2000 GU 3ltr TD Nissan Patrol - any good reviews?

Submitted: Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 14:21
ThreadID: 57950 Views:12278 Replies:12 FollowUps:32

We're looking at purchasing the above, but have yet to find any good reviews (written by owners).

The current owners have had to replace the engine, so it has a brand new engine (all receipts provided), and they seem genuine with their reasons to sell.

Can anyone give me some positives about this patrol?

Cheers and thanks in advance.
Justine

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 14:24

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 14:24
apart from the known issues with the motor, great solid car. If the motor has been replaced you should be ok

What are they asking?

Stefan
AnswerID: 305600

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 14:29

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 14:29
Thanks, they're asking for $20k. They've also replaced the injector pump.
FollowupID: 571642

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 15:17

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 15:17
well the two most expensive issues have been done for you. 20K is about right. Go with your gut feeling. My Parents have the 2003 3LT.. 180,000kms motor seems fine.
FollowupID: 571652

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 15:29

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 15:29
That's good to hear.

Cheers and thanks for your response.
FollowupID: 571654

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 14:41

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 14:41
One thing to ask is Was the motor replaced with an identical one or with the later Series III version which supposedly had the oil problems fixed.
If its the same as was I guess it still has the same old problem built into it. If its the later version it may well be a good buy.
AnswerID: 305602

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 14:49

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 14:49
Cheers, it's the new engine.

Are there any Patrol owners out there that can back this model up?

We'd love to buy it, but afraid of all the problems we've been reading about.
FollowupID: 571644

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:01

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:01
Juzo*n*Max
A close look at the Series III 3.0 litre engine tells us that there is an extra oil sensor in the engine block on the left side. You can see it just underneath the turbo. This sensor screws into the banjo bolt that secures the oil feed line to the turbo onto the engine block. The early 3.0 litres never had this sensor. There are some other changes how-ever these are the easiest to denote the difference.

If the motor has this, then it is the later modification that so far has been good.
Colin
FollowupID: 571675

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:34

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:34
Cheers Colin, will check it out next time. Thanks, that's really handy to know.
FollowupID: 571683

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 14:54

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 14:54
I was talking to a Burson rep yesterday and funny enough he mentioned bad issues with the 3.0l Nissan Motor..Just going through the 4wd vehicles and how Nissan wont on most occasions standby there product..

AnswerID: 305604

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 15:00

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 15:00
Thanks, that's what I keep reading.

I don't want to buy a whole heap of problems. Some of the things I've read aren't cheap to fix either..
FollowupID: 571649

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:44

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 16:44
Hi Justine,
That build date ties in with the 5th gear spline problem (assuming it's a manual). Ask if they've had the 5th gear and mainshaft replaced. The failure has generally been associated with tow vehicles, but mine failed at about 120,000 without ever towing anything. (fixed under extended warranty).
Gerry
AnswerID: 305617

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:45

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 17:45
Hi Gerry,
I'm fairly sure they haven't touched the gearbox, and they've done just over 140,000. (New engine has done about 500kms)
Were there any signs that it was going to give? Hubby noticed a vibration around 110kms.

I'll be talking to the mechanic who put the engine in, so I'll ask him about it too.

Thanks for the heads up.
Justine
FollowupID: 571687

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 11:56

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 11:56
Hi Justine
Mine just let go! Was trundling along the Nullarbor into a stiff headwind when the engine revved up together with a horrible clattering sound and that was it!
I believe that a check of the gearbox oil will show traces of something if the 5th is on the way out, but I'm not sure what the test is. I guess it would be looking for traces of metal. There was something about the colour of the oil. I'm sure if you do a search here and on the Yahoo Patrol site, you'll find references to this test.
Repair means replacing the mainshaft, about $1200 and 5th gear, about $500, plus a few ancillaries and lots of labour. The rest of the gearbox seems to survive the drama ok. The new parts are re-designed, so there won't be a repeat of the old problem.
It's not a total failure when it goes, as you can still use the other 4 gears to limp home.
Gerry
FollowupID: 571813

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 20:34

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 20:34
I have a 2000 GU and have had nothing but problems with it. My advise would be not to purchase it. I have still got mine and it has cost me a lot of money. Nissan have helped out with two items, 5th gear and the split intercooler but not with the blown engine, split injector pipes, wheel base irregularities (L-R). It has been a battle with them to help out, except for the 5th gear, and they will not help you at all with a 2000 model now.
When my engine destroyed itself, the customer service person, Andrew, said "You bought the thing mate". So stay away from it. I would pay $5000 for a 2000 patrol and increase that by $1000 for every year after that.
The positives for these vehicles is they make great climbing structures as a static display in the kids playground and they make you realise how far superior Toyotas, Fords, Holdens, Mitsubishis, Mazdas, Hyundais, Daihatsus, Suzukis are compared to the poor Nissan product.
AnswerID: 305662

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 20:52

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 20:52
I have had about 15 vehicles in my life and this one is by far the worst of the lot. Luckily I could just go and buy another vehicle, which I did, and as a second hand Nissan is worth nothing, I kept it. Hardly use it, they are really an inferior product and deep down Nissan owners know this.
FollowupID: 571716

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 20:54

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 20:54
And there reasons to sell is probably "They are sick of it"
FollowupID: 571717

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 22:56

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 22:56
shame you had a bad run with yours...

"they are really an inferior product and deep down Nissan owners know this." a bit late for friday phunnies champ

On my second Patrol now......Had a GQ which was so bad and inferior that for fun I thought I would do it again with a GU...

Stefan
FollowupID: 571731

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 06:53

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 06:53
Thanks for your replies.

What happened with the wheel base irregularities?
FollowupID: 571746

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 07:29

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 07:29
Stefan
GQ - Strong Reliable Tough. Initially thought the GU was the same but with an 80 series body. It is inferior mechanically to the GQ. Services are carried out beyond what is called for in manual, had more oil go through it than the Exxon Valdese with the frequent changes. Its body is similar to 80 series except for the common rear door cracking on the GU's.

Pulling to left. After 4 different attempts from different "expert" wheel aglinment specialists, they and the dealer said "Thats as good as it gets". Well look out pedestrians in a 20 metre range if I happen to loose strength from pulling down on the wheel to keep it tracking. I took it to a truck aglinment guru and he sorted it. Reckoned the wheelbase was different from LHS to RHS! Shimmed it and all was good. He said it is very common (not just with Patrols) as these things are slapped together in the factory.

Juzo do a search on these vehicles and you will not buy one. Nissan dealers are of little assistance and this is well documented here and on other forums. You had an 80, wait be patient and you will get another. If you get the GU, you have been warned so allow some additional cash for the repairs. If you go remote take good communication equipment and a spare box of matches.

FollowupID: 571749

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 08:07

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 08:07
Hey AJB,

What are your thoughts on a 100 series petrol/gas?

Sorry, it's a repeat post, but not quite sure if you get all replies, or just the follow ups :)
FollowupID: 571756

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 08:24

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 08:24
I would consider it as personally I would not bother with a diesel again except in my light trucks. Toyota product is superor. I never used to like to admit it but it is true. You know it yourself.
Toyota do a lot of R&D with all of their vehicles. They are an innovator not an impersonator. They stand by their product and customer. Nissan have and always will play catch up. The GU is really a competitor to the 80 series, and not a very good one, some 2 models ago. The old adage "You pay for what you get".
FollowupID: 571762

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 09:21

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 09:21
AJB.....I really feel for you, I had a Suby L series wagon that spent more time in the shop than it did on the road, while most others had dream runs from thiers. In saying this My GU has been the most reliable car I have owned.....NEVER let me down 170,000kms now. MATE you get good ones and bad ones.
I do know of people whos 80 cruisers have sent them broke as well.

As with any car, get it checked out by a pro....then roll the dice as it is a machine at the end of the day and none of us have a crystal ball.

Stefan
FollowupID: 571779

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 09:29

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 09:29
Dont feel sorry for me, I couldn't careless about it now. It is car number 3 outside so what does it matter. I just tell people what has happened to mine and others may not have the same issues.
It is only a car and there are far more important thngs in life like Auskick.

See Ya Later
FollowupID: 571781

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 10:13

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 10:13
Stefan,

That's exactly what I'm after, some good stories on the GU. I haven't found any except a couple in this thread. (Many thanks to you by the way, it's good to hear that they do exist!)

I am losing hope though, as this thread has a lot of views and only a couple of you have come forward, you who have had no problems at all, and another who has suggested to install guages to keep an eye on things.

I don't want a Nissan-Toyota battle, that's not what this thread was about. Just after some good stories on the GU Patrol.

And thank you, great advice about getting it checked out, and no, none of us have crystal balls. :D But, I'm really starting to doubt even taking it to get checked out.

Cheers and thanks,
Justine
FollowupID: 571787

Reply By: Member - JASON (WA) - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 22:46

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 22:46
Hi, I have a 2003 GU Series III never had any probs always serviced every 5000kms, best car I have ever had, fitted a boost gauge and EGT gauge for extra insurance just to keep an eye on things.(like anything you look after it and it will look after you)
AnswerID: 305685

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 06:49

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 06:49
Thanks, something to think about adding if we buy.
FollowupID: 571745

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 08:08

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 08:08
Jason
So what is your EGT ,,, our Navara runs between 580 - 590c, under load ( last done at Warrigul Diesel and Injector service 2 years back ) with 16 - 18 lbs boost.

I thought " wow that's a bit high " but according to the bloke there it's with in the acceptable range ....never had a problem

Just a tad high are still my thoughts...

I do all the wind down stuff ect.

What are your thoughts ?

FollowupID: 571757

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 08:14

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 08:14
And if you look after it, service it religously it'll last beyond the "expected" life. Then when something happens like the engine destructon Nissan HQ say "Its done too many KMS!". Fitting addition gauges is great, They should be fitted standard but Nissan would be incapable of doing that correctly. Hey we have an oil capacity problem. MMM lets make a shorter dipstick!!!!
WTF is going on in their heads. Keep these "tough" vehicles wrapped in cotton wool and they'll last forever. Mine will now. It'll rust out before it lets me down again.
FollowupID: 571760

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 08:52

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 08:52
And why are boost and EGT gauges a common additional item fitted? Because there are problems with these engines. Admit it we have been dudded. Nissans mistake is now our problem child!
FollowupID: 571773

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 09:22

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 09:22
And what is "expected life"? 20,000kms! That is the warranty given by Nissan when they replace, or in their words rebuild, the engine. The whole saga is laughable and the ineptness astonishing.
FollowupID: 571780

Follow Up By: Member - JASON (WA) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 11:26

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 11:26
Bucky my EGT sit at 300 to 400 around town , towing up hill will reach a max of about 520. AS to why fit boost and EGT gauge because any car I have had weather toyo or nissan I have put them on and I Like to know what's going on under the hood of my car, all turbo diesel should have them !
FollowupID: 571806

Reply By: gmac - Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 23:43

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 23:43
Hello,

20K willget you a really good 80 series Toyota although high in the KM.Youll be better off.

AnswerID: 305692

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 06:59

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 06:59
Cheers, we've had an 80 series 4.2 TD in the past, and I think every car we've owned has been trying to replace it! We look at old photos and just kick ourselves :D

But up here there isn't much around, and to buy interstate would add a couple of grand, and then we'd have to take accessories off to transport it (unless anyone knows another way?)

Thanks again.
Justine
FollowupID: 571747

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 07:47

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 07:47
What's your thoughts on a 100 series petrol/gas?

That's an option for us.
FollowupID: 571752

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 09:16

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 09:16
Fly over and drive it back. Dont just buy any old dirtbox because that's all that is around.
FollowupID: 571777

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 10:05

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 10:05
Thanks, thinking of doing that.
FollowupID: 571786

Reply By: psproule - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 05:28

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 05:28
There is a good write up on the mods to take to stop these grenading over at http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/.
AnswerID: 305697

Follow Up By: Juzo*n*Max - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 07:00

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 07:00
Cheers, will check it out now.
FollowupID: 571748

Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 16:03

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 16:03
"Can anyone give me some positives about this patrol?'

Answer - NO!!!!!!
AnswerID: 305755

Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 19:08

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 19:08
Hi Justine
I've got a 20003LTD auto that has clocked up just under 295K and has done everthing I've asked it to do and I'm extremely happy with it. The only problems I've had are faulty Injector sensor and glow plugs replaced I have had no problems. When the injector sensor was replaced the injector pump was overhauled at the same time as the pump was off the vehicle anyway, (Nissan had reckoned it was a faulty injector pump). As your intended purchase has a new donk then engine worries should be in the past, if its been looked after I'd go for it

May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 305798

Reply By: westozal - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 21:01

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 21:01
My mates got a 2000 model man ST 3.0 with d tronic chip.Runs 305/75 BFG muddies now covered 163kms. Not had one problem with it in the four years he has owned it.
Another friend has a 2001 auto some 180 kms again nil issues.
Yet another friend has a 2000 man St and yes had some motor issues.
Another friend(mechanic) 2002 model auto again no issues in its 95kms.
You always tend to hear about the bad things regarding vehicles but when they go ok noone complains and judging the numbers on the road a lot do go well.
Economy roughly 10 to 12 ltrs per 100kms.
Alan.
AnswerID: 305833

Follow Up By: Member - JASON (WA) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 22:11

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 22:11
COULDN'T HAVE SAID IT BETTER MY SELF !Image Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 571931

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 23:25

Sunday, May 25, 2008 at 23:25
That is true. There are many travelling around. Anwill, a contributor to this forum, has a good list of the numbers that have had faults. Overall the percentage ratio may be low and if that is the case, Nissan should have been fair to ALL the owners of these "problem children" that they conceived!

A rule for business that Nissan refuse to understand is a satisfied customer will tell someone but a dissatisfied customer will tell everyone. I'm not in love with the GU but I dont despise it either. It has taken me to some great places and most, well nearly all of the time has performed well. I have been extremely fortunate that each time it has failed I have been just down the road from home, so the inconvienience has been minimal. Engine destroyed itself 10 kms from home, lost 5th gear 100kms from home on the way back from Broome, Split injector pipes (twice) 70 kms from home, did MAF sensors (twice) 15kms from home, new ECU 20kms from home, split intercooler somewhere but noticed it in the shed! And thats just some of the issues. Perhaps it doesn't like living here! Been up and down east coast heaps of times, across to the NW, Flinders, Birdsville, Canning, Vic High Country etc and it got there and back easily! Maybe I should of kept going!

Anyway the point is that with my experience with the GU over the last 6 years, I would/could not recommend one to anyone. I would even feel sheepish if I sold mine to someone but there is not anything else that can go wrong with it so if I sold it the next owner may get a great run out of it. They may not also. It has been a long haul with constant repairs and now I hardly drive the thing!
FollowupID: 571941

Reply By: smifffy - Monday, May 26, 2008 at 22:09

Monday, May 26, 2008 at 22:09
Juzo*n*Max,

gday guys, i have had my GU2 2000 mod st patrol manual since it had 40,000klms on it.

serviced every 5000klms, and serviced by the book. this truck has had a hard life off road and has only failed me once. a dirty alternator, it was cleaned out dust / dirt & a little moisture in the bush and within 2 hrs back on the road again.

now has 125k's on it which is not much but that is done done 70% of the time towing bike trailer with 5 bikes no dramas, off road.

i love it & this is the 23rd car ive ever owned and the 3rd nissan!

take care & all the best till next time.
AnswerID: 306019