Spinifex Moguls, Sand dunes, Giant Anthills and a fabled waterhole

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:41
ThreadID: 58271 Views:3777 Replies:15 FollowUps:2
Arrived home this arvo after a 14 day stint through the Gibson, Great Sandy and Tanami Deserts.

EO Members and other friends were in the convoy of 4 vehicles. An 80, a Troopy, a Navara and a GQ went where few have gone before.

Alice to Alice was 2270km of which 400km was extreme offtrack driving. We had glorious weather with days of up to 35 degrees and mild nights with plenty of wood for each camp.

Our route took us from Alice to Kintore to Mt Webb and Lake Mackay and then north to Dwarf Well and then east to the fabled Labbi Labbi waterhole. From there we headed north again past salt lakes Hazlett, Wills, White, Dennis and freshwater Lake Jeavons. Then further noth to the abandoned outstation of Ngulupi and then west to the Balgo Community and back to Alice along the Tanami Road.

We broke a wheel carrier(which needed welding), tore fanbelts from their pulleys, had 14 punctures, destroyed one tyre, had numerous boggings and scratched to hell out of the duco. My trailer canopy collapsed(bad welding by someone) and a water container was destroyed by an errant anthill.

We witnessed pristine country where few have walked since the Pintubi left there a 100 or so years ago. We found lots of stone age implements such and rubbing stones and sharp flint flakes. Although we searched, we did not see any aboriginal paintings, pekings or petroglyphs which is strange.

A good time was had by all, new friendships were forged and we all hope that we can continue doing these remote treks.

I shall write up a trip report in a couple of weeks time as I am off on another adventure next week and will not have the time as there are some small repairs to be done tomorrow and the GQ's radiator has to come out to be de-seeded.

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:49

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:49
Hiya Will

Glad you had a great time and all got home safe !

Its better you DOB yourself in now because as you know on this Forum it will be LEAKED ! LOL

Cheers Mate
AnswerID: 307184

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:51

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:51
Willem,

I look forward to the full trip report.....how did you miss that gully LOL

Cheers Sir Kev

AnswerID: 307185

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:56

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 18:56
Gday Willem,
The other night when you said you run into a bit of a Gully you were'nt kidding.

Hahahahahahaha.........

AnswerID: 307189

Reply By: Bros 1 - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:10

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:10
Willem,
Overcome with envy.
bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 307192

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:11

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:11
Hey Willem.

Sounds great I have a trip I would like you to accompany me on, I think you will like it.

I will email you about it at a latter date, Have fun on your next expedition.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 307193

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:14

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:14
Can't wait to read it Willem and see a few of your photos on the website. Welcome back.

Cheers. Mick

AnswerID: 307194

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:49

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 19:49
Hi mate,

another nice trip to sit back and yarn about or quietly contemplate the beauty of the bush.

yeah you better have a word with that bloke who did your welding eh, sounds like some shed time coming up he he.....

will send you an email....
AnswerID: 307204

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 20:27

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 20:27
Welcome back...can't wait for the trip report.
AnswerID: 307213

Reply By: equinox - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 20:32

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 20:32
Welcome back Willem,

I'll be very interested in your report - especially about Dwarf Well or the Stansmore Range.

Well done!!

Alan.

AnswerID: 307216

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 22:36

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 22:36
really appreciated your blog story & I imagine it was a very satisfying trip.

FollowupID: 573119

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 22:50

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 22:50
Thanks Rick,

All the best to you too.

FollowupID: 573123

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 20:50

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 20:50
G'day pal,

I am so sorry I missed this........

Call me when you get back from Dunolly...

Michael
AnswerID: 307222

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 22:57

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 22:57
Welcome back Willem, and well done on a safe trip for all. Look forward to the full report.

AnswerID: 307263

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 23:21

Sunday, Jun 01, 2008 at 23:21
Hi Willem

Looks like you had a good one..

We had a good one also...

AnswerID: 307270

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 07:45

Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 07:45
G'day Bro, good to see you arrived home safely and have a yarn last night. Ya never know we may get to join you out there one day. Hardly tow Kim though. Cheers mate,
AnswerID: 307285

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 11:29

Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 11:29
Hi Willem

Glad to see every body came back unscathed, seen the photos,
which are fantastic, now awaiting your Trip Report at your leisure.

Daza
AnswerID: 307309

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 15:49

Monday, Jun 02, 2008 at 15:49
Welcome back Willem, It's been a bit boring without you here :) Hope to catch up with you soon

14 punctures, were they all Coopers LOL

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 307344