OZ fuel amongst cheapest in the world

Submitted: Friday, May 23, 2008 at 16:46
ThreadID: 57922 Views:2091 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
There !!!

So do up your flies and get on with life, or you'll go blind as well hahahahahahahahaha

Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 16:58

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 16:58
G'day Al,

There was a post earlier today about a 'fuel saving device'..
it's had over 600 hits..
There was also a post about saving on food...
it's had about 200 hits...

Does that mean fuel savings is 3 times more important than food ???

AnswerID: 305479

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 17:03

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 17:03
Signman,

LOL I think that says a lot about people's priorities and the power of the media. I know which is more important to me :)))

FollowupID: 571492

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 19:55

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 19:55
Signman
The more fuel you can save means more food you can buy, you need fuel to get to the food , NO FUEL....NO FOOD,
The best fuel saver is the one I use , It's also my Cruise Control, and it's attached to the bottom of my right leg, I think most people call it a foot.

FollowupID: 571530

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 17:01

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 17:01
Gramps,

We have just come back from Malaysia and their fuel is equivalent to $0.66 per litre for ULP and $0.83 per litre for diesel.

They have their own offshore fuel supply as well as their own refineries, BUT, then again their income is 1/3rd of ours, so I suppose its all relative.

Its would be OK if you lived there and had an aussie income, but I think here is much better.

Cruiser
AnswerID: 305480

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 17:06

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 17:06
Cruiser,

Yep, I'll put up with our fuel prices rather than live over there thankyou very much. That nutcase of a PM (Keating's mate - the incorrigible one) might come out of retirement.

FollowupID: 571493

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 17:21

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 17:21
Malaysia subsidise fuel costs and its fuel subsidy bill will be around 53 billion ringgit ($16.5 billion) this year.

Many of the other Asean countries subsidise fuel costs, although with the sharp increases in the past few months many are reviewing this at the moment. Indonesia is looking to increase prices for the first time in three years as their subsidy bill will run to around $20 billion this year if they don’t.
FollowupID: 571495

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 18:55

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 18:55
Al,

Keating actually called Mahatir a recalcitrant.

Sorry, but it was one of the best lines of all time, one of many from one of the sharpest minds ever in Australian politics.

FollowupID: 571513

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 19:07

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 19:07
Jim,

Thanks for the correction, you are quite right. As for the sharpest mind, maybe, but definitely the sharpest tongue :)))

FollowupID: 571515

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 17:52

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 17:52
Thanks Mr Shell for pointing out that we should all be sitting in our little flats and riding pushies on the weekend.
Lack of infrastructure in this country, combined with its huge distances, mean that our inflation is possibly set to rocket with the higher fuel prices.
Thanks to our wonderful freight system, it will increase the price of everything and anything.
Wonder why other countries can subsidize their fuel and ours can't ? Yes I know that there are good reasons not to, but it does have it's better points.
It doesn't mean a lot to many people. Once you're stuffed, you're stuffed. There are a lot more houses for sale around here now. A sign of the times I guess.
Oh the wonderful forward planning of our previous Govts. Brings a real tear to my wallet.
Now let's see the Rudd Govt fix this one !
AnswerID: 305492

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 18:04

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 18:04
But Footy, Little Kevvy has already said he's done all that he can on fuel prices ( SFA ).

FollowupID: 571501

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 22:15

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 22:15
I don't believe that's really the case, Al. What about scrapping the fuel exercise and the GST on the lot ? Double dipping for sure.
I'm sure that many would forgo their tax reduction for a fuel cost reduction. How come we can't tick a box about not only where our taxes go but how they're raised ? Now there's a thought.
FollowupID: 571568

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 22:25

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 22:25
Did'nt you see Kevvy on the news tonight? Scrapping excise and GST - now I know you've been barking at the Moon again :)))

FollowupID: 571571

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 18:19

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 18:19
Hey Gramps,Harold Holt turned the porch light off last year,did he not.Lol
Now there is your first bite.Hahahahahahaha.
AnswerID: 305495

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 18:30

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 18:30
LOL good on ya Bob. Kev (and the rest of Qld) is still sooking :)))

FollowupID: 571508

Reply By: dagwill - Friday, May 23, 2008 at 22:32

Friday, May 23, 2008 at 22:32
its all relevant
as long as we can sit around a fire and be happy together alls well
i have a figure that stuck in my mind [just a lucky hit]
when whale oil was used for lighting, its relevant cost in todays terms was $200/gal
so whats the big grip about paying $2/ltr for anything
thats 100 times cheaper than our for fathers had to pay for something compareable
i mean 100 times cheaper......
AnswerID: 305536

Reply By: didiaust - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 06:05

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 06:05
Just back from Bali - it's 53c a litre there
AnswerID: 305552