
Mate, I think you should do a bit more planning
AnswerID: 303798

Reply By: VH-GU4 - Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 20:01

Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 20:01
9Kg is a hell of a lot of gas, i dont think you will run out with the standard length trip, just fill it up at the start.
AnswerID: 303802

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 20:23

Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 20:23
Grant

Just fill up in Derby. No problems after that.

Kim
AnswerID: 303809

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 20:26

Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 20:26
We carried a 4kg bottle was 10 days on the GRR including going into the Mitchelle & didn't look like running out of gas. Filled up in Derby and then again in Kununurra to be safe. BTW the place I filled up in Kununurra actually weighed the bottle and charged accordingly for the actual weight of gas filled & not the size of bottle.

AnswerID: 303810

Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 20:31

Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 20:31
You'll get it either end. eg Derby/Kunanurra or Fitzroy Xing. It'll be a good price too. Didn't see it available anywhere at the few places on the Gibb. Cheers.
Roger B.........
AnswerID: 303814

Reply By: Tim Owen - Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 20:36

Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 20:36
You can get a refill (or at least you could in July 2007) at Imintji store - the gas is not at the store itself, but up back in the community. They will fill it for you, but don't expect it to be the cheapest refill you have ever got - in fact probably the opposite. Nothing against the Imintji store - just the realities of services in that part of the world.
AnswerID: 303815

Follow Up By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 20:54

Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 20:54
Dont know about the gas -- but Imintji is one very friendly store - with best chocolate cake, cream and ice cream for several miles. Very obliging, helped heaps over several days when Bells Gorge road closed due rain lasdt year.

Gas available in Derby servo opposite woolworths (?). But allow for a long wait - We were told to come back in 2 hours to collect.

As already stated, 9 kgs seems a lot. We used mostly wood fires on several informal camps early in May 2007

FollowupID: 569944

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 21:28

Wednesday, May 14, 2008 at 21:28
Hi Grant & Ange

How long do you intend to be away from civilisation? We use gas for all cooling, and for the HWS. We don't have a gas fridge. A 9 kg bottle lasts us months. We have two on the caravan.

When we went out camping for two weeks last year, we bought a tiny gas bottle to fit in the back of the ute. We used it for cooking and water heating for our 'baths'. Needing gas this morning for lamb marking, any finding it a bit daunting to take the bottles off the caravan again (we have a generator box in front of them making access a bit tight), i thought of the camping bottle. It felt almost full.

AnswerID: 303828

Reply By: Alan H - Thursday, May 15, 2008 at 10:09

Thursday, May 15, 2008 at 10:09
In Broome go to Home Hardware as they still (or did recently) refill and charge by weight used instead of exchange cylinders.
They actually seem to like giving good service with a smile as well!
Alan.
AnswerID: 303895