Looking for a good priced Honda gen

Submitted: Friday, May 30, 2008 at 18:09
ThreadID: 58185 Views:3999 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
Hi everybody.

I know this question was asked in the forum back in January.

I am wanting to buy a Honda EU 10i portable generator and have been looking for a 'best' price in Melbourne. Best I can get so far is $1,400 in Clayton.

Does anyone know of anywhere better in the South Eastern Suburbs ?
'
Would consider interstate however including freight would need to be comparative.

Any help is appreciated.

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Friday, May 30, 2008 at 18:36

Friday, May 30, 2008 at 18:36
The Generator Place in Point Cook. Have branches in other locations in Australia. Probably get one for $1399!!! But they do deliver.
AnswerID: 306801

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Friday, May 30, 2008 at 19:58

Friday, May 30, 2008 at 19:58
Hi Paul,
If you could afford it the 2KVA would be a better option as it does not have the alloy bore, I have been through two 1KVa hondas one rebuilt half under warranty and both had carbon score of the bore even though they were serviced properly and run hard on occasion as recommended.
Wazzaaaaa
FollowupID: 572708

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, May 30, 2008 at 20:00

Friday, May 30, 2008 at 20:00
Look on Ebay For that price (either of them) I would get an EU20i they are available for about $1900 if you haggle hard and give twice as much power
Google Honda generators and see what you get
FollowupID: 572709

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Friday, May 30, 2008 at 21:02

Friday, May 30, 2008 at 21:02

Try the mob a bit down from Bunnings in Cranbourne. My preference would be the 2KVA. It'll run power tools, and half the house during a blackout.

Kim
AnswerID: 306824

Reply By: Michael46 - Friday, May 30, 2008 at 21:04

Friday, May 30, 2008 at 21:04
I got mine from Grahams. Best price I could find. Ordered it and two days later it was on my doorstep.
www.grahams.com.au
AnswerID: 306828

Reply By: gazza60 - Friday, May 30, 2008 at 21:26

Friday, May 30, 2008 at 21:26
im selling a as new honda genny if interested ph 0417578312
AnswerID: 306838

Follow Up By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Friday, May 30, 2008 at 21:45

Friday, May 30, 2008 at 21:45
G'day Gazza, What model is it you have for sale mate ?

After reading the posts I'm now leaning toward an Eu20i and have priced them at Graham's for only $1,820 after Honda's cashback offer on until the end of June.

FollowupID: 572723

Reply By: Chambo - Friday, May 30, 2008 at 22:18

Friday, May 30, 2008 at 22:18
Have a look at this site hondagenerators.com.au. The have a 2kva on special for $1799 with a few goodies thrown in. Cheers
AnswerID: 306852

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Friday, May 30, 2008 at 23:01

Friday, May 30, 2008 at 23:01
Thank you to all responses. Common census is that the Honda Eu20i is probably the better generator and given that I want something reliable and able to run a couple of things but mainly recharge the deep cycle battery in the camper trailer I've tracked down an Eu20i at $1,720 with the $200 cash back. Sounds like the best I'll get.

I am assuming I merely run a 15amp power lead from the generator into the camper trailer to recharge the deep cycle battery. I have one of those Ctec thingy's built into the trailer so hopefully everything is compatible.

Again, thanks to everyone for your help.

Much appreciated.

AnswerID: 306860

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Friday, May 30, 2008 at 23:05

Friday, May 30, 2008 at 23:05
Hiya Paul

You wont get it any cheaper @ A show as i was going to suggest,Congratulations you cant go wrong !
Enjoy

FollowupID: 572743

Follow Up By: Member - Drew T (Melbourne) - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 18:41

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 18:41
well don't keep us in suspense ... where did you find one for $1720 ?
FollowupID: 572850

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 00:11

Saturday, May 31, 2008 at 00:11
Firstly, as someone who has been looking and looking and looking for ages, the best price I found was at the caravan and camping show this year. I bought a Honda 10i at what I believe to be a never to be seen again price. $1140 after cash back!

Knowing what I know now, I would strongly recommend you look at the Yamaha 1000 first.

Regardless of your ultimate decision, The 4X4 show or the caravan show seems to be the best option.
AnswerID: 306868

Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 12:55

Tuesday, Jun 03, 2008 at 12:55
Just an update to anyone interested.

I finally decided to purchase one of those reasonably new Kipor 2kva blue series2 inverter generators. They have everything Honda in them without the brand name.....lol

Purchased it for $1,340 at AJ Thomas Campers in Caulfield.

Allun Thomas said he would offer this price to anyone else mentioning they are from ExplorOz.

If anyone is interested in the Honda EU20i generator that I sourced for ($1,720) $1,920 less a $200 Honda cash back with a fuel tank, oil and a Honda shopping bag was from scan-hi at 60-62 Hoddle Street in Melbourne.

I'm reasonably happy with the Kipor though and the noise level is a quite good 54db.

AnswerID: 307506