Push up caravans

Submitted: Tuesday, May 27, 2008 at 18:56
ThreadID: 58063 Views:4715 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Hi - I'm new to caravaning - had to give up lovely big canvas tent as my little girls and I are on our own now and can't lift it let alone put it up! Purchased an easier option (so I thought) a tidy little 20 yr old Windsor Sunwagon.Problem - we can't get the roof up! Very heavy! Eventually took 2 hrs to do it with extentable tent poles one corner after the other!Very dangerous and exhausting. Have been quoted $3000 to convert and laughed at for even asking. Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm prepared to try just about anything to get my girls out on our first solo camping trip.Thanks :-))))
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Glenn G (QLD) - Tuesday, May 27, 2008 at 19:20

Tuesday, May 27, 2008 at 19:20
I can understand your problem as my wife has trouble with our pop top roof!
How about a pole that is higher than the erected height of the camper that has a pulley at the top.The pole could have a small spike at the base to stop it slipping.Rope with a hook on the end runs through the pulley and down to the camper roof,hook it to the roof and you can use your body weight to elevate the roof section.If you are on the Gold Coast I could make such a gizmo ! I am getting ready to move(to bundy yeha) and want to use up some stuff in the shed !

Cheers
Giffo
AnswerID: 306160

Follow Up By: Girlie - Tuesday, May 27, 2008 at 19:31

Tuesday, May 27, 2008 at 19:31
Dear Giffo,
Thanks for not laughing at me - that sounds like a great idea. Funnily enough, I used the tent poles upside down so the spike was digging into the ground. Unfortunately we're in Sydney, but that's a lovely offer. Maybe I should have sold tickets to the hilarious 2 hour comedy show we put on trying to get the thing up, then the $3000 would have been peanuts! Thanks again :-))))
Girlie
FollowupID: 572167