Fuel cost...what fuel cost ?

Submitted: Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 19:30
ThreadID: 57855 Views:2538 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
Just had a ring from a young bloke with a family that I know, asking for some hints on getting to Uluru for a holiday. He's hiring a motor home for the first time.

Along with my travel "hints and kinks" I told him that he'd need a good credit card because of the price of fuel.

"What fuel costs, I've got a fuel card" he says.
Apparently it pays to work for your FIL !

What a pity that I don't work for him also...I rekkon he could wipe out any tax liabilities just by giving me a fuel card :))

Oh well, dream on...

Reply By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 20:38

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 20:38
That's one hell of a benefit these days mate!!, Hope he realizes it?... Now if someone would just pay my fuel a/c...lol.

AnswerID: 305153

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 20:51

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 20:51
$1.72 a litre in Glen Waverley at the moment. Happy to work for 15 litres an hour!!
AnswerID: 305155

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 20:52

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 20:52
Wouldnt that be nice. Coming home today saw the petrol/diesel prices. Petrol $138.9/ diesel 179.9 WTF. Nearly choked on my drink. Becoming a joke. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 305156

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 21:31

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 21:31
With the price of diesel Steve, lucky we brought petrol 4bys. lol
FollowupID: 571167

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 22:36

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 22:36
LOL, yeah but I think when it comes to towing I would prefer diesel if I was towing a big van or some thing of the like. I would hate to see what the prado would suck with 1.5 tonne behind it. Will find out when we go on holidays at the end of the year, we are going to hire a van out just to see what we think,fuel wise,towing etc. Im expecting not much under 20 per 100 we'll see ?? But $179.9 for diesel is a joke, would hate to be filling a truck these days, must be killing the owner/drivers,Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 571187

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 21:01

Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 21:01
Yeah long term we will all be driving diesels, as they cam make diesel out of cng . You are right Steve heavy towing is what diesels do most econimical.We have two d4d Prados at work, and they are very very nice to drive, in fact I prefer them to bosses 200 .
Cheers Pete.
FollowupID: 571351

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 21:00

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 21:00
I'm thinking of making some T shirts with the slogan "Will work for fuel ." Perhaps if the pollies saw enough of them they might try and find a way to save the average motorist.
Well I can dream, can't I ? :)
AnswerID: 305161

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 21:03

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 21:03
Oh diddums. The poor city forumites are starting to get slugged the prices we were paying months ago.... :o)

Last Thursday morning. Drove out of Melbourne where diesel could still be bought for $1.625 /ltr. Less than 100km down the road it was $1.759 a ltr.

Stayed that way all the way to Lakes Entrance.

Must be the transport cost of getting it from Dandenong to Traralgon.

So much for tourism in regional areas. Glad I don't rely on visitors coming for living.

AnswerID: 305162

Follow Up By: Member - John - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 21:15

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 21:15
geo, usually cheaper in Sale and Bairnsdale than Morwell or Traralgon, go figure that one...........

FollowupID: 571163

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 22:12

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 22:12
Ah. That makes sense. It must be based on transport costs then.

It's uphill from refinery to Morwell & Traralgon so they have to pay more for delivery because the truck is full and uses more fuel to go up the hill.

It gets cheaper after that partly because the truck is empty and partly because it's going down the other side toward sea level again.

Makes sense now... not.

There's one brand that own servo's all along that stretch of highway - prominently advertise on local radio. I've seen days where their price in Lakes Entrance is 5-15 cents a litre dearer than their servos further up toward Melbourne. Easter Thursday springs to mind....

Maybe it's dearer in Lakes on those days because the truckie paid for fuel in Traralgon or Morwell on the way through and had to recoup his costs.

FollowupID: 571179

Follow Up By: Member - David P (VIC) - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 23:32

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 23:32
The last time I went to Lakes E, the cheapest fuel was at a Shell outlet near Hallam, on the north side of the divided hwy....silverback
FollowupID: 571203

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 21:21

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 21:21
And all you guys thought Mad Max was just a movie!!!! Michael

AnswerID: 305166

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 21:50

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 21:50
I filled up all 4 cars this afternoon $860 empty to full.

As of next week it is all go, so as I said in an earlier thread $1700 per week.

I hope the fuel card are in the mail, as they will save me up to 8 cents per litre based on volume.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 305178

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 23:16

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 23:16
I pay nearly half that to fill one car.
Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 571201

Follow Up By: Noisy Mango - Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 23:55

Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 23:55
Dave,
We pay more than half that to fill the troopy - $500 now....
Wayne & Jen.
FollowupID: 571368

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 09:06

Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 09:06
Oil is currently trading at US$134.50 bbl; either OPEC pumps more (said they won't) or China stops buying....otherwise we'll continue to see it higher.

While the US dollar continues weakens OPEC will have no incentive to stop the price pushing higher.

I think mainstream Australia will potentially be paying $1.85/2.00 a litre for diesel inside of two to three weeks....

Holiday driving is usually discretionary, so what does that mean for 4WD tourism in Australia. Potentially there wil be a few cheap Jaycos and Landcruisers around if the oil trend doesn't change.

We can argue that the refiners are making too much, but the real culprit is the price of the underlying product. Oil has gone up 35% since the beginning of the year..and I can't see the trend changing, especially with a weaker US dollar and inflation rearing its ugly head....
AnswerID: 305219

Follow Up By: Member - John G- Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 10:53

Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 10:53
G'day Landy

Your point about holiday driving and tourism is well made. We seem to be entering an era that will be more significant than the last time when folks left 6-cylinder for 4-cylinder cars (the mid 80s?).

Perhaps time-share could shift to caravan and campertrailer rigs? But obviously there are greater potential impacts for tourism and the city-bush divide.

FollowupID: 571247

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 23:18

Thursday, May 22, 2008 at 23:18
Paid 183.9c/l this evening in Mudgee for diesel. Glad Kath towing Kim is about the same as Moses was without Kim fuel economy wise.
FollowupID: 571366