Poor Fuel Economy 2007Navara D40 diesel AUTO

Submitted: Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 23:33
ThreadID: 57826 Views:19063 Replies:12 FollowUps:8
I have just bought a new Navara D40 automatic,2.5YD25ddti eng
and am VERY dissapointed with it,s fuel usuge .(get 12.5to 13 lt/100kms empty @95/100kmh easy country driving.
I have found in other forums LOTS of complaints about the automatic D40,s. Most people have found that it is due to a DPF (diesel particulate filter) fitted to the exhast system ,(only in the automatics)which creates more and more exhast pressure as it gets less efficient. Nissan say it is quite acceptable to get that sort of fuel use ,and have even disputed the more severe cases (16/17lt per100kms).
I am currently contacting different performance exhast systems businesses, to see if they can change the DPF, (or eliminate it ) without effecting waranty.
Has anyone had similar experiences ? ANY ideas appreciated.

New NAVARA D40 (with automatic g/box) buyers BEWARE !!!

Reply By: Stevo 62 - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 07:29

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 07:29
Have 2007 Navara auto with 33000 km and still cant get it below 12 l/100km
AnswerID: 305002

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 07:53

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 07:53
I'm sure it can be done Bktdond , but a recent 4wd mag carried an article on diesel which included comment that diesel particulates are quote "The new asbestos" so I wouldn't want to be slowing down for a red light with one removed.

AnswerID: 305004

Follow Up By: bktbond - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 10:30

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 10:30
Robin, what I cant understand is that the manual D40 (identical eng ) has NO filter, and must conform to all the emission requirements.
FollowupID: 571046

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 11:44

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 11:44
Thats a worry Bktbond - but in my car the petrol manual has dirrent setup for same engine with an extra Oxy sensor in the auto version.

I would also pursue the line that this car came with a plated fuel consumption figure somewhere around 10lt/100km I think.

This has legal force and if he can show that under similar driving conditions that he cannot achieve it , it becomes Nissan problem
and you have a right to have it fixed.

FollowupID: 571068

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 15:17

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 15:17
to robin miller; he would be very lucky to have nissan fix anything after they have got your money following ol mate buying a new car off them.been there done that!!!!!
FollowupID: 571091

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 15:53

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 15:53
Experiences seem to be mixed there Mark.

Mine was that Nissan air-freighted an engine out from Japan direct at a cost of $15000 for air freight and no-charge for engine under warranty so I was told.

So back up service , was hard to fault.

FollowupID: 571095

Reply By: Rhys - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 09:19

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 09:19
I have a turbo diesel Peugeot with a particulate filter and it has consistently returned 6 litres / 100 km over 80,000 km, so unless they are a different design it appear that the increase in back pressure may not be the issue, Rhys.
AnswerID: 305018

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 10:12

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 10:12
nissan not helpful,im not surprised
AnswerID: 305028

Reply By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 10:32

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 10:32
Its always valuable to read posts on newer vehicles.

I was looking at the Navara D40, albeit a 6 spd manual, to replace my old 90 series Prado TD as I needed something with a 3 tonne tow capacity.

With economy like that I'm better off keeping my old Prado which consisently gets 10 -11 L/100km.
AnswerID: 305031

Reply By: Russell [SA] - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 10:53

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 10:53
I'm TX D40 auto, economy sticker shows 10.8 or in my terms 11lit/100km so I will be plugging in the Scanguage and watching carefully.

Russell
AnswerID: 305036

Reply By: b407698 - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 11:52

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 11:52
I have a 2007 Navara D40 6 speed manual,2.5YD25ddti eng which has returned on average 10.9L/100km over the past 3000km
Best 10.29L/100km open road full load of camping gear.
Worst 11.49L/100km Melbourne metro driving
Have only clocked up around 5000km so I expect it still may improve further?

AnswerID: 305048

Follow Up By: bktbond - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 12:30

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 12:30
Paul, I only wish that I had bought a manual !
I could accept around 10.5lt/100km avge.
I rarely get the chance to buy a new vehicle ,and have busted my gut to get this one. Big $'s for a 2.5 lt guzzler, and prospects of getting worse! Attitude of Nissan is abysmal.
What goes around , comes around...........and I will be a little wiser.next time!
FollowupID: 571076

Reply By: bms - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 13:25

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 13:25
bktbond it should do better than that mate imho

Gee I start to whinge when my manual ML Triton goes above
10 lt/100 for just everyday driving.

Did a trip to the big smoke a while back and sat on 100/105 kmh there and back plus a fair bit of heavy city traffic did over 600K's for the whole trip and averaged 8.8 Lts/100km !!!

I haven't heard of any aftermarket exhausts that have DPF's as well only high flow cats as far as I know but worth checking out .
AnswerID: 305062

Follow Up By: samsgoneagain - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 18:12

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 18:12
wait till you own a 6 cylinder landcruiser. i get use about 18 - 20litres per 100km. apparently thats normal for the landcruiser ute.
FollowupID: 571122

Reply By: Member - AVA 191 (QLD) - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 18:33

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 18:33
bktbond,
Has any one addressed the gearing, when you were on the other forums.
I saw an article some time ago which pointed out that some of the utes have poor fuel consumption at highway speeds, because of the low final drive gearing, which is set up for "work" duties.

Auto's quite often have lower final drives than manuals, also.

Just a thought anyway.

Good luck with it all.
AnswerID: 305116

Reply By: Member - Lee C (SA) - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 19:46

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 19:46
Gday there, that does seem a little excesive. Have you tried another Nissan dealer? for another opion. If you still don't get the answer ya after, I'd then go to a diesel specialist. They might have help ya out.

I too have the same 07 model but a manual. At one stage I thought 10Lts/100km was a bit much. I then realised that I do have a Carryboy canopy and ARB front bar plus now bigger tyres, which would changer the figures alittle. The best figures I have returned was around 9lts/100km, but that was a tail wind. I average around 10-11lts/100kms. which I think is fair.

Anyway good luck

Lee C
AnswerID: 305145

Follow Up By: Member - Lee C (SA) - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 22:28

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 22:28
I liked to also add that diesel motors are fairly tight too, from new. Even after 30000km's clocked up on my truck, she is still got some loosening up to do. So I expect the economy to be a little better later on.
FollowupID: 571181

Reply By: allanant - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 22:18

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 22:18
Hey bktbond.
I have the same Navara diesel auto as you do and am also very dissapointed with it's fuel usage. The best I have got from new is 13.15 l/100. Around town it averages 15/16 and on a recent trip up to Birdsville and back it averaged 16.73 l/100 (16.89 m/gallon)with a worst of 21.22 coming down the Birdsville track with a head wind. As a touring vehicle I love it but wish now I had gone for the manual. Anyway for now I'm stuck with it and all I can do is keep nagging the local Nissan dealer for a fix.
Regards Allan
AnswerID: 305857

Follow Up By: Zed-D40 - Monday, May 26, 2008 at 18:27

Monday, May 26, 2008 at 18:27
Hi bktbond.

I'm yet another one... I bought a D40 Diesel Auto in January this year and am about 500K's from 10,000. The best I've ever got on a trip is 11.09L/100Km and the worst is 14.15L/100Km. I've been keeping a log book for a while now which is why I've got those figures.

I don't know what we can do, but I've thought that it has to be a legal issue. When the D40 came out, I was sure the ADR fuel consumption said 9.5L/100Km for the auto diesel. The salesman said that I would get an average of 10L/100Km. Yeah, I know, I shouldn't have believed the salesman. I had a D22 Diesel and this is just a real disappointment after the D22. I expected maybe 10L/100Km on the highway and around 11.5 in the city.

Nissan didn't help and while I would really like to give it back for a refund, I guess I'm stuck with it!

Zed
FollowupID: 572019

Reply By: bktbond - Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 00:56

Thursday, May 29, 2008 at 00:56
Zed ,Thanks for reply,and to all others for ideas and info.
I have bitten the bullet and bought a new 08 Hilux 3lt T/ Diesel Dual cab.Stretched everything to the limit and more !Very lucky to get one. Had to pay the extra S/Duty,GST , but estimated (conservatively) that over 3 yrs/60,000kms ,I would save at least $5000
on fuel, given the terrible consumption I was getting. Plus resale value,. Got a really good change over price.(only just done 5000km in Navara).
I will certainly let Nissan know about my decision and continue to pass on any info coming in from my inquiries to performance exhast places ,and their tests, and their dealings with Nissan.

I hope Nissan soon start to take notice ,through direct contact ,and through dealers seeing sales lost.

Thanks again ,and best wishes for BEST results. David

AnswerID: 306414